We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time around.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Djibouti Palace Kempinski
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Djibouti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Second stay here for business. Close to the port, it is the best in Djibouti. Rooms/beds are very comfortable. Staff is friendly. Multiple restaurants to choose from. Facilities are great - two pools, small beach, great gym, spa, shops. I booked directly with the hotel, reservations staff were very accommodating. When my flight was delayed i emailed the hotel to let them know, they responded quickly. I would recommend this property and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kd4dna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Greeting from Djibouti,

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Djibouti.
We would also like to thank you for taking your time to write such a motivating comment for our team on Tripadvisor.
We will be glad to welcome you back a third time in Djibouti Palace Kempinski.

With warm regards,

The Djibouti Palace Kempinski Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 514 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this well run hotel.
The entrance was in keeping with the rest of the hotel very pleasant. Unfortunately the smokers in the cafe section were in full force this drifted into the entrance.
Our huge room was facing the Red Sea on the second floor. The beds vey comfortable. Bathroom was huge and well laid out.
The only thing lacking we're cups and saucers but we did have a kettle.
The food was excellent too. Breakfast had everything one wanted as did the lunch and dinners.
There were restaurants to chose from.
The staff were always obliging and pleasant.
Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Helen,

Thank you for choosing Djibouti Palace Kempinski as your home in Djibouti as well as sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We have taken good note of your remarks which are very valuable for us in order to improve our services.
Please let us know when you are planning to come back to Djibouti so we can ensure your stay is as memorable as possible.

Warm regards,

The Djibouti Palace Kempinski Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was surprised to see a a huge Kempinski in Djibouti. The whole town is quiet, and the hotel is quiet too.

The Hotel has a great entrance, and maintained very well. The Lobby is nice, but a bit dark. The Hotel is only of 4 floors. However, if you get a room at the end of the hotel, you probably need a gold cart ride.

The rooms were clean, and has all the amenities of a 5 star hotel.

I can only say if you want to stay at a hotel in Djibouti then there is only a limited choice for a 5 star Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salah_Sharaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Salah,

Greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski,

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us in Djibouti and would like to thank you for taking your time to write such a motivating comment for our team on TripAdvisor. We will be very happy to welcome you back to Djibouti Palace Kempinski.

With warm regards,

The Djibouti Palace Kempinski.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is, on the whole, an excellent and very efficiently run hotel. The hotel grounds are well laid out and comfortable, as are the rooms. The beds are really among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. For food, the hotel has a few choices, of which the Bankouale restaurant was the hands down winner for my wife and I, on account of its laid back atmosphere, but most importantly for the delicious fresh fish and bread. The breakfast buffet was quite good; a dinner at Tentazioni was less impressive.

Service was on the whole excellent. Before arrival, the hotel was very responsive to our queries about visas on arrival. Once there, I should make special mention of Thiam, the concierge, who was extremely helpful in arranging tours, general recommendations on places to eat, and in rebooking flights when our flight out got cancelled in the last minute. One area where the hotel could improve would be the housekeeping, where the daily cleaning seemed cursory (eg. a mosquito we killed on our first day stayed in the bathroom floor for the remainder of our stay).

About the country - it is very different than anywhere else I've been, stunningly beautiful in places and packs a lot of variety in a small place. Our short visit left us with a good taste, and with a desire to come back one day.

Overall, an excellent hotel which is not cheap, but which delivers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Greetings from Djibouti Palace kempnski.

First of all we would like to mention that it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us!, and also show our appreciation towards your comment here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to heat that you enjoyed your stay and it would be an honor for us to welcome you back to our hotel!

We wish you all the best, and look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards
the Djibouti Palace Kempinski team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I do not know what it is with Kempinski and myself, we never seem to bond particularly well. But this one tops all my previous K experiences.
Service is slow and -to put it nicely- fit to be retrained (during check-out, check-in, dinner,..., everytime!!!). Breakfast feels like you accidently stepped into an army canteen with all the military badges and uniforms around you (at least this is probably one of the safest places on earth). Quality of the food was good though.
Outdoor stink during 3 out of my 4 days and make extra sure where you use your laptop as only designated areas are suitable, otherwise security comes to "move" you.
All in all it just completely felt unmanaged!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iguacu317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Greetings from sunny Djibouti!
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments and keeping us aware of your experience during your past stay at our property.

As we strive to provide excellent service for all of our guests we regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

As you can see in previous TripAdvisor comments we are capable of providing top service for each of our guest and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to change your opinion about us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Kind regards
The Djibouti Palace Kempinski team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Second stay here. It is the best in Djibouti. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff is friendly. Multiple restaurants to choose from. Facilities are great - two pools, small beach, great gym, spa, shops. I would recommend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

The Djibouti Palace Kempinski team would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your previous stays with us, and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon again.

With warm regards
The Djibouti Palace Kempinski team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The city of Djibouti has numerous places to stay, but only three of them are at what one would consider "western standards"; Sheraton, Bavaria, and Kempinski Hotels. Kempinski would is the best of the three hotels. Staff is very helpful, security is 24/7, and the hotels have all the needed amenities are on site. Excellent view of the bay from bayside rooms and the pool areas! A couple of months ago the hotel upgraded the number of cable TV stations received and increased the speed of internet service, very nice change. Unfortunately, the cost is a little high for what you get.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms on the spa end of the building are quieter than the other that face the larger pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski,
It is with pleasure that we read your motivating comment here on TripAdvisor and we thank you for your kind words.
Our goal is to be, and remain, the best hotel in Djibouti through personalizing our guest experiences and ensuring top quality products and services, all to ensure the best possible experience for our guests. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and it would be an honor to welcome you back.

With warm regards
The Djibouti Palace Kempinski team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djibouti hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
#2 of 8 in Djibouti
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Acacias Hotel Djibouti
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Djibouti
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal D Plaza
Royal D Plaza
#1 of 5 in Djibouti
1 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence de l'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djibouti Palace Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djibouti Palace Kempinski

Address: Ilot du Heron | P.O. Box 1960, Djibouti, Djibouti
Phone Number:
Location: Djibouti > Djibouti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Djibouti
Price Range: $367 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Djibouti Palace Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the busy districts, yet only few minutes from the airport, Djibouti Palace Kempinski is ideally located at a prime beachfront between the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, in a secluded and peaceful setting of palms and bougainvillea. Djibouti Palace Kempinski features a plethora of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, mountain bikes, outdoor swimming pool, mini club, restaurants and bars. Djibouti Palace Kempinski redefines luxury service in the Land of Gods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Djibouti Palace Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djibouti Palace Kempinski Hotel Djibouti
Palace Kempinski Hotel Djibouti
Palace Kempinski Djibouti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing