We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe one of the worst Sheratons around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Djibouti
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I spent an afternoon at this hotel (lunch and poolside), so I cannot comment on the rooms.

Djibouti City is a terrible place. Way too expensive for what you get (along with the entire country, but at least other parts of the country can be interesting), and the Sheraton epitomizes this notion. The restaurant was WAY overpriced for the quality of service and food. The buffet lunch was over $30 USD, which is laughable. Other plates are overpriced as well. Also, when I tried to pay with a credit card the entire waitstaff had a fit. Are you serious? You are an international hotel chain AND It clearly states that you accept cc, so what's the problem?? They told me there was a minimum of approx $20 USD. Again, you are an international hotel chain, you don't have minimums on cc (especially if you don't even post it anywhere). It's not like I was trying to use a cc on a $2 purchase, my bill was approx $13 USD. In the end I argued and they let me pay, but the attitude I could certainly do without.

In general, the facilities are not that nice. The pool area is shoddy and the reception unwelcoming.

Bottom line, avoid Djibouti City if possible. If not, look elsewhere for food/drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wodaley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I know it's a Sheraton but we're in sweltering dusty Djibouti and in that regard it's a fine place to stay for the price.

Staff very friendly even if one waiter tends to solicit cash tips if you sign for your food! Good little band in the bar some nights with olives and vegetable sticks and yoghurt dip as bar snacks. Only bread based bar menu available however.

Internet in the rooms a bit unreliable at night, stayed on the 6th floor, fruit basket in room. Food was very good.

All in all, it was very pleasant and I can't grumble!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiskeyDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. Regarding your comment .
we also appreciate yours comments regarding our hotel and staffs, it has been shared with all our team.and to correct the negative point.
Your comments give us to provide a high energize to improve our service.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you back again soon at Sheraton Djibouti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Have not actually stayed overnight in this hotel but I have eaten in their restaurant and indulged at the bar. The restaurant is set up buffet style and the night my friends and I ate there, they were making "Mongolian BBQ". The buffet is reasonably priced at 5300 DF per person plus drink. I highly recommend the salad bar.
The bar/lounge on main floor has very friendly staff willing to satisfy everyone. The lounge has half-price selections daily during Happy Hour from 1900-2100.
The hotel is home to several military personnel, brush up on your German and you will make many new friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucymae65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. Regarding your comment .
we also appreciate yours comments regarding our staffsand it has been shared with all our team.
Your comments give us to provide a high energize to improve our service.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you back again soon at Sheraton Djibouti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Things started out a bit rocky for the first day of my stay. I asked to speak to the manager. All of my issues were addressed and corrected to exceed my expectations. The housekeeping staff was great. The servers at the bar and restaurants were fantastic. The difference in the rooms after I requested a change were night and day. It went from a 2 star to a 4 star. The internet is terrible but it is country wide and not just at this hotel. I asked people who were staying at the other major hotel in town and it was just as bad. If you are traveling on business bring an air card! The casino staff is world class! I'm not sure if they rent space or are affiliated but they are incredible.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a room on the 5th or 6th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. Regarding your comment .
we also appreciate yours comments regarding our staffsand it has been shared with all our team.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you back again soon at Sheraton Djibouti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is my second time I've stayed at this hotel. Over all it is one of the better choices of hotel to stay in when in Djibouti. Since my last visit a couple of months ago it seems like there have been improvements.

* The former slow moving personnel in the restaurant seems to be moving faster and with more accuracy. Occasionally, you'll have to wait but not as much as my last visit!
* The hotel restaurant have had a major overhaul and it improved the feeling surprisingly much. Food is a bit better since my last time even if the buffet seems to be playing on replay every other day. For a short stay - you won't notice this however. Some rough grain bread for breakfast is sadly still missed.
* Flat screen TV:s seems to have found its way into the majority of the rooms and the channel selection have expanded. Lots of movie channels and news in several languages (mainly French, English, German).
* Staff is still friendly and there is always a smile for you.
* Unfortunately - smoking is still allowed in the lobby.
* Free wifi is still excellent but the speed is gruesomely slow. Clocked it to 0,9 down and 0,03 up. Even Skype bails out and is having a hard time even passing login screen. E-mailing - no problems!
* As much else in Djibouti it is (still) expensive. Lunch will set you back about 30 USD (beverage not included). Is it worth it? Not really but the menu has improved since last time so it's a bit better!

I recommended this hotel after my last visit and it have only change to the better so my recommendation still stands.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at level 1 and 2. Level 5 and 6 is where you want to stay. Odd number have a view over t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you have noticed and appreciated the renovation that occurred since your last visit to the Sheraton Djibouti. The property is gradually being redecorated to offer our guests an elegant and comfortable setting. The restaurant just had a facelift and two Chefs are coming soon with lots of delicious recipes! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you back again soon at Sheraton Djibouti.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly, but the hotel suffers from tired facilities having been build 1980's. Several website say the facilities have been remodel (1999), but that must have been for the casino addition. The rooms are still in the 1980's. The cable television channel selection is not bad. I would not swim in the open water bay area outside of the hotel due to the shoreline sewer outlet located approximately 3 KM away. The elevators are a little cramp and may stop working (as a friend of mine found out, he was stuck in between floors for 10 mins). The hotel has a small fitness center and no spa. Like most African countries the hotel only accepts VISA or cash and no Master Card for payment.
In the past 6 months the hotel has remodeled the lobby area and their dining room. Both areas are very nice now! The overall feel of the common areas is welcoming and comfortable, but the rooms still need work. Little overpriced for what you get, but better than 96% of your other Djibouti hotel options!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer and have great view of bay. Lower rooms seem to have more foot traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to send your comments about your stay at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel.
Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our team. We do however regret to learn about your disappointment. We would like to express that we take all matters brought to our attention very seriously, and we do everything possible to rectify these shortfalls. Please be assured that the elevators have been repaired and showcase an elegant design.
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our newly decorated reception, lobby lounge and restaurant. Very soon we will open a Balinese massage treatment room offering massage therapy, beauty treatments and much more!
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When arriving at the hotel it looks good, but after a closer look, it's not.

My room was on the lobby floor, and it looked worn and old, especially the bathroom. This is not decisive for me though; when travelling and working, most important is working internet connection and good food. This hotel had neither.

The internet was not working/barely working, could not access my e-mails at all, even though I had a good wireless signal.

The food was buffet only and not good, even cold and tasted as if it been lying there all day. Maybe I ate somewhat late (nine thirty-ten), but that's no excuse. Breakfast was okay.

When checking out, they told me that I could not pay in local currency when using credit cards (was told that Visa could only be charged Euros, while Mastercard could only be charged USD!!) This dubious system meant that you have to accept whatever poor exchange rate they'll give you.

Service was good. The staff were polite, and they had free shuttle to the airport.

My poor rating is simply because when the rates are high and name is Sheraton, you'd expect more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1V1VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDjibouti, Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing Sheraton Djibouti for your recent stay.
We are sorry to read from your review that you were not fully pleased with your overall stay.
The property was the first hotel built in Djibouti and since the past 12 months the hotel is going under great renovation. The guestrooms are gradually being redecorated with elegant furnishings. The restaurant just had a facelift offering a refined design and the Chef is coming soon with lots of new tasty recipes!
We are sorry for the wrong information that you got at the checkout desk. Please, be assured that this matter has been shared with the relevant staff members. We definitely accept payment by Visa card in local currency.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered while using the internet. Djibouti Telecom was launching at that time the 3G network which contributed to disturbances on the local network. The Sheraton Djibouti offers an unparalleled Wi-Fi high speed connection free of charge in the entire hotel.
Thank you once again for posting your review and we truly apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djibouti hotels
1.3 mi away
Djibouti Palace Kempinski
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Djibouti
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Acacias Hotel Djibouti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence de l'Europe
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plein Ciel
Hotel Plein Ciel
#4 of 9 in Djibouti
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal D Plaza
Royal D Plaza
#1 of 5 in Djibouti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Djibouti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Djibouti Hotel

Address: BP 1924, Plateau de Serpent, Djibouti, Djibouti
Location: Djibouti > Djibouti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Djibouti
Price Range: $173 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Djibouti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of different cultures and nestled in the Horn of Africa, the Sheraton Djibouti Hotel offers travellers a warm welcome bringing East African hospitality and conviviality into an art form. The hotel enjoys a magnificent view overlooking the Red Sea and is situated at 1km from the city centre, 3 km from the merchant harbour and 6.5 km from the international airport. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, our professional staff will do the utmost to make your event a success and your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Djibouti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing