We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, no, no.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The place is really rundown. The room smelled of either mold or old cigarette smoke. The bath tub had rust where a metal bar (or something) was missing. The pool is in need of a major renovation. There are tiles missing and it seems old. In fact, the whole place is old and in need of a major rehab. When I checked out, I was over charged. They corrected it but it took 3 trips to the reception desk to correct it ( I don't speak Creole and they didn't speal English). The guy at the reception desk tried to tell me that the reason I was charged more was because their exchangfe rate was lower than the bank? What?! Anyway it was finally corrected but they could not credit my card and gave the difference in $CVE. Never again. The Panorama Bar is pretty however and has a wonderful view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second level facing the water if you MUST stay there...otherwise don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phyllis0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important in order to improve.

Also, let me just say that we are remodelling all our rooms and training all our staff in order to serve better the client.

We hope you can return and see all the differences.

Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Praiamar Hotel with a portuguese management, some good ideas and money could be a reference at Cabo Verde. The location is privileged and there are nice staff and infrastructures. But a lack of ideas and the absense to please the client. This is what you can expect from a standard four star hotel...but remember: you're in Africa!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, with sea view and without smells and water problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important in order to improve.
Hope you can return.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

No safety latch on the door to my room meant the maid was able to come bounding in without a word or a knock within 5 minutes of my arrival. She retreated without so much as an apology. I engaged front desk staff to speak to the maid. I watched him as he spoke to her ... he rolled his eyes and smiled at one point. Great.

I had a great sea view, but the door to my balcony would not lock. The staff response ... "Don't worry about it ... we have security patrols and you are on the second floor." Needless to say, I decided it would be a good idea to lock up my valuables. But the in-room safe was missing a lock core. Guess what? I had to deposit 3,000 CVE at the front desk for the privilege of borrowing a lock for my in-room safe. Worse yet, I was shocked at checkout to learn that I was also charged 150 CVE/day RENT on the lock. At a four-star hotel? Really??

The overall attitude of the staff was reminiscent of a cranky teenager that needs to be coaxed into into doing his or her chores. This kind of experience is par for the course for most service staff in Cape Verde. I was here visiting family, so while the setup is familiar, it is irksome when the hotel insists on flouting itself as something that it is not while charging prices exceeding those of of a large number of five star hotels in major world cities. Ah well, such are the realities of an island economy with very little competition.

Messages from the GM on Trip Advisor state that the hotel is undergoing renovation. It is not evident while in residence what renovations have taken place, but if Oasis Atlantico Praia Mar is serious about approximating an international 4-star experience, it should:
(1) Install electronic locks and interior safety locks on all doors and fix all locks on patio doors (2) Train housekeeping staff on basics of knocking before entering
(2) Change-out ancient, hard mattresses and/or install mattress toppers
(3) Provide usage of safe to all guests, free of charge and without requiring a cash deposit, and/or just replace the safes with modern digital passcode-type safes.
(4) Train staff in basics of customer service: Standing at the front desk being ignored by four chatting staff members with their arms crossed is NOT part of a 4-star experience (generally). Then again, the Portuguese GM set the tone by interrupting my check-in process to deliver a seemingly urgent message to the person who was checking me in without acknowledging me and without excusing himself. It was a lengthy interruption and I even tried to catch his eye. Eye contact was eschewed. WOW.

This hotel survives because of its location and because there is very little competition in Praia. The pool is fine. The rest is disntinctly sub-par. Buyer beware.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jiminspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and all the suggestions.
We are remodelling all our rooms and training all our staff in order to serve better the client.
We hope you can return and see all the differences.

Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

like the violent sea (sometimes to much), the warm waters , the turquoise colour

did'nt like the the absente chairs and service in the beach

2  Thank Lisbon_PortugalPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

It's not a bad place to stay at but there is not much about it. Has a swimming pool and the rooms are very "standard". Doors were in wood with an old-fashioned (big) key and hard to close.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel_DFrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests. We will continue this effort in order to exceed today’s and tomorrow’s customer expectations.

We would like to inform you that we have already started a completely renovation of Oasis Atlantico Praiamar.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Praiamar hotel can be a great hotel with a major remodel.

1. Rooms: I was on the ground floor so I did not have a view. The rooms on the second floor had a nice view of the ocean and rocky coast. The rooms are dirty and several have water damage and smell of mold. If you like a firm mattress, you are in luck. The beds are large and sheets are clean. The two rooms I looked at both had large stains on the carpet and smelled musty. The bath room was clean with a standard small bottle of shampoo, lotion, and soaps. The towels are not soft and several smelled of cigarette smoke - just changed them out. Water pressure was good but the water did not get hot, no issue in a warm climate.

2. Staff. Most of the staff is friendly and willing to help you during your stay. One guy at the front desk was difficult to work with and seemed not interested to help - maybe a language barrier? My group had to change rooms due to the rooms was not cleaned from the previous guess. Front desk was willing to offer several rooms to choose and help move bags to the new room. Reservations system is flawed for this hotel. Whether a room was confirm by internet, email, or phone the front desk computer did not get updated to reflect actual confirmation numbers. No issue if the hotel is empty but is if they are full and are turned away with a valid confirmation number. Mastercard is the card that works in the machine. VISA will have issue and will need to be charged via a manual paper method with a call to their bank for a confirmation number. Cash is always welcome.

3. Grounds. The gym was closed and no equipment was visible from outside. Sidewalks around the neighborhood were good for running and outdoor exercise stations were along the water front roads. The tennis court were bare and not used by anybody recently - see attached photos. Cobblestone paths lined the property which added a nice touch to walking around, just watch your step since areas had missing blocks or uneven portions. March is a dry period for Praia, so a heavy layer of dust cover the hotel and city. The pool bar area was a great place to meet with friends for drinks and bar food. WIFI is weak but available near the pool. A dark sand beach was with in visual range and actively used by the locals. Our rate included a buffet breakfast which had a wide variety of foods. A chef was available for egg dishes and a large selection of breads, pasties, fruits, meats, cereals, juices, and strong coffee. An ATM is available in the lobby for major credit cards.

4. Business center / Internet. The business center is a desk with 1 computer. The front desk does have a scanner and scanned a receipt for a friend. Internet (WIFI only) is limited on the property. If you are in the lobby the signal is strong but if your room is further than 25 meters than no access. A WIFI signal is seen around the property but the capability to establish a IP address on the network is limited by range from the lobby router. Several friends were able to Skype but total bandwidth speed was slow during peak periods.

Hope this helped...

Room Tip: Most of the second floor rooms will have a nice ocean view or pool view. If you want in room intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We would like to inform you that we have already started a completely renovation of Oasis Atlantico Praiamar.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

In general - a very goof hotel. Service and staff very good. I would give it three stars against european hotels. Food very good and varied menu's. The sunset bar is very nice for a drink as the sun goes down.

Room Tip: Second floor sea views arebest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We were glad to see that you really enjoyed your stay.
It is true that the view from the hotel is really amazing!

Hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Tropico
Pestana Tropico
#1 of 11 in Praia
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perola
Hotel Perola
#5 of 11 in Praia
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vip Praia
Hotel Vip Praia
#4 of 11 in Praia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cesaria
Hotel Cesaria
#3 of 11 in Praia
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santiago
Hotel Santiago
#6 of 11 in Praia
51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 11 in Praia
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Praiamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Praiamar

Address: Prainha, Praia, Santiago, Cape Verde (Formerly Hotel Praiamar - Oasis Atlantico Hotel)
Location: Cape Verde > Santiago > Praia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Praiamar 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most noble area of Praia, Prainha, near to the international embassies, and up in the cliff over the sea, the Oasis Atlantico Praiamar Hotel is not only specially prepared to welcome business travelers, but also the tourist who wants to discover the capital of Cape Verde, or the village that for a long time had one of the most famous political prisons of Portugal, Tarrafal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oasis Praiamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing