We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip t Cape Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Goole
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Business Trip t Cape Verde”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

In general - a very goof hotel. Service and staff very good. I would give it three stars against european hotels. Food very good and varied menu's. The sunset bar is very nice for a drink as the sun goes down.

Room Tip: Second floor sea views arebest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We were glad to see that you really enjoyed your stay.
It is true that the view from the hotel is really amazing!

Hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    85
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
40
76
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spend Christmas here (3 nights) and really regretted it. The first room we had had a defective lock on the patio door, so we moved. The second room had no hot water, some lights which didn't work in the room (those were fixed promptly) and broken sunbeds on the terrace (which we were told would be replaced but never were). We complained to our rep and were offered an upgrade to a suite. We looked at one of those and it was on the windy side of the hotel and didn't have any outside space so we rejected it. Eventually we ended up in the Presidential Suite - still no hot water (it turned out there wasn't any in the hotel, despite being told they'd fix it "soon") but there were several comfortable rooms and a huge terrace with decent sunbeds and our own internet hub (otherwise the free internet access was only in reception).

The whole place seems to be falling apart and is dire need of a complete renovation. There were trip hazards everywhere and broken glass on the ground near the pool (which noone seemed to have noticed). The staff were consistently unhelpful - the Reception staff couldn't communicate with the Restaurant staff and we were shuttled between them just to try and book a table for Christmas Day evening (which took about 5 tries). In the restaurant for the special Christmas meals there was no atmosphere - no entertainment at all, not even any background music and the food was really disappointing (though to be fair breakfast wasn't bad). Apart from the staff in the Panorama Bar (and one helpful individual in Reception) the others were generally surly and gave the impression that they didn't care. This can only be a result of poor training and very poor direction from the Management (as this was the only hotel in Cape Verde where we experienced this).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests. We will continue this effort in order to exceed today’s and tomorrow’s customer expectations.

We would like to inform you that we have already started a completely renovation of Oasis Atlantico Praiamar.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

if you need internet, stay away from this hotel. it's slow, ultra expensive, and keeps failing. the staff is unable to help.

if you need a late night snack, stay away from this hotel. although they have a very nice menu for the cool panorama bar, it does not work as advertised, and you're stuck with a cheese toast after 11pm. not cool.

apart from that it's a regular hotel, even though i don't get the 4* rating.

people are nice, the view (if you get one) is ok, breakfast buffet also quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasis22, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Praiamar, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests. We will continue this effort in order to exceed today’s and tomorrow’s customer expectations.

We are glad to inform you that we are now preparing a general renovation of Oasis Atlantico Praiamar.

Best Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The hotel wasn't amazing but it certainly was fine. The location and views are great. Our room was big enough for 3 of us (mom, dad and 2 yr old) and pretty clean (just a little mold in the shower). Our a/c worked OK, but the Wifi in the room certainly did not. (That was a rip-off.) We were in a room on the bottom floor, ocean view. The breakfast buffet was included and pretty decent. The pool and pool bar, as well as the other bar overlooking the water, were wonderful! I would stay here again, but before I made that reservation, I'd probably first look into the Tropico just down the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed 2 nights and didn't have major problems. The hotel is suitable for business travelers despite being a bit pricey for the value. For european standards i would consider it a 3 stars but considering the local (Praia town) offer it is one of the better options you can find.
# Rooms: Spacious and comfortable. There is minibar but there was just a bottle of water there. Amenities are very poor considering it is a 4 stars hotel. Some rooms are begging for urgent maintenance works. Every room has a terrace but this place hasn´t furniture and was a bit dirty. Air conditioning worked well but there may be some rooms with problems as i saw one guest complaining at the reception. There is also a safe-box available for less than 2 €/day (ask for the key at the reception and leave a refundable deposit of 30 €). I didn't saw them but some colleagues told me that they found cockroaches in the rooms.
# Staff: Useful but didn't have the time to realize if they are friendly so i only may say that they meet the the needs.
# F&B: Several options for breakfast (eg. eggs, hams, cheese, cakes, etc.) which wasn't nothing special for a 4 stars but still decent. Found the quality of the juices very poor. Air conditioning wasn't working probably due to some technical problem and this was a serious incovenient since the heat was very unpleasant in the morning and there were so many flies that they had to cover the food with toils. In fact the whole town is full of flies ... Lunched one time at the restaurant which is a common room for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was nice and the price was fair (15 € for a main course, bottle of beer and a coffee). There is also a Bar with a seafront terrace which is a must! The view is awesome and it is a great place to take a drink before or after dinner. Just avoid the sunset because of the mosquitoes. There is also a pool snack bar that serves light meals.
# Other Facilities and Outdoors: Nice pool (with 2 separate areas for adults and kids), beatiful and well kept gardens, the buildings looks fine and there's also a Gym. In this matter it is a 4 stars. But ... lots of flies everywhere ...
# Location: Seafront but there isn't beach there (only rocks and the next beach is dark sand). 2/3 kms from downtown (it takes less than 5 minutes by car), 2/3 minutes by car to get nice restaurants. It is advisable to call for a taxi if you want to anywhere because there is nothing around the Hotel in 1 km distance and i didn't find the area so secure ... but may just be my own feeling.
# Tips & Other Info: Try the restaurants "Poeta" and the "Bêramar" and taste the grilled fish for +- 20 € the full meal including wine (Garoupa, Esmergal). Taxi trip from aeroport to hotel costs 10 €. Taxi from hotel to downtown nearby places costs 1,5 €. If you have the opportunity visit Tarrafal in the northwest of the Island (about 70 kms from Praia, 1,5 hour). You'll cross the island through the mountains and visit other Santiago Island places than Praia town. Tarrafal has a great white sand beach with fantastic turquoise sea! I went by taxi and it costed about 70 €.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPCLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

The pool is huge, well kept and quite deserted in the early morning - a bliss.

Decoration in the rooms is tasteful, but some items are literally falling off. Refurbishment would be needed. But this is Praia, and there are not many other options around, so don't expect any improvements soon.

Prainha is quite out of the way for most restaurants, which are in the upper part of the town.

Ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CritiqueCandide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

This is one of the best hotels in Praia... Unfortunately, this does not say much as you are not spoiled for choice... To be a four star hotel, and given how much you have to pay it is of poor standard. AC was not working, they promised to fix it, nothing happened (stayed 10 days!), it smelled horrible, the room was full of mosquitoes at night but no mosquito-net was provided. The food in the pool-restaurant was poor quality and the flies kept swarming. My husband got food poisoning from eating there. The pool, one of the few in Praia, is dirty and when no one is in it you can see all the dirt floating on the surface. The reception staff is not very friendly. Going back, I would not stay there but then again there is really no other choice and they know it, so I guess that is why it keeps surviving...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemongrass-ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Tropico Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vip Praia
Hotel Vip Praia
#3 of 11 in Praia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perola
Hotel Perola
#5 of 11 in Praia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cesaria
Hotel Cesaria
#4 of 11 in Praia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santiago
Hotel Santiago
#6 of 11 in Praia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 11 in Praia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Praiamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Praiamar

Property: Hotel Oasis Praiamar
Address: Prainha, Praia, Santiago, Cape Verde (Formerly Hotel Praiamar - Oasis Atlantico Hotel)
Location: Cape Verde > Santiago > Praia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Praiamar 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most noble area of Praia, Prainha, near to the international embassies, and up in the cliff over the sea, the Oasis Atlantico Praiamar Hotel is not only specially prepared to welcome business travelers, but also the tourist who wants to discover the capital of Cape Verde, or the village that for a long time had one of the most famous political prisons of Portugal, Tarrafal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oasis Praiamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing