We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good middle range hotel”
Review of Hotel Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santiago
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in this place for four nights during a business trip to Praia. the staff at reception were welcoming and helpful, spoke several languages including English, French and Spanish. the place is modern and boutique style. Nice continental breakfast. Lovely roof terrace to shill in with a G&T as the sun goes down. The room was very clean, comfortable, not over large. But I do hate these hard beds. Had a desk for working at, though the lighting, whilst nice for atmosphere was not so good for working under. The bathroom was bijou but of European standards though there were problems with the hot water, and this seems to be a regular issues. The shower head kept popping off and hitting me on the head but this seemed to be a specific luxury for my room and not my colleagues. Great location for government offices and a few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santiago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were booked in Santiago hotel by the local host organisation. It seems a nice place, newly established, rooms comfortable with few good restaurants in the neighbourhood. It has a pleasant terrace lounge on top of the building. However, we didn't have neither hot or warm water in the rooms and then other colleagues also told us some interesting stories (like checking in in rooms with dirty toilets etc.). The problem is that there is not big offer of decent hotels in Praia. This hotel may cover this gap but still a far way for improvement ahead.

Room Tip: Interior rooms not to the main street seem to be better.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos não têm uma boa vista mas são tranquilos e confortáveis.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
Thank herve_pog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idirceu M, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vip Praia
Hotel Vip Praia
#3 of 11 in Praia
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Tropico
Pestana Tropico
#1 of 11 in Praia
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perola
Hotel Perola
#5 of 11 in Praia
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
#2 of 11 in Praia
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cesaria
Hotel Cesaria
#4 of 11 in Praia
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#8 of 11 in Praia
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santiago

Address: Rua Figueira da Foz, Praia, Santiago 1000, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Santiago > Praia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Price Range: $63 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santiago 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiago Hotel situated on the island of Santiago, Cape Verde, honors the same island and is situated in a prime business district of the city of Praia, Achada de Santo António, a few meters from pharmacies, small supermarkets, banks, restaurants, rent-a-car, business houses, etc. miscellaneous services. This is a hotel for business very upset, or service personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing