We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovating”
Review of Hotel Mont-Febe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Febe
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs renovating”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was fine as we had our conference not far away. The food was very good . The entertainment was OK. The best thing about the hotel is that is relatively quiet and set in green... I did not use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    25
    45
    26
    12
See reviews for
4
7
9
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel du Mont Febe has everything to please, well located, nicely designed. Why are the room left to deterioration? Is the profit pocketed an not reinvested to keep this lovely place going. At least the price is fair 85euro a night. Unfortunately the service was terrible, the reception booked me the wrong day, than in the wrong room and moved me, I asked not to be disturbed, for 3h, as I was sick, they called 3times, sent 2 people at the door and one walked in the room. The reception than didn't forward my calls and to top it up, they delivered my meal to my room with a missing item. As commonly expected in Africa I was given an invoice with the full price. My advice... Do not leave a deposit and pay according to what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yaounde hotels

Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had not been my first choice based on the trip reviews, but conference organisers wanted us in one place. The scenic view across from the back of the hotel especially at night and also the exercise walk up a steep hill at the front of the hotel were some of the saving graces. Once the conference was over others of the delegation checked out because it is not value for money especially in relation to the amenities. I stayed the requisite three nights. The lowest rate rooms are a decent size and the sheets were changed regularly. How ever there was no decent chair or lighting for working in one's room, no complimentary water or fridge considering it is very humid, although the AC did work. The portion for fruit salad which I ordered in my room was measly and
I had to ring twice for it. The bathroom was the worst, it needs total refurbishing, has a black tiled floor and rusty plughole. So it may have been clean, but the decor was not convincing.
Service at the front desk was polite, although we had to wait a bit at check in. The first day we had lunch in a grand dining room and this was three course and certainly delicious. I also had a drink in the verandah area outside the bar and the scenic view was breathtaking at night. Breakfast on the three days was not very varied with semi continental and also cooked choices with fresh fruit, although the fruit juice tasted as if it was from a packet. It was not crowded and the bill was placed on the table in silence.
Overall- expensive for the price and the whole hotel needs a lick of paint.

Room Tip: Probably would not opt for the first floor since there is a disco in the basement and also the bar h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, had a room with a balcony towards golf-course. Needs renovating, as carpets are worn out, etc. Breakfast is good, lunch was buffet (great), dinner also alright. Prices are at the expensive side, but tolerable.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Actually, it is the location of this hotel that makes it great! The view over the golf is superb... but it is far away from town and taxis are scare there. All the rest is below average.
Food is pretty good, including the breakfast buffet IF you are amongst the first client. Indeed, nothing is refilled and turns empty quickly. The front desk staff are friendly and try they best to sort out your problems.
I stayed there twice, 3 days, in 2 different rooms on 2 different floors, golf view. No fridge, or did not work, no intercom, no internet on floor 2 (they know it, but still place your there), the bathroom is anything but nice and clean.
It is important to note that this hotel was inaugurated in 1969! I maybe have to remind you that this hotel is in Africa where maintenance is hardly in the usual vocabulary. So, globally, after 42 years, we can say that it is on the top of the list.

Room Tip: Must take a golf view room. Great view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericmgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

1- We had a confirmation (printed out), arrived at 1 am in the morning, the hotel said no rooms available!
2- After 1 hour of fighting, they wanted to take us to surrounding other hotels!
3- When they didn't find any rooms in the surrounding hotels, they opened 2 rooms, for me & my friend.
4- The rooms are terrible, toilets are very old & unclean
5- Breakast (Petit-Dejuner) is very very bad, no variety.. Even the cheese is something no one can eat.. I was just able to eat cereals.
6- Surprisingly, the dinner is perfect at the same restaurant!

My advice, if you have to stay in Yaounde, please go to Hilton

Tamer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a long business trip and spent 3 full weeks in this hotel. First the good news: front desk staff are friendly and mostly helpful. Pool area and tennis courts are nice. Did not use the golf course but nice view from "golf" rooms. Breakfast was mostly adequate if you were there before good bread, fruit, or cold cuts ran out. Staff was extremely slow in replenishing food items in buffet that ran out. You may have to collect eating utensils and or coffee cups from various tables since "staff" didn't always set tables fully. One thing you did NOT have to worry about - breakfast staff was ALWAYS sure you got your bill to sign FAST ( seemed like that was their primary job). I did try to order eggs a few times but essentially gave up - never got what I ordered and was made to feel I was being troublesome.

Buffett lunch was usually pretty good - just do not watch them clean up from lunch (dishes, untencils, glasses) after lunch is over - they use water in what looks like coolers and I did not see any water changes.

Resturants - well staff does not speak English so you may or may not get what you think you ordered. Prices were high and dishes were sometimes good, mostly ok, sometimes not so much. Service was terrible and slow. An hour wait for sandwich was not unusual.

Forget the spa - a joke.

Ok now the other not so nice stuff: rooms were barely adequate. Definitely needs a major upgrade and soon. Small rooms with few outlets and worse bathroom. Not very good.

I arrived around 9:30 PM after long flights from the U.S. and they could not find my reservations. Be sure to bring a copy of your reservations with whatever price you agreed to - yes way to expensive for what you get but only one other choice (Hilton) and I heard it cost more with similar downsides. Checked in finally and went to my room as as wedding was taking place in the lobby and downstairs bar.

Noise was unbelievably LOUD - was exhausted and coudnt sleep, calls to front desk no help. Walked down to lobby and noise was so loud could hardly communicate - story is they didn't care - band was going to play until 6:00 am and the $$$$$ from the party was more important than guests. This "party/noise" occurred every weekend!!!!!!! Learned to accept since complaining had ZERO impact.

Problem is this is considered to be the 2nd best hotel after the Hilton which like I said - was rumored to be similar and not at all to Hilton Standards and even more expensive.

If you wanted to go to any other Resturant a taxi was required. Mont Febe hotel had nice view but was isolated.

Be prepared for the many short comings and realize there are not many other options in Yaounde.

Learn enough French to order meals - Resturant staff's English is minimal and that's a stretch.

Room Tip: Golf side but don't expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Yaounde
Hilton Yaounde
#1 of 25 in Yaounde
632 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
112 reviews
3.2 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#4 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Febe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Febe

Property: Hotel Mont-Febe
Address: B.P. 711, Yaounde, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont-Febe 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mont-Febe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing