We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel, Yaounde”
Review of Hilton Yaounde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Yaounde
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Hotel, Yaounde”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I visit this hotel regularly for business and it is the best hotel in Cameroon. Superior furnishings and decor, quality internet service, fantastic resturant with good variety meals and above all, many options to make your stay feel like staying at home. I can recommend this hotel any day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honore-guiondogno, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr MICK K
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.
We are happy to learn that your stay was satisfactory with the hotel's facilities and services.
and also that Team members were capable of making the difference.
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Thank you for your confidence, loyalty and your kind words about our services ant team-members. We will share your appreciations with them.

We really hope the Team will have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future and make once again a "Wonderful and memorable" experience

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    275
    118
    36
    17
See reviews for
22
28
50
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four days while visiting our son who was working in Yaoundé. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to some restaurants and shopping, We didn't experience any issues while in the hotel or outside in the city. The staff of the hotel was great. While the hotel is the only real choice for decent accommodations, it lived up to high standards. The only negative issue I encountered was the internet speed. At times it was slow. As with some other reviews mentioning the high cost of food and internet, it was no difference than any other major city hotel. I certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Yaoundé. I will be back. It was a first visit to Africa, and Yaoundé was a good first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank planepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honore-guiondogno, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear M PLANEPETE
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We
greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We were happy to learn that during your last stay, you were totally satisfied with the hotel's facilities and services.
We would like to apologise if the internet was not as good as you expected,
Thank you for your confidence, loyalty and your kind words about our services ant team-members. We will share your
appreciations with them.

Once again, thank you for sharing the feedback with future Guests.
Yaounde the city of the seven hills is already looking to welcome you back

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madanapalle, India
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

stay on the whole was good. was well cared for at the rooms and the restaurants. Fitness was good but the trainers need to involve themselves more.Business center and the reception personnel were very helpful and so also the house keeping staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shoba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk0383, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Shoba K,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.
We are happy to learn that your stay was satisfactory and also that the Team members of the reception, housekeeping and business centre were capable of making the difference.
We have taken notes about the fact that trainers were not so present at the Fitness centre and our Fitness coordinator will ensure this is shared with concerned team members who will be much more available as of now.

We will be delighted to welcome you back at the Hilton Yaounde in a near future.

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff at this hotel are fantastic. Very capable and able to think outside of the box. They remember your name and respond with great service. The hotel is clean and a wonderful place to come home to after a long day of walking and working. It was so quiet on the 4th floor that my jet lag recovery sleep of 13 hours was uninterrupted. Could not believe I was able to sleep that long in a hotel but it was badly needed after 35 hours transit time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk0383, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Cynthia L,

First of all, we would like to thank you for writting this review and for so much recognition on it. All the team is delighted to see that your stay was most enjoyable and that you could recover from jet lag.
At Hilton Yaounde we do train our Team members to ensure they have the skills and the necessary confidence to be problem solvers. This is why you have experienced very good customer care and you felt they were capable to think outside the box.
I really hope we will all have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the city of the 7 hills soon in the future!!!

Kind regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I just spent 2 weeks here as part of a medical mission in Yaoundé. The hotel is clean and comfortable.
Internet (WiFi) is available, but slows down at peak times; although very acceptable when compared to other African cities.
The breakfast is wonderful, great choice of fruits and egg dishes (omelettes etc.).
The only drawback is the restaurant and bar pricing which tends to be a quantum leap above the average Yaoundé prices.
All in all, a most enjoyable 2 week stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk0383, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Biomedguy,

Thank you for this review. We are pleased to see that your stay was pleasant and that after long days working during the mission you could rest and reload the battery for the next big day.
Our Executive Chef Cyrille and all his team work hard to ensure we get the best products and of course they must be local!!!!!
Looking forward to welcome you back in Yaounde.

Kind regard,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fine hotel. The facilities are lovely, especially the pool area. Excellent brunch buffet. Everything worked- internet, air conditioning, hot water. Pleasant and helpful front desk. Airport shuttle wonderfully convenient. Overpriced by Cameroonian standards, but not by international ones. After several weeks exploring the country, worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk0383, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Ann C,

Thank you for such a nice review and also for staying with us during your recent visit to Cameroon.
The pool is great, although we are in the rain season the temperatures are warm enough to stay out there and swim a little bit.
As you said; internet is wireless and it works, just perfect to catch up with the dearest one meanwhile enjoying a drink at the pool bar!
Our Front Desk team feels proud that you have recognised their work.

Once again, thank you for sharing the feedback with future Guests.
Yaounde the city of the seven hills is already looking to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Since Hilton is the only international hotel chain in Cameroon we preferred to stay there. Front desk, breakfast, service, meals are in international standarts. Rooms and the building is okay but needs to renovation. The price is a little bit expensive (two times) when you compare with the surrounding hotels...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baybaycuneyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk0383, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Baybaycuneyt,

thank you for your review and for your loyalty to Hilton!
I have already shared your feedback with the team and they are happy to see that your experience with us was satisfactory. It is among out top priorities to ensure all our Guests feel valued and cared for.
Our breakfast offers a wide variety of healthy options with the most fresh local products. "Eggs at your choice" station is among the most demanded options at breakfast. Not to mention the "Smoothies" Station to start a day full of Energy!
Our Chef and his team thank you for the recognition in your review.

Dear Baybaycuneyt, we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Hilon Yaounde in the near future.

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
142 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mont-Febe
Hotel Mont-Febe
#15 of 25 in Yaounde
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#5 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Yaounde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Yaounde

Property: Hilton Yaounde
Address: Boulevard du 20 Mai, Yaounde, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Yaounde 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city's central business district, Hilton Yaounde hotel is the only international hotel in Yaounde, is walking distance to government offices, local corporations and is only 30 minutes from Nsimalen International Airport by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service. The hotel features 248 rooms and suites, 16 flexible meeting and banqueting room, a well equiped Business Centre, 5 restaurants and Bars, a Fitness club with an outdoor pool, an indoor Mall with 14 shops, and is ideally situated to explore local activities and tourist attractions including the National Craft Market and National Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Yaounde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Yaounde Hotel Yaounde
Yaounde Hilton
Hilton International Yaounde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing