We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off on Internet connection”
Review of Hilton Yaounde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Yaounde
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a good hotel. The only problem is that you pay $18 daily for internet connection. This is a ripoff; furthermore, the connection is slow and there is no WiFi in the rooms (you must have an ethernet port, which precludes using your Ipad)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Fernando L ,

Let me start by thanking you for your evaluation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated and extremely valuable for us to improve our service in the future.

We fully understand your frustration regarding internet and may assure you that a new system is being worked on and will be implemented in the near future. Our new internet offer will include free wireless access in the public areas and of course Wifi access from the rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to the capital city of Cameroon.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle POUNTIE
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Yaounde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 655 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Need to improve the furniture in the room, the bed and bedding cover. The price is very high to the standard of the luxury hotel such as the Hilton. The employee was excellent, the security very excellent every body was polite and helpfull. However when I get in the room I was shocked that the furniture was not in the standard of the luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Francine Nwanai... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Francine,

Let me start by thanking you for your evaluation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and extremely valuable for us to improve our service in the future.

We are very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel employees and security.

I was really concerned to read your comments about the furniture in the room, the bed and bedding cover and let me apologize personally for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

I may assure you that corrective actions are taken to improve our rooms and bathrooms. Our Executive floor will be fully refurbished during upcoming summer period including new bathtubs. I would appreciate if you could let me know in which room you stayed in order to check.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future and do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle POUNTIE
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 days and was very pleased with the hospitality of the staff. I was also very happy because the security staff ensured non inhabitants were not loitering around the lobby and they were checking to ensure only guests with access keys were using the elevators to the guest rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Clement M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Clement M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and assure you that we will share them with our team.

We may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle POUNTIE
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a very interesting stay in Yaoundé. The food and the servisse at Hilton was one of the best in town. The Executive room is na interesting experience and the facility of having the "private" mini restaurante on the floor is quite covenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Salvador M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Savadore M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and assure you that we will share them with our team.

We may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle POUNTIE
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Hilton is a beautiful hotel. Stunning rooms, pool and lobby area - and a superb 11th floor panoramic bar. The food is appalling for a top-class hotel, and the service average and inattentive. It's by far the best hotel in Yaounde, and pretty much the only top-class option in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Paul Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

I may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

I was pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and as well very concerned by your negative experience in our restaurants.

I would appreciate if you could send me some more details on this particular matter which would help me in finding ways of improvement.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
gregory.thierion@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hilton is the the only Hotel in Yaounde City, rest all are just a place to spend a night (read not very comfortable). Although very highly priced and almost double to the next avaliable 'decent' hotel in the city but if one can afford it is a place to stay and enjoy the hospitality of bilingual staff. Being the only branded and the biggest hotel in Yaounde its lobby is always full and parking space for you car is rarely avaliable (though basement parking is at disposal).
Rooms: Highly comfortable with soft beds and great view from Balcony.
Bathrooms: Decent
Gym: OK
Swimming Pool: Decent
Resturants: Good but costly
Bar: nothing great but fine place to chill after a days work.

I have always stayed in Hilton whenever in Yaounde and always got best of the treatment form the staff. Shall highly recommend to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Avoid Buffet Breakfast as it is very costly, if u have time then try Acropole (check spelling) baker...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your positive evaluation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated and extremely valuable for us to improve our service in the future. I may assure you that your positive comments about the team will be shared accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to the capital city of Cameroon.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Coming here was a great relief after one night spent in a cheaper and far shabbier hotel in Yaounde. Though expensive, the room was vast, clean, and had a nice balcony. Service was friendly, and room service delivery was well within the 15-20 minutes they announced. The hotel has a large, well equipped gym and nice pool. There are several eateries. The buffet was expensive but varied - and they did offer an option for all meals of only choosing the salad bar, or continental buffet offerings at a reduced price. For a light eater like me, this was ideal. Also the pizzas and salads in the restaurant by the pool were fresh and delicious. As we had to spend most of our time in meeting rooms, it was a pleasure to eat outside.
On the down side: considering the price of the rooms, you would expect free wifi access, but it is fairly pricey, instead, and not totally reliable. The hotel has no lobby. There is a small cafe by the entrance, which serves good coffee, but it is the only place to sit if you are waiting for colleagues or a taxi. The business office is a bit cramped, and you have to purchase expensive wifi access cards that last only 30 minutes. If you need toothpaste or such, there is no shop on the premises, but there are stores and a small supermarket within a block of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

we were very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel services, food and facilities.

We haved also noted your remarks concerning the lobby, the accesss to the wifi.

We fully understand your frustration regarding internet and may assure you that a new system is being worked on and will be implemented in the near future. Our new internet offer will include free wireless access in the public areas and of course Wifi access from the rooms.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle Pountie
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mont-Febe
Hotel Mont-Febe
#15 of 25 in Yaounde
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#6 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Yaounde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Yaounde

Address: Boulevard du 20 Mai, Yaounde, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range: $309 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Yaounde 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city's central business district, Hilton Yaounde hotel is the only international hotel in Yaounde, is walking distance to government offices, local corporations and is only 30 minutes from Nsimalen International Airport by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service. The hotel features 248 rooms and suites, 16 flexible meeting and banqueting room, a well equiped Business Centre, 5 restaurants and Bars, a Fitness club with an outdoor pool, an indoor Mall with 14 shops, and is ideally situated to explore local activities and tourist attractions including the National Craft Market and National Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Yaounde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Yaounde Hotel Yaounde
Yaounde Hilton
Hilton International Yaounde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing