We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel In The City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Yaounde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Yaounde
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Yaounde
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In The City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hilton is the the only Hotel in Yaounde City, rest all are just a place to spend a night (read not very comfortable). Although very highly priced and almost double to the next avaliable 'decent' hotel in the city but if one can afford it is a place to stay and enjoy the hospitality of bilingual staff. Being the only branded and the biggest hotel in Yaounde its lobby is always full and parking space for you car is rarely avaliable (though basement parking is at disposal).
Rooms: Highly comfortable with soft beds and great view from Balcony.
Bathrooms: Decent
Gym: OK
Swimming Pool: Decent
Resturants: Good but costly
Bar: nothing great but fine place to chill after a days work.

I have always stayed in Hilton whenever in Yaounde and always got best of the treatment form the staff. Shall highly recommend to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Avoid Buffet Breakfast as it is very costly, if u have time then try Acropole (check spelling) baker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samrat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your positive evaluation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated and extremely valuable for us to improve our service in the future. I may assure you that your positive comments about the team will be shared accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to the capital city of Cameroon.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    262
    113
    36
    15
See reviews for
22
27
45
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Coming here was a great relief after one night spent in a cheaper and far shabbier hotel in Yaounde. Though expensive, the room was vast, clean, and had a nice balcony. Service was friendly, and room service delivery was well within the 15-20 minutes they announced. The hotel has a large, well equipped gym and nice pool. There are several eateries. The buffet was expensive but varied - and they did offer an option for all meals of only choosing the salad bar, or continental buffet offerings at a reduced price. For a light eater like me, this was ideal. Also the pizzas and salads in the restaurant by the pool were fresh and delicious. As we had to spend most of our time in meeting rooms, it was a pleasure to eat outside.
On the down side: considering the price of the rooms, you would expect free wifi access, but it is fairly pricey, instead, and not totally reliable. The hotel has no lobby. There is a small cafe by the entrance, which serves good coffee, but it is the only place to sit if you are waiting for colleagues or a taxi. The business office is a bit cramped, and you have to purchase expensive wifi access cards that last only 30 minutes. If you need toothpaste or such, there is no shop on the premises, but there are stores and a small supermarket within a block of the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relations Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

we were very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel services, food and facilities.

We haved also noted your remarks concerning the lobby, the accesss to the wifi.

We fully understand your frustration regarding internet and may assure you that a new system is being worked on and will be implemented in the near future. Our new internet offer will include free wireless access in the public areas and of course Wifi access from the rooms.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle Pountie
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hilton is, unfortunately, the best hotel in Yaounde. It could be world class, but falls far short. Rooms need to be refreshed and beds replaced. Current chef inherited an average kitchen and has taken it down a couple of notches. Staff were helpful and friendly. This has not always been the case. So, kudos on the customer service. Now, get new mattresses and some bathtubs that are not stained.

Room Tip: for a quiet room, ask for a MINFIN view. To see Avenue 20th of May and have a view of the hills, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor.

I was really concerned to read your comments about our facilities and let me apologize personally for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

I may assure you that corrective actions are taken to improve our rooms and bathrooms. Our Executive floor will be fully refurbished during upcoming summer period including new bathtubs. I would appreciate if you could let me know in which room you stayed in order to check the mattress condition? For your information, all our mattresses have been replaced end of 2009 by the Hilton standards ones.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future and do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
Hilton Yaounde
gregory.thierion@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

As discussed in previous reviews, the Hilton remains the best option for Yaounde. I had two different rooms at the Hilton (while coming and going from Cameroon), and both were roughly the same. Nice view, decent size, good bathroom, comfortable bed and access to CNN. Nothing terribly fancy, but perfectly serviceable. I know that the hotel is attempting to fix the wifi, but during my stay, I could not get reliable wifi in my room (though it worked on my balcony) despite paying the charge.

The hotel buffet was very nice (had both breakfast and lunch there). We found the front desk staff to be very helpful, and they arranged an excellent reception/buffet for our delegation on the top floor in the lounge. Unfortunately, a prearranged breakfast "to go" for the delegation never materialized. The Hilton Yaounde is not equivalent to a Hilton in a major American city, but it is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me take this oppotunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read your overall positive comments about the hotel and facilities.

I fully understand your frustration regarding internet and may assure you that a new system is being worked on and will be implemented in the near future. Our new internet offer will include free wireless access in the public areas and of course Wifi access from the rooms.

Let me apologize personaly for the inconvenience you encountered with your take away breakfast upon departure. I may assure you that corrective actions are taken avoid any reoccurence in the future.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacoas, Mauritius
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. Faced two major problems - I took a quick shower during the day and found to my surprise that there were no towels available in the room though it had been made up. ON checking out, my visa card could not be accepted because I had apparently crossed my credit limit. The next day the same card was used in Nairobi without any hassles. I fortunately had a friend with some cash so that I could exit the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Trilock D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor.

I was really concerned to read that our services did not meet your expectations.
I fully understand your frustration regarding the lack of towels in your bathroom and the payment issue. I may assure you that corrective actions are taken to avoid such inconveniences in the future.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde and would appreciate if you could contact me directly for any future reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

every thing was clean and in order in the room at the price offered the internet should be free. the entrance and lobby are always crowded with official protocols. not surprising as this is the most prestigious hotel in the country and probably the only decent place to host dignitaries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mulumba Mbiya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mulumba Mbiya B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and assure you that we will share them with our team.

We may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marielle POUNTIE
Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is head and shoulders above anything else that is available in Yaounde but at a price. At more than $400 a night it really needs to be so when you experience poor customer service when checking in, it does not bode well for your stay. If you have stayed at other Hilton hotels, then you will be no doubt accustomed to an extremely high level of service and attentiveness.

After our difficulties checking in at 2pm, I had a bit of a conversation with the receptionist who agreed to a late check-out as compensation for making us all wait around for ages. So I guess the initial malaise was cancelled out by the gesture of goodwill.

The facilities are excellent - an amazing gym and a great pool. I took advantage of the massage service which was just about average but not at a price that would break the bank. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnmaccoolHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory T, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Yaounde and for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel services and facilities despite your initial negative experience upon checking in. I may assure you that your comments are highly valued and help us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Yaounde in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Thierion
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 24 in Yaounde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#13 of 24 in Yaounde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mont-Febe
Hotel Mont-Febe
#15 of 24 in Yaounde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#4 of 24 in Yaounde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tou'Ngou Hotel
Tou'Ngou Hotel
#3 of 24 in Yaounde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Yaounde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Yaounde

Property: Hilton Yaounde
Address: Boulevard du 20 Mai, Yaounde, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Yaounde 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city's central business district, Hilton Yaounde hotel is the only international hotel in Yaounde, is walking distance to government offices, local corporations and is only 30 minutes from Nsimalen International Airport by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service. The hotel features 248 rooms and suites, 16 flexible meeting and banqueting room, a well equiped Business Centre, 5 restaurants and Bars, a Fitness club with an outdoor pool, an indoor Mall with 14 shops, and is ideally situated to explore local activities and tourist attractions including the National Craft Market and National Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Yaounde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Yaounde Hotel Yaounde
Yaounde Hilton
Hilton International Yaounde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing