We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park around Yaounde”

Mefou National Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Yaounde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mefou National Park is home to Mefou Primate Sanctuary, a rescue and rehabilitation centre run by Ape Action Africa. With more than 300 rare and endangered primates in its care, Ape Action Africa is now one of the largest conservation projects of its kind in Africa. Many of the animals arrive at the sanctuary as orphans of the illegal bushmeat and pet trades and are rehabilitated and provided with lifelong care.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
State of Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice park around Yaounde”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The park is easily reach from Yaounde. We asked our hotel to arrange a 4x4 with driver, for 4 people. We paid 100,000 cfa in total, including car, petrol and tall fees. We paid an extra 7,500 cfa for the park entry fee.
Facilities were basic, with no running water at the bathroom. We spent 2 hours in the park, with good guidance from a staff member.
Bring water, mosquito repellent, and wear comfortable shoes.
The animals seem well looked after.
The vegetation is beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended if you are in Yaounde”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I managed to get here fairly easily with a local taxi. The road was bad, but still passable with a small car - when dry.
It is a lovely way to get out of Yaounde for half a day and enjoy something different. My guide was friendly, welcoming and well informed. The animals seemed relaxed and stimulated and, although it is never good to see animals in enclosures, it is clear that effort has been made to give them space, natural habitat and recreation. All of the apes in the sanctuary are orphans and often victims of the bush meat hunting or the pet trade and the sanctuary makes a good effort to educate all visitors on the threats to these species, many of which are endangered. There are also many stunning trees and information on some of the more endangered ones are included in the tour.
Come with a camera and sensible shoes, although the walking is not strenuous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SerenaB242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaoundé, Centre, Cameroon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of Africa's best places”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

UK conservation group Ape Action Africa has its primate refuge/rehabilitation facility at Mefou, and the mission of the organization is irresistible: they rescue orphaned, injured, and former pet animals, rehabilitate and socialize them in capacious and well-kept enclosures (the gorilla habitat encloses 2 square kilometers, e.g.). Monkeys of all kinds, baby chimps and gorillas, and magnificent adolescent and adult individuals of many species are to be seen and experienced. Excellent tour guides explain and introduce the residents. The road out there is pretty awful--best to go in a dry season, or in a four-wheel drive vehicle. A really wonderful half-day/day excursion from Yaounde.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Yaounde”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There don't seem to be that many tourist attractions here so if you get an opportunity to go to the ape sanctuary in Mefou, go for it! Our guided tour was informative and involved a pleasant 1 hour stroll through the park can jungle. Sad to see the animals behind electric fencing but that's the only way. It is good to know that most animals are there in preparation for their release into nature.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank voyager_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A superb experience, though a nearly 1/2 hour drive from Yaounde”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Mefou is a high quality, fascinating experience. We walked thru the reserve and saw more than a dozen varieties of apes, chimpanzees, and monkeys. We were separated by electric fences throughout, but we're close enough to see well and take many photos. The areas for the animals are large and well kept. Our guide, in English, was very good. We also recommend the jungle walk to see tree varieties. The animals are here for rehabilitation and are eventually returned to the wild. Admission was excellent value at equivalent $15 each, including full use of camera and guide (who we also tipped $10).

Mefou should not be confused with the little zoo actually in Yaounde. That is Zoo de Mvjbs (spelling?). Mvjbs is a disaster. Very poorly maintained; animals in too small cages; tried to charge us $10 US for each camera permit; tried to charge us for walking into the pathetic museum full of ratty stuffed animals after Not telling us there was an extra admission fee! (We did enjoy a lovely group of pre-schoolers.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mefou National Park also viewed

 
Yaounde, Centre Region
 

Been to Mefou National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing