We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise, we'll be back.”
Review of Tou'Ngou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tou'Ngou Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Kampala, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise, we'll be back.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After being disappointed at my initial choice of hotel, our guide brought us to Tou'Ngou just for the night.
Positives: Within town, just across a 'select' shop, public transport any time of the day, Welcoming and friendly staff, rooms are very clean, smell fresh, furnished with an air conditioner, intercom, long mirror, reading table, wireless internet. Hot bath/shower, hair dryer. 2 restaurants, one on the 5th floor and another on the ground floor, Very good food (al carte service). Excellent view of Yaounde in the night. The day may give another perspective! Some photos are attached.

Negatives: A lot of noise from the bar/entertainment centre on the 5th floor, and surrounding areas. The weekends are especially more noisy with bars working 24 hours, Pentecostal churches at their peak.

Generally a good hotel for budget travellers. Our room cost 35,000 CFA approximately $60.
If you are highly 'allergic' to noise, ask for rooms in the middle floors. We stayed on the 4th floor, and we experienced the peak of noise from the 5th floor and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
3
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not the best hotel in Yaounde, but the new building offers very good value for the price. The executive rooms offer a living area, bar fridge, nice bathroom and a good bed and 2 TV's. The restaurant on the 5th floor of the new building have very nice views of Yaounde.

Room Tip: Always ask for the executive suits, in the new building, the rooms are newly built and much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have stayed in Tou'ngou many times over several years and am well familiar with their competition also. The real problem is that there is not much competition in their price range and near the Bastos area (but do check out Diplomate, Clamantis and Meumi Palace hotels). The hotel is in an incredibly noisy location so get rooms at the back, the back is also a very poor part of Yaounde, safety is not a major issue but beware nonetheless.
Rooms very in prices, the cheapest ones are very small, the medium priced ones are ok and the expensive ones are only expensive as they have a newer airco and flat screen tv (it involves spending nearly 1/3 more). The medium priced rooms are ok in size but cleanliness is a problem everywere. The towels and bedding I got were wet as the 'dryer broke down', the cleaners don't do a thorough job either. The bathroom is ok otherwise. Sleeping is hard near the front of the building because of noisy traffic.
However the most important drawback of Tou'ngou is the horrific service which counts among the worst even in Cameroon. Though heavily overstaffed the people at the hotel at best treat guests with total disregard but at worst are downright insulting, management appears utterly absent. My recommendation is to weigh your options,and check out the other places I mentioned...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yaounde hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bamenda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My company has a contract with the hotel so all my colleagues go and stay there while in Y'de. We get a good accomodation at reasonable prices at a good location in Y'de. The hotel is neat, clean and internet connected with an okay restaurant. Good for budget travellers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The organisation I was working with in Yaounde messed up and forgot to book me a hotel - the 50th independence day celebrations meant that everywhere was full, so I ended up here. It's passable, but not much more. In need of some serious repairs and refurbishment, although has all the basics working, including wi-fi access. But very tired, dull and dark. And unbelievably noisy, as it is right on the main road and subject to traffic noise and blaring music from outside until the wee small hours. The restaurant serves just-about edible food, but only just. Honestly, the hotel's OK. But I wouldn't choose to return unless really pushed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#4 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Yaounde
Hilton Yaounde
#1 of 25 in Yaounde
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minotel Franco
Minotel Franco
#6 of 25 in Yaounde
1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tou'Ngou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tou'Ngou Hotel

Property: Tou'Ngou Hotel
Address: Carrefour Etoa-Meki, Yaounde, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tou'Ngou Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tou'Ngou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing