We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Bujumbura
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

For 70$ a single room (it is 90$ but you can negotiate the price) you will get Room+breakfast, the hotel has Pool + small Gym, that is a good budget hotel, they can improve on the cleanliness in the rooms (bed sheets), the rooms are small. internet is ok, mobile network is poor in the rooms,
on the other hand the service is very good, this is my third time in the hotel & already the employees know me, the Manager is french & is a really good guy, welcoming & helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nader B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grâce N, Responsable relations publiques at City Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour vos remarques constructives. En tant que Responsable Marketing, je peux vous garantir que toute l'équipe City Hill Hotel s’attèle à rendre meilleur votre prochain séjour parmi nous. J'encourage vos appréciations, parce qu'elles nous aide à avancer. Bienvenue encore à City Hill Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here while working in Bujumbura for a week. It is a new hotel and most things function well. The power comes and goes a lot but air con etc starts again itself when power is back on. The room I was in had a small balcony overlooking the pool and was pleasant and clean. The indoor/outdoor dining area was pleasant and the food was good. I tried to buy a gin and tonic and some poor staff member was sent around the town to buy tonic water, but no luck, so drinks are a little unreliable, but the staff are wonderful. Good wireless Internet was provided free at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool do have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Given the level of development in Burundi, this is a pleasant and decent hotel. The bedroom and bathroom are both very basic, but everything (like air conditioning and the water) worked most of the time.

There must be about 10 different WiFi networks throughout the hotel, each with a different password. I got WiFi in parts of the restaurant, but not elsewhere.

The restaurant is close to the pool and attracts a lot of mosquitoes in the evening. The food takes a long time.

The hotel is fairly well situated if you are working in Bujumbura.

If I were to travel back to Bujumbura on business, I would stay at the City Hill Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flensdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is well placed for the town and not too far from the airport either. It has only been open for 4 months and the decor and quality of the fittings are very nice. However there are some areas of improvement needed. The manager came to see my and it was nice that she asked my opinion as a seasoned traveller of how things could be better.
The first room I was given was one of their suites and was very nice BUT right under my bedroom window was an estate of poorer houses and the cockrels were making such a noise all night I could not sleep and had to move to the other side of the hotel.
Also for the money I would expect, complimentary water, tea making equipment and maybe a box of tissues in the room. She took this on board and I am sure that she will implement these things.
The restaurant is a nice setting next to the pool and the food is of a good standard. However the restaurant is plagued with flies by day and mosquitoes by night and are a real nuisance.
If they can continue to address these problems then I think this could be a very good hotel.
The staff were very courteous and helpful.
I will give this hotel another chance for sure on my next visit as i feel that the owner will continue to improve the facilities

Room Tip: Choose the higher number rooms above number 4 on each floor to avoid the farmyard noises. They also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bujumbura hotels
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Jardin Tropical
Aparthotel Jardin Tropical
#7 of 23 in Bujumbura
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
#2 of 23 in Bujumbura
103 reviews
3.4 mi away
King's Conference Centre
King's Conference Centre
#1 of 23 in Bujumbura
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Ubuntu
Hotel Residence Ubuntu
#13 of 23 in Bujumbura
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roca Golf Hotel
Roca Golf Hotel
#5 of 23 in Bujumbura
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VAYA Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hill Hotel

Property: City Hill Hotel
Address: Boulevard du 28 Novembre, Bujumbura City Hill Hotel, Boulevard du 28 Novembre, Bujumbura-Burundi, Burundi
Location: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing