We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bujumbura
Fort Knox, Kentucky
1 review
“Had a great time”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a couple of nights in Bujumbura on business and stayed at the Hotel Dolce Vita resort. Food was excellent, staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. Free WiFi code supplied without prompting. Had some very pleasant evenings sitting in the restaurant, bar (on third floor) and even the lounge area by the registration. The bed in the room was very comfortable and the mosquito netting simple to use on the track. I was even offered some bug spray to get rid of a mosquito in the room. I killed it. Air conditioned rooms. I would certainly go back here again. Bonus that it is close to the US Embassy, if you need that. I was offered a ride anywhere I wanted to go, gratis. The staff helped show me around their wonderful city and find places, like shopping areas, that I would never have found. I also enjoyed waking up to the delightful chirping of the birds in the garden (look for the weaved hanging nests 0- wonderful.) I had a personal chat with the manager, who is a delightful lady. I can't think of anything bad about this place ... the pool is on the small side?

Room Tip: Massages were offered, I never took the opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
14
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dolce Vita Resort is a really very nice and charming place to stay. Superfriendly staff. You can ask any time also for special requests. Everybody tries to make the guests happy. Restaurant offers nice food in a mix of traditional french and (i think maybe) burundi style. Prices are very reasonable. Beer is cold and the small bar is a nice place to relax. Don´t expect a luxury hotel - but everything is very clean and very well kept and comfortable. Its a kind of a family hotel and guests become part of the family soon. And thats sometimes nicer than to stay in some luxury hotel where smiles already get billed. Finishing with some fair comments: the air condition is really very noisy. And if you try to sleep in a room at the pool side - mainly before 11pm - it can be a bit noisy from the bar area upstairs.

Room Tip: Pool side located rooms are a little noisy later in the evening - because of the up floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was delighted with my stay at Dolce Vita resort in Bujumbura. This is a cozy place with truly friendly staff and clean rooms. When I return to Bujumbura I would definitely stay again. The location is however away from downtown. The value for money offered was also very satisfying.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bujumbura, Burundi
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When I checked in on early Saturday morning, 9th November, I was not shown how to use the mosquito net. Therefore I spent the night with mosquitoes biting me. It was the following day that I was told how to use the mosquito net.

The room was full of mosquitoes, It was not sprayed. The TV and air condition were dysfunctional or not working when I checked in. It was when I reported the following day that they were fixed on Sunday.

A lot of power cut, which has the potential of affecting electrical gadgets. There should be a power stabilizer for the appliances.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel/guest house is very comfortable. Having travelled to many, many places in Africa, I found this to be a very nice place to stay. One should understand that this is not a typical hotel by American standards but closer to a guest house. Although it is small and does not have many rooms, it is very charming and very clean. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the entire facilities. My room and bathroom were quite large and comfortable. I enjoyed having Wi-Fi readily available and breakfast was quite adequate. My dinner was served on the terrace just outside my room. The staff was extremely friendly and the characteristic Africa hospitality was extraordinary. It is located in a very up and coming neighborhood and only meters away from the American Embassy. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Bujumbura.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First adjusting ones standards is a civilized way to go, Bujumbura is a developing city. THEREFORE Intermittent power, and other minor issues have to be overlooked.The hotel is very comfortable, the restaurant is very great giving a partly view of lake Tanganyika and enjoyment of the evening breeze, staff/service is absolutely wonderful. Don`t forget to check on to the conference hall, I Stayed here for 2 (two) weeks;and every time felt home, the toilets and bathrooms are spacious and well kept all the time, you need not make numerous conversations with the front desk for they know what to do. Like many places on the continent, it was very nicely built, but the way it is maintained make it seem very recently constructed. I would stay here again, based on the service and restaurant. To the staff MERCI.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor give you an aura of the city and an evening view of Lake Tanganyika
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is not that fancy, but the staff is excellent. Very helpful and courteous. The rooms vary, mine was a bit small, but with a HUGE bathroom. But the room was comfortable. The resturant was veyr good, the food and service done very well. The pictures on their website are professionally done, so don't expect it to look quite like that. :) But no complaints, I will stay there when I am back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinecone-sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bujumbura hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika
3.8 mi away
King's Conference Centre
King's Conference Centre
#1 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
#5 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Roca Golf Hotel
Roca Golf Hotel
#4 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goodlife Residence
Goodlife Residence
#7 of 22 in Bujumbura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Jardin Tropical
Aparthotel Jardin Tropical
#6 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolce Vita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Vita Resort

Property: Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
Address: Mwungo 43 | Avenue Mwungo, 43 Kigobe Sud, Bujumbura 6870, Burundi
Location: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dolce Vita Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable hotel with a beautiful garden, bird nests. Located 5km from Bujumbura airport and near the Embassy of the United States. Breakfast and airport shuttle are offered. A very interesting rate is available if you have a long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dolce Vita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing