We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only 5 star choice in Ouaga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Reviewed June 9, 2014

this is the only 5 star choice in Ouaga. Located in the outskirts of the city - you wont find anything nearby. Breakfast is plentiful and with many choices. Rooms are fine. Lobby is very specious. The outside garden is quite nice for a walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamerG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel L, Directeur général at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in our hotel. We are trying our best every day to make sure you will be more and more happy to stay with us.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and my impression is that this well designed and maintained facility but below average services.
My hotel bed sheet was changed daily but not properly done, I had to call housekeeping to have it redone which they did.
but the most difficult part is making payment at check out , the point of sale terminal wouldn't work and the ATM machine in the hotel only accepts VISA, I had to be "accompanied" to an ATM machine a few minutes drive outside the hotel and return to pay cash for my entire stay.

Room Tip: Please make sure you have cash to pay for your room and services at the hotel and Laice in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heroesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your two nights stay with us.

Please accept my apology for the issue regarding housekeeping and for the long check out process. It is true that time to time and due to external technical problem the CC terminal point is faulty. We are working with the bank of this matter which we hope to erase definitly.
Once more, thank you for your time.

Regards

Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is a 5 start hotel with very professional team working there from door men all the way to receptionists and room service.

The hotel location is though relatively far from down town and no restaurants are in walking distance, except for a small shopping center.

The rooms are spacious, the pool is nice, the air-conditioning in the room is average, internet speed is ok, though a little disruptions here and there.

the best thing about this Hotel is the salads they offer, i had the joy to have tasted two really very good salads, very balanced sauce and the food paring of ingredients is WOW.

the price i paid for the hotel for what is in return, is high.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time and comments I will share with team.
The kitchen teal will be delighted with your feedback regarding the salads.
Kind regards.
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel tries hard, and they often get it right. The rooms are very good, including the meeting rooms, and the artwork on the lobby floor is outstanding. Sometimes there are communication gaps at the front desk and the coffee shop for non-French speakers. The rooms are comfortable, but they could use more light at night. The food is pretty good, and it was great that we were there during mango season. The pizza in the poolside restaurant is quite good. The location leaves something to be desired, though, since there is not much around the area the hotel is located in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millionmiler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us, here at the Laico Ouaga2000.
As you said: This hotel tries hard, and they often get it right.
Thank you!
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

i have been there due to my job and stayed 5 days. it was a regular hotel, but according to me there was about nothing at the breakfast. staff was also good and friendly. if you have to stay, i would recommend you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edenknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, here at the Laico Ouaga2000.
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Anywhere else you might rate the hotel as just average or perhaps even a little below par. In Ouagadougou, it is amazingly welcome. The other hotels there are pathetic and the Laico stands out as a beacon of luxury in comparison.

The swimming pool is very good and the hotel has obviously been built to high standards but is beginning to look tired now. It really could do with refurbishment. Still, it is comfortable enough, the service is good and the Internet works most of the time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are trying our best to deliver a good experience to our guests and we are delighted you had a successful stay which we are sure ensured that your whole Burkinabe visit was to remember.
Kind regards.
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was my first trip to Burkina Faso, but I have travelled a lot in Africa. The hotel is starting to look a bit tired now, and could do with a makeover. Having said that, the facilities are comfortable enough, and I managed to get a good night, which is, after all, the main point of the hotel. We ate off site, so I cannot comment on the food. There are new hotels being built, so this one needs to raise the bar if it is to remain competitive

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDemarchi, General Manager at Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback which is well noted. We are working on a plan of refurbishment which should ensure we stay on the top of the hotel scene, here at Ouagadougou.
Kind regards,
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
6.1 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#5 of 31 in Ouagadougou
122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
33 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#14 of 31 in Ouagadougou
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Le Karite Bleu
Le Karite Bleu
#1 of 31 in Ouagadougou
46 reviews
3.8 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#20 of 31 in Ouagadougou
90 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#8 of 31 in Ouagadougou
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel

Address: Avenue Pascal Zagre 01, BP 1603, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Location: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range: $221 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LAICO Ouaga 2000 is a 5 star hotel located in the heart of the new administrative centre of Ouagadougou. The ideal venue for seminars and conventions, the hotel offers 600 m² of modular space. In addition to a fitness centre with sauna, hammam and jacuzzi, guests traveling on business can take advantage of free ADSL access in all of our rooms. The TENAKOUROU restaurant offers modern gastronomic cuisine, while the Coffee Shop and the Bar Wamde are the hotel's perfect meeting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Ouagadougou
Laico Ouaga 2000 Ouagadougou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing