We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dinner in the garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espace Gondwana

Espace Gondwana
Ranked #24 of 110 Restaurants in Ouagadougou
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Delicious food & lovely relaxing atmosphere. Table was outside and was very comfortable despite being a single female diner...I took my book with me but was no need as other guests and the staff very friendly and engaged in conversation. Can speak a little French so was easy to communicate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BristolBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
352 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“An oasis in this dusty City. Note: The Gondwana and Espace Gondwana are the same restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I found this restaurant during my second evening in 'Quaga' and was made to feel most welcome.
The owner Mathias has created a marvellous drinking and eating spot. Not only does he have a variety of places to eat (ie a Tuareg tent) but he has many local artifacts on display and for sale. Granted some of it is kitsch and can be bought at many a roadside stall throughout Africa, but some of it is fun and some very attractive and unusual. The prices are probably quite high, but then Mathias has to acquire a lot of unusual food not normally found in this part of Africa. I enjoyed my filling Thai Soup with warm rolls, and a pudding, although I did not have a large main course. My Sauvignon Blanc was totally acceptable. Little nibbles are served with drinks and are complimentary.
I guess this restaurant is much frequented by expats, aid workers and more prosperous Burkinas. It is worth seeking out in this City as I doubt there are many more fun places to meet friends and eat.
Trip Advisor needs to sort out the fact that there are two sites for the same restaurant. I confirmed this with the owner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely garden, quite good food, though expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I loved the ambiance of the garden. The menu was extensive. My choice was pretty good (lamb, a little too salty); others had food ranging from excellent to a little disappointing. Service was attentive without being excessive. I would definitely go back for a splurge because the food is fine and the experience is really pleasant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place for a drink but not for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The ambiance at Gondwana is exceptional. The garden is beautiful and the artwork everywhere makes the place a destination for all visitors to Ouagadougou. But the food is not what this place is about -- it doesn't seem like the kitchen staff even try. We ate there twice in June and everything seemed to miss its target. Some food was cold. Nothing was tasty. It's a shame because the venue is special but the food holds customers back. If I go back, it will be just for drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Butakovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Touristy and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a good place to eat if you have a large group and want to have some privacy, but you can also sit close to other people. It is not very busy, but it is a popular restaurant in Ouaga. It can be a bit difficult to find, but it's worth the journey. The staff speaks enough English to order and they have Menus in English. The food is good and it is always enjoyable to watch people try to eat the Taxi Brouse (it was delicious but a bit much). They have a generator so the power never goes out. Everything is for sale in the restaurant, but the prices are inflated. You will have better luck going to the small artisan market or walking across the street from the Hotel Azalai Independence and asking for William. He speaks English and will negotiate prices for you and get the "Burkinabe price." If he doesn't have what you want he will find it or make it. In the end this is a good place to eat and not such a great place to shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OuagaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espace Gondwana also viewed

Ouagadougou, Centre Region
Ouagadougou, Centre Region
 
Ouagadougou, Centre Region
Ouagadougou, Centre Region
 

Been to Espace Gondwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing