We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disastrous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Certificate of Excellence
Lappland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disastrous stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

Yes, the hotel is very nice but I wouldn’t dream of staying there any time in the future. In our group some found there rooms open when returning back home. Breakfast was included in the price and we asked the staff in reception several times that we could chose which items we liked to. The answer was always “Yes, you can do that”. When settling the bills at check out it was quite another story. And worse of all – they were totally uninterested in trying to solve the issue. Orange juice was not included. Some of the items were not included. We had to check very careful because some bills shouldn’t have been there – even to their standard. It was a mess with 41 unhappy tour members!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJF_of_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
31
9
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I am sorry that one of the reviewers had a very bad time. I think this is an exception rather than the rule. I lived in Botswana for many years (in Maun) and always stayed at the Mondior when on business in Gaborone. The Mondior is clean, affordable, and within walking distance of the CBD, Riverwalk mall (where there is a movie theatre), and the University (about 10 minutes on foot). The News Cafe is on the same property and is very convenient but for my money the best place to eat that is also nearby is the portuguese restaurant called Caravella. The Gaborone Club golf course is also about 2 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mukwaleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Do not stay at this Hotel, you will regret it. This is the worst hotel ever. The hotel management is rude, arrogant, racist and abusive. Our meals at NewCafe were horrible. Management was told about this and they just don't care. We informed the Peermont Hotel Head Offices and they too don't give a damn. Imagine, 4 women were abused at the Peermont Mondior Summit and the Peermont Group has done nothing about it. We are still traumatized by the torture we endured at Mondior SUmmit Hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — I hate everything about this hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CustomerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We recently spent a very nice night at the Mondior as our last night stay of an almost two week visit to Botswana. They have very nice two bedroom suites with a kitchenette and dishes for self-catering which is perfect for families. We walked out to local stores in the morning to buy our own breakfast foods. The hotel is very clean and has been updated recently and it shows. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. Room prices are very reasonable and they have a free airport shuttle. The News Cafe is right across the parking lot - we ate dinner there and met friends from Gaborone. It evidently is the place to be on Thursday nights, but our stay on a Sunday night was nice and quiet.

  • Liked — cleanliness, decor, reasonable room rates, two bedroom suites
  • Disliked — Pool area needs some attention.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrcorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stayed at the Mondial a couple of times on business. The hotel is very well guarded and is very clean and has lovely decor. The rooms are surrounded by an "open courtyard" with a fountain running which makes it seem very serene. There are not too many floors so you can walk up to your room or take the elevator.The rooms are beautiful and they offer a shower and tub in each of the bathrooms. This hotel use to be called the Syringa so I keep forgetting that its name was changed to Mondial. There is a restaurant just outside the hotel (on the same grounds) that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is really good there and the staff was always very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that is staying in Gaborone for the location, staff friendliness and general accommodation. You can change your money at the hotel and one of my business associates was able to get wireless internet in the hotel.

  • Liked — Gorgeous hotel in Gaborone
  • Disliked — No pool when I was there (not sure if this has changed)
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2Travel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel after a fly-in to the town but liked it very much. The hotel is an oasis inside otherwise a bit dull Gaborone, although it is not so "authentic Africa".

The hotel features a well-guarded car park (you might consider renting a car as Gabrone is widely spread) and it is very nicely decorated and in good condition. The rooms are very spacious (despite we had the smallest Studio) and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and the small kitchenette adds to the room as you can buy breakfast supplies at the nearby mall.

Check the hotel website [----------] for offers. We got a weekend promotion which wasn't available through travel agents.

The only negative thing I can think of was the reception staff who were not so helpful and the service was quite slow compared to European or American standards. All in all the hotel was a great stay and the room was the best part which I consider the most important thing in a hotel.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Small pool and front desk service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maailmanmatkaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. I was impressed by how clean everything was and how friendly the owners were. They have a delightful restaraunt/club on the same property. It never lacked to provide interesting people from all over to converse with. They will shuttle you back and forth from the mall and no extra cost.

  • Liked — Clean and Safe
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninemilum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.9 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior Gaborone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior Gaborone

Property: Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Address: Plot 21117 | Cnr Mobuto and Maratadiba Road, The Village, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior Gaborone 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy international standards at affordable rates. The 4-star Mondior hotel is conveniently situated in the business district of Gaborone. It offers 67 suites and studios - each equipped with semi self-catering facilities as well as the technology demanded by today's discerning business traveler. All areas have wireless internet access (Wi-Fi). The charm of the hotel lies in its unique African 'chic' style that exudes a welcoming atmosphere. Guests can unwind at the pool, relax in the lounge or dine at the News Cafe restaurant located on the same complex. Conference facilities are available for up to 50 delegates. The hotel features (67 rooms) with 34 Studios, 27 One bedroom suites, 5 Two bedroom suites and 1 Special assistance room. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available.Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Mondior Gaborone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior, Gaborone Hotel Gaborone
Summit Gaborone
Gaborone Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing