We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
152
155
51
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
152
155
51
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhino tracking bush braai game drives watering hole self catering mountain biking white rhino game reserve safari experience water hole short drive get away nice restaurant business trip chicken capital city value for money
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 377 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

I always find it is a good time for a good lunch, a slow drive looking for animals or parking by the dam listening to the Hippos. Very relaxing after a busy weak.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Doris2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Have been for an hours Game drive and Bush Braai, amazing cuisine, the never disappoint. The do not have the big five but its a great tour none the less, the guide was great . Also go for lunch on Saturdays with the family.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Tshego M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We probably should have trusted our guts (and the Trip Advisor reviews). Mokolodi just isn’t worth the visit. Fortunately, it doesn’t cost a lot so we weren’t out that much financially for such a disappointing time. Since neither the website nor the brochures will tell you, it’s P150 per person for a 2-hour game drive (at time of writing, about $15US or $19CDN) It’s a shame, since they claim their goals are education and conservation...but I just can’t recommend it as a destination.

The pros: the mostly outdoor restaurant is super cute, clean, reasonably priced and the food was tasty. The service was friendly and efficient.

The cons: (1) as so many other reviewers have mentioned- the lack of animals. I completely understand that on any type of “safari “ or game drive, you’re at the mercy of circumstances. But there should at least be signs of animals....tracks, dung.... strangely, not here. It kind of makes you wonder. In 2 hours we saw mere glimpses of 1 zebra, a few warthogs, and maybe 5 impala dashing away in the distance. There was a giraffe eating leaves and almost completely hidden by the trees, although that fleeting and obscured view of gold & brown spots was probably the “highlight” of our excursion. There were 2 hippos almost completely submerged in a watering hole. (Yes, I know....that’s what hippos do) There was next to no narration by the “guide”. Nothing about the vegetation (since that’s really all we saw). Only on the handful of occasions we almost saw an animal did she speak up with a 30 second blurb - although we couldn’t hear her at the back of the vehicle anyway. To market this as a place offering game drives is really overselling it.

(2) the vehicle- the vehicle you are driven around in for 2 hours over extremely rocky, unmaintained trails has virtually no suspension. It was bumpy beyond belief. You will be jostled and bounced and slammed around the entire time. We weren’t expecting luxury but we certainly weren’t expecting this degree of discomfort. Ladies, be sure to wear a tight sports bra to harness your bosom. Honestly, I’m not kidding. Your butt will also be sore by the time they finally let you off. If you’re tall, you won’t be able to see out of the vehicle because the roll of the canopy roof hangs down and obscures your view. On the bright side, see (1) above - no animals.

Fortunately, we had done several beautiful, successful, photo-worthy, animal-filled and information-filled game drives elsewhere on our trip and the Mokolodi experience isn’t the one that will colour our vacation memories.

(3) The gift shop - Sadly, they’re really missing the boat here. Given the goals of the operation, I was prepared to drop some cash at a gift shop to pump some money into conservation efforts. There was virtually nothing to choose from. Some skilled attention to stocking appealing (or any) inventory would go a long way.

There are other experiences available at Mokolodi and I can’t comment on those. (Bush braais, rhino tracking, giraffe tracking) Maybe they are better. They likely can’t be worse.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Shasta613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We booked a Champagne Brunch which comes with a Game drive. The Guide through the park which was a little annoying as we could not enjoy the surrounding scenery. The Brunch was a little disappointing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Phin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

A friend and I were visiting Gaborone for a few days and saw the Mokolodi Nature Reserve listed as one of the top things to do when visiting the city. We made a reservation for a two-hour game drive in the afternoon and decided to arrive early and enjoy a glass of wine at the Mokoldi restaurant next to the reserve. Its location is just outside the city (only 20 km from where we were staying), so we weren’t expecting to see too many animals so close to the city, but we were pleasantly mistaken. On the game drive we saw lots of giraffes, elephants, warthogs, kudus, and various bird species.

The tour was conducted in an open game-drive vehicle, it was relaxing and leisurely. Our driver made sure to stop whenever we saw something we wanted to take a picture of, and provided us with ample information on the local plant species as well as the animals. There was a 10 minutes stop in the middle of the tour next to a lake where we could get out and take pictures, use the restroom, and enjoy a complimentary soda and snack. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Gaborone.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Emilywolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews