We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed April 22, 2009

When I stayed everything was clean, room interiors were new, everything worked. It is a budget business hotel so I did not expect or ask anything from the staff. Can be booked online. No complaints, would use it again. Definitely better value than the 4 or 5-star hotels in Gaborone. There is a petrol station just outside the front gate with a convenience store. If you want a proper meal or need to use a business centre go to the 5-star hotel that is just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibraltar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

The staff manning the front desk were welcoming, professionals in what they were doing and wer absoultely excellent during my unexpected 3-day stay at the hotel while visiting Africa from UK. They were truly ambassadors for METCOURT Inn

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LEO559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I arrived for three nights tired and hungry and having forgotten that I hadn't paid in advance. Got into an argument at reception who refused to contact my travel agent.. Found their attitude unhelpful - said they were unable to contact UK tel no; offered me a prepaid phone card then said there weren't any available. Had to go to business centre to email agent and ask them to ring hotel - which they did promptly (thanks Expedia).

Having been given room key- this failed to work - by now collapsing with tiredness and hunger. Had to find restaurant across large grounds in dark - quite scary as I was travelling alone and by then feeling ill. Restaurant almost closing - however they cooked me a vegi-meal specially - so thumbs up to kitchen staff.

Next day lift not working, staff giving me the run-around - decided to leave and check into another hotel. This was more central, cheaper and more friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shelalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

During our recent trip to Gaborone, Botswana our travel agent booked us for a 3 day stay at the Metcourt Inn. We ended up staying an additonal night. The hotel has nice decor. However the room does not include a phone and during our time, we were never able to purchase calling cards from the hotel front desk. They continued to promise they would have some available the next day until finally one worker suggested going to the grocery store right outside of the hotel complex.

Breakfast was good, however you must walk to the larger hotel for other meals and the prices there are outrageous for the meal you receive.

Front desk staff extremely helpful with locating a taxi driver for the day or attempting to fix the internet issues for the lobby computer, which rarely is able to go onto the internet. As well the internet was approxamately $10 for an hour but struggled to use my hour since the internet had so many issues. The conference center inside the complex had much better internet service however costly.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WiserTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This is a budget hotel, and so I expected some budget type things...
However, to NOT HAVE A PHONE in the room, I consider to be a major oversight. Also, there was no socket at all in the bathroom, bad if you have a power shaver, of hairdryer you want to use. The room is tiny, the aircon noisy, and the bed gave me a strange ache in both shoulders. The breakfast is a scrum for the hot meal, since it is cooked on demand, and they have no way to keep the food hot.

On the plus side, the food in the Grand Lodge - over the road, was fab, and the steaks some of the best I've tasted anywhere. The pool & surrounds are also lovely, and there is the bonus of seeing some wild animals in the grounds (antelope & monkeys)

Having said all this, I would come back to Botswana in a heartbeat, it is lovely, well maintained, and safe country - "beginners Africa"

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank logoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2007

i like the reception, the front view and the rooms are unique

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sekyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2005

I stayed at the Metcourt for one night in June on my way through Gaborone. It seems to fill a niche that was completely empty before. I couldn't find a reasonably priced room with the amenities and service of the Metcourt anywhere else in Gaborone. The rooms are new, attractive, and comfortable. That alone would have made me choose to stay there, but the bonus of having access to all the amenties at the Grand Palm could not be matched - lovely grounds and several restaurants to choose from, as well as the free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NorthernAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
3.6 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 17 in Gaborone
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gaborone
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
3.5 mi away
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
#8 of 17 in Gaborone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm

Address: Bonnington Farm, Molepolole Road, Gaborone 33037, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $58 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At The Grand Palm Hotel Gaborone
Metcourt Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing