We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks at the Gaborone Yacht Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaborone Dam

Gaborone Dam
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Gaborone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This dam is the essential heart of the arid Botswana capital of Gaborene, providing its water supply, a tourist attraction and water sports site.
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drinks at the Gaborone Yacht Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Call ahead to make sure they're open. Perfect place to watch the sunset, catch up with friends, and enjoy an African tradition... the sundowner!

Small fee to park your car.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ac_mcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    23
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Water level at 15%, and falling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

When the reservoir is full and the sun is going down, the Yacht Club is the most wonderful place for a drink. In fact, many a wedding has taken place with this backdrop. Regattas and raft races held here are great fun and often well attended, there are several public sites for a barbeque on the opposite side of the water from the Yacht Club too. Currently though, the water is very low and the lake bed needs dredging, so this is not the most attractive of places.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FavouritePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gaborone Yacht Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets of Gaborone. A stunning view across the water and often spectacular sunsets. Non members pay a small entrance fee but it is well worth it. Good quality pub food is on offer and the beers are always ice cold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The dam is empty!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Down to 16% water level in the dam... However the Yacht Club is a nice place to go for a drink... I assume that this review is really meant to be for there? They also do pretty good food so well worth visiting!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardGartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gabs Dam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

As I have said in my reviews just because I live here I often don't go regularly to the places and therefore cannot mark the red parts and therefore cannot submit my review, but as I am a local I feel I know about the places and want to share my thoughts! I have not been there but just wanted to say it all depends of what time of the year you go! I know for a fact the dam has very little water at the moment and therefore all the water shortages in Gabs. So ask before you go about waterlevel! But have heard it is a very nice place to go when there is water!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akblackbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaborone Dam also viewed

Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 
Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 

Been to Gaborone Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing