We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Portugalia

Cafe Portugalia
Ranked #45 of 96 Restaurants in Gaborone
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
131 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Every time I've been there the service has been the best thing. Always welcoming, friendly, the right level of attentiveness. The food's good for brunch or lunch, I haven't been there in the evening. Don't be put off by the awful local right next to a car park and by the entrance to Game City Shopping Center, it's not intrusive once you're inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardHarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Gaborone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is possibly the worst meal I have ever eaten having loved for over twenty years in Gaoborne. The starter was spiced sausage brought to the table on a flaming plate. I discovered that the flames were methylated spirits which ought never to be used and made me feel physically sick. The steak was tough, badly cut, full of sinew and closer to incinerated than medium rare as ordered. The waiter, when one could attract his attention was clueless and the manager(s), who were sitting with friends at an adjacent table, couldn't have cared less that there was a highly disgruntled customer next to him. I wold never go back there or recommend anyone esle to do so.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value portuguese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ive eaten here a few times and have always enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Its also good value and has a good seafood selection. The outdorr seating area is better than most and is slightly shielded from the carpark (most places you feel like you are sitting in the carpark)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth another visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visit two times and had the sea food platter and it was ok. The third time I visited was really awful. The fish was extremely salty. The kitchen tried to prepare the dish again, but my guess was the fish was pre soaked in salt before cooking. It was inedible. Better go to Rodrizo is my recommendation......

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fantastic tasty dishes, great prices, and the management staff is wonderful. I love everything I eat here, but my favorites include the grilled calamari, the kingclip, the peri peri chicken, the giblets and the cataplana. One of the best dining options if you are eating out in Gabs!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfans_7182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portugalia also viewed

Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 
Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 

Been to Cafe Portugalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing