We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for business or leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel has some nice rooms but the standard rooms on first floor are too small. The washroom area makes you feel too squeezed in. The bar is great with a wide variety of drinks but the sitting space is rather limiting in the way it's arranged. The restaurant is great and the meals are delicious and carried for breakfast and other meals. I did not have time to check out the casino but the business meetings I attended were great. The hotel has shuttle services that wait for guests from every scheduled flight.

Room Tip: Do not go for a standard room on first floor unless you are on a tight budget. The space is rather s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peermont, General Manager at Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank you for your positive review of the Peermont Walmont. It is disappointing that you found the 1st Floor rooms too small. All our rooms have recently had the bathrooms refurbished. A glass panel has been installed which we believe opens up the room, adds more light and does give the room a ‘bigger’ look. Perhaps you had the curtain drawn which would have concealed this view? Nonetheless, we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Greg Soutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights. Air conditions don'twwork properly. Some talk of an old water based system... Hot water for the shower was never really hot. Evening was okay. Boring food in restaurants if you have an extended stay. Asked for a Mojito drink at the bar. Was undrinkable. Beaf barron restaurant took ages to bring the food and when it arrived was cold. I would rate it as a maximum 4 star hotel at best. Gym has just 2 bicycle and two treadmills and that's it. About the size of a small room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peermont, General Manager at Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

It is correct that our air-conditioning system works on a water cooling system. It is working to maximum capacity currently. We have found that we experience temperature problems when the control dial is turned below 10 degrees Celsius.

Our beef Baron restaurant receives rave reviews from local and international guests. Your experience is regrettable and we shall most definitely look in to the service process. Thank you for your comment concerning the Mojito. We have addressed the training need and believe the cocktail is now up to standard.

With reference to our Gym- yes it is not a gym. We call it a cardio fitness center. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience our Health Spa which replaced the Gym.

We are thankful for your feedback. This has assisted us in rectifying service shortcomings highlighted. We sincerely hope that you shall visit us again!

Regards,
Greg Soutter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for a few days while on business in Gaborone. Room was nice, very comfortable. Bed was also pretty comfortable. Just take your own pillow though, found mine to be extremely spongy and unnatural. Managed to find a "thin" one that was not too big, so that worked out alright.

The room is nice, and served it's purpose well. Bathroom also ok, but the placement of the doorstopper in front of the bath (where one gets out), is a little odd. And my stay started off with a bathroom sink that would't drain properly.

Breakfast came included, which was not too bad either. Served the type of food you would generally find at these kinds of hotes. Sausages, bacon, cereals, fruits, yoghurt - the usual. With the chef preparing fresh scrambled or fried eggs to order.

Generally, I enjoyed the stay there, but found it too be quite expensive. Also, I am not sure of how the hotel grading system works, but this is a 5 star hotel..... and it definitely is a nice hotel. But 5 star? I'm not so sure about that....

Will I go back... yeah, most probably will.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peermont, General Manager at Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are pleased that you found our establishment ‘comfortable’ , but we disappointed that you would not rate us 5 star.

We have compared our pricings with similar establishments locally, regionally and internationally and found us to be quite comparable if not ‘less expensive’.

We appreciate your feedback and would be delighted for you to visit us again.

Regards
Greg Soutter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Check in was very smooth and efficient. However, no info on WiFi connectivity in the room so had to walk back down to the reception to buy a voucher to connect. WiFi is extremely poor and could only work when i was in my bathroom which is next to the main door to the corridor. Couldn't get WiFi connectivity from anywhere else in the room (343). The room is clean and comfortable but quite old fashioned in terms of decor. Bed is very comfortable though. Mini bar prices extremely fair. Meals in the restaurants are good and reasonably priced. Overall, a good hotel but poor WiFi connectivity and procedure for access.

Room Tip: Ask which room has better WiFi connectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peermont, General Manager at Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Response to VMO Nairobi

The management and staff are grateful for your feedback and comments without which we would not be able to continually improve our service and facilities.
Thank you for highlighting the poor WIFI signal during your visit. As you have also indicated the room number we have been able to identify a faulty Access point which shall be rectified before the week end.
The WIFI collateral is also now available both at reception and in the Hotel rooms. We apologise for this oversight.
Your favourable comments regarding the Hotel pricing and the comfort of the Hotel bedrooms is appreciated.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Greg Soutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Over priced and one would expect to have wireless internet included at $200/day rack rate!
Especially as the Metcourt on the same property is only a third of the price.
Beef Baron Restaurant is always great to enjoy a good steak.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakedbeansjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is situated outside the city center. The rooms were neat and clean but is need of an upgrade for the price they charge. I find their rates quite excessive. Front desk staff was quite helpful. Special parking should be allocated to hotel guests. Guests are charged an entrance fee to the casino. No free wi fi and breakfast was quite expensive and is not added on when quoted for with the room charges.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the sister hotel Metcourt on previous visit but the room was too cramped, booked at the Walmont for a better experience but was not impressed. Old run down rooms, need a upgrade - the Metcourt was in better shape.
Nice view from the room of the pool area, good restaurants down stairs.
Bad bad news for business travellers, no free Wi-Fi, I had to pay for my 5 day stay and after 3 days the allocated time was up, the MB's is very expensive. So if you plan to do work after hours as I did, expect to pay additional 500 Pula

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
3.8 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 17 in Gaborone
406 reviews
3.3 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 17 in Gaborone
53 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gaborone
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm

Address: Molepolole Road, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $110 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the ultimate business and leisure experience...The luxury Walmont hotel at The Grand Palm offers 187 rooms and suites. The distinctive character and charm of this elegant hotel blends efficiency, comfort, luxury and privacy into absolute harmony - perfect for both business and leisure travellers. It is equipped with all the facilities and modern conveniences that discerning travellers have come to expect. Breakfast can be enjoyed at Mokolwane Bistro offering a sumptuous international buffet. The Executive 5th floor, with the exclusive Executive Club Lounge, offers the travelling executive unsurpassed business services. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, and variety of recreation facilities, as well as the magnificent banquet and convention facilities of the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC). Hotel features (188 rooms) 49 Deluxe twin rooms, 90 Deluxe queen rooms, 34 Executive rooms, 5 Premier suites, 8 Executive suites, 1 Presidential suite and 1 Special assistance room. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Walmont At The Grand Palm Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing