We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice grounds and pool, great breakfast, but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice grounds and pool, great breakfast, but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel while I was in Gaborone for business. It was booked and paid for by my host. It's supposed to be a 5-star hotel, and one of the best in the city. Front desk staff were variable, some tried to be helpful, others were downright rude and difficult. Problems started with check-in. The room was not ready, so we were told to try checking in in a few hours. I didn't understand why he could not check us in then and we would get the keys later when the room would be ready. Instead he just refused take our information until the room was ready. There was nobody at the bell desk and we had to look for him to check our bags with while we waited for the room. The front desk staff didn't offer to help with the bags. When we finally checked in, we found out that the AC was not functional, and the room was noisy because all the AC units for that section of the hotel were installed on the roof just beneath the window. I went back to change the room. I knew the receptionist who checked us in would not be helpful, so I waited for someone else. This person was helpful, she talked to the manager and changed our rooms. Unfortunately, the AC in the second room didn't work well either. The room remained hot during the day during our entire stay. Other than that, the rooms were fine.

There was a problem with payment. My host had prepaid for my stay, but the front desk staff claimed there were no instructions regarding that. My host came to the hotel with receipts and talked to the reservations manager. He was reassured that the problem would be fixed and the system would be updated. However it was not. It took me several visits to the front office and arguing with the manager to resolve the problem. I had to be pretty insistent.

My wife wanted to take a city tour, but when she inquired with the front desk, they were clueless. They suggested that she take a taxi and ask the driver to give her a tour.

Wifi was not free, but reasonably price. I worked well once I got the right code, but getting the right code took some effort. I needed an iron and ironing board from housekeeping, and that also took considerable effort.

Breakfast was excellent. Lunch was also good. The bar food was ok. Evening entertainment was nice (piano bar and a very good singer after dinner). The pool area and the grounds were also pleasant, but it was at times very difficult to get the attention of the waiters to order drinks and food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HakanE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    65
    28
    8
See reviews for
37
35
27
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A one night stop with a business group. After a day on the road, cold beers by the spacious pool were most welcome. The rooms were fine - well appointed and comfortable, also very clean. What really impressed our group was our dinner in the steak house. We found the food quality wonderful, as was the service. And at a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay again here for business, but note WiFi service is not very good. Staff were most helpful in all areas. The bar and longer area was cosy, with decent bar food served.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed as there are many vervet monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a genuinely acceptable business type hotel. For US readers, think Marriott or Sheraton, without the "brand rigor". Rooms are fine, four star business quality. Staff are genuinely helpful. I sorely needed an I Phone charger, long story, separated from luggage, dealing with crisis matters on low battery, and the staff here came through when many other hotels would not have. Thank you particularly to Katligo in Guest Relations for her help.

The food and bar here are genuinely good. Rooms OK, but they are renovating (August 2012). I myst thank the staff here however for helping me out when I really needed their help. On the basis of a comfortable place to stay with good standards of food and drink, decent rooms, and a very helpful staff, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

the first surprise is the address "Bonnington Farm" I am looking forward to cows and horses and the outdoors? maybe a lion or two. Well, well welcome to Las Vegas. Definitly not 3rd world, reception well oiled clean and neat with smiles all round and a see through lobby with an inviting glimps of a very neat and well kept swimming pool area. Brollies up , shaded tables, and long cool cocktails.
Fortunatly I did not come to Africa to sit on the internet, I came for sun shine ,blue skies and wide open spaces of which I got plenty.
The service at the pool did take a while but being hungry for a good lunch does seem to make time drag and the food was good and worth the wait.
I found the room a bit small compared to similar hotels but I was not there to have a party in my room, however would have liked a bit more space.
An uneventful check out with no problems even though it was early, the coffee was good.
The view from my room over the bush plains was very soothing and was overwhelmingly cluttered with blue sky and lots and lots of wide open Africa.
The roads are good , the city is clean , the people friendly and helpful.
As I find gambling a very expensive boreing waste of time, I did not go to the casino and therefore am unable to comment.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor, I think it was 517, was right next to the elevator but I was not bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drymen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am based in Gaborone, so it was a rare 'treat' to get to stay in the Grand Palm during a recent conference. I have been a few times for drinks and social, and couldn't complain, other than the external aesthetic which is dull but not really much that can be done.

The experience of staying here, however, dulled my excitement considerably. First, the highs: the dinner, lunch and breakfast buffets are decent, a diverse selection of well-prepared food - there's something for most tastes and appetites - the only danger being to take too much. The gardens are nice, the amenities reasonable, and the service is better than average for Gabs (though could be more efficient and attentive to detail). I also like that they offer free pick ups and drop offs to the airport - a big plus.

The disappointments, though, were quite fundamental - firstly, the front desk systems broke down 3 times during my stay causing significant disruption across the hotel; second, the hotel telephone system - which was supposed to be offline for 1 day for repairs - seemed to be broken for all 4 days; third, the noise from the bar and the lifts carries into the rooms, day and night, and disturbs sleep; fourth, the rooms - bedroom and bathroom - seem tired and in need of refit; fifth, the internet service is poor and grotesquely overpriced; sixth, the business centre in the next door convention centre were unable to properly handle a sizable but not ordinarily overbearing requirement for printing and copying (and the hours of business on the door are not the reality).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is by no means a a five star but it would be a very good 4 if it wasn't for a couple of issues.
The big issue here is unacceptably poor internet service that they have the temerity to charge huge prices for while it basically just doesn't work beyond very basic low bandwith use. Also the 15$ a day charge is per device and can only be transferred by logging off one device through a ridiculously bad password/ token system. The country has quite good broadband services so there is no excuse for this failing.

The rooms are a bit tired but with a new Lonhro hotel opening nearby there is a big refurb going on.

Other than that its a nice hotel the grounds are lovely and the staff, like everyone you meet in Botswana, are exceptionally nice and helpful. The food is above average. and their steakhouse restaurant is very good and very well run.

Room Tip: The refurb is being done floor by floor so look for a new room when they come onstream soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Comfortable rooms and public areas. Super convenient access to the adjacent conference centre. We ate there a couple of times and the food was good too. Service is a bit sluggish. WiFi is not free in the room, which is annoying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.9 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.3 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
3.6 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm

Property: Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm
Address: Molepolole Road, Gaborone, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the ultimate business and leisure experience...The luxury Walmont hotel at The Grand Palm offers 187 rooms and suites. The distinctive character and charm of this elegant hotel blends efficiency, comfort, luxury and privacy into absolute harmony - perfect for both business and leisure travellers. It is equipped with all the facilities and modern conveniences that discerning travellers have come to expect. Breakfast can be enjoyed at Mokolwane Bistro offering a sumptuous international buffet. The Executive 5th floor, with the exclusive Executive Club Lounge, offers the travelling executive unsurpassed business services. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, and variety of recreation facilities, as well as the magnificent banquet and convention facilities of the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC). Hotel features (188 rooms) 49 Deluxe twin rooms, 90 Deluxe queen rooms, 34 Executive rooms, 5 Premier suites, 8 Executive suites, 1 Presidential suite and 1 Special assistance room. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peermont Walmont at The Grand Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Walmont At The Grand Palm Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing