We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blemish on the Sun International Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently stayed for a third time at the Gaborone Sun. The only motivation to stay at this hotel is that it is centrally located and close to where we do business in Gaborone. The first stay was about two years ago and the recent stays during February and June 2014.

When I returned in February I was shocked to see how far this Hotel has gone down in the past two years. It looks and feels tired!

The luxury room size is OK and you have a choice of a room with a bath or a shower. On both the recent says I had two single beds in the room pushed together although the web pages shows a double bed as standard for a luxury room. Most of the TV channels are not tuned properly. Wi-Fi is free but terribly slow!

When one is travelling in other countries it is usually the safest to stay at your Hotel at night and to take dinner in the Hotel.

The Hotel has two restaurants. Most frequent the Savuti restaurant which offers a buffet dinner where you can have “an African experience”. If the Gaborone Sun wishes to call “stamp mealies”, “pap” and goat meat an African experience then it is just plain pathetic. It is not so much what is on the menu but also how it is prepared. In 2013 Sun International and Tsogo Sun chef Benny Masekwameng was a judge on Masterchef South Africa. He quickly became very popular with the TV audiences. His one saying was that food should be fresh and tasty. He had no hesitation to practice what he preaches regarding the contestants during the competition. I think he would be horrified to dine at the Savuti restaurant with its stale, dry and unimaginative food and offerings. The Gaborone Sun chef or his GM would not have lasted one round in Masterchef SA.

During the most recent stay there was no hot winter in the morning and this is in the middle of winter. No warning, no apology.

The reception staff is just plain rude. Whilst busy checking out another patron approached the reception staff in a loud voice in their own language. A manager then instructed the staff member assisting me to help this patron. He then continued to assist me but within a minute another patron engaged him in their own language and I was “handed” over to another staff member. I complained and then the staff member who started to help me was instructed to help me again.

I am sure that for about R 2 000.00 (about US$ 200.00) (excluding dinner) per person per night one must be able to do better in Gaborone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank knowtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Not the fastest check in. Hotel dinner was excellent with friendly and efficient waiters. Rooms are perfect and very well equipped. Dinner at "Mahogany's" was outstanding, service was a bit slow with the restaurant only 25% occupied. Live piano player creates an unique ambiance. Breakfast caters for all needs, loved the "mountains" of salmon! Wifi was easy to connect to and worked fine. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Amp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited Gaborone for business purpose and stayed at this hotel for a month. First of all, I would like to clarify to all that not all countries in Africa are as bad as it seems for the outer world. After my visit to Botswana, I can say that this country is awesome, people are friendly, cooperative and decent. One thing, which is atleast missing in my country, is that people follow traffic rules. I loved the weather, moderate temperature and pleasant looking sky all the time. Now let's come to the hotel experience, it's a nice hotel with decent rooms, staffs are cooperative. I haven't had any problem in communication or anything else. Hotel has every amenity that one requires, be it gym, swimming pool, casino, bar etc. I'd like to stay here if I get another chance to visit Botswana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn14786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is in dire need of modernisation, but one could look past that if other factors fell in place. The hotel is central and that is its main attraction.

Cleanliness - there is a no-care attitude to detail. On check in, some furniture in my room was moved skew. I also picked up a coin on the carpet from the previous guest, so the room was definitely not vacuumed. What else was not done?

Staff - friendly, but in need of training. Especially the breakfast staff lack a certain refinement on how to handle guests.

My biggest problem with this hotel is that it is over-run by prostitutes at night. Especially the bar and restaurant areas. My male colleagues even had knocks on their doors by ladies offering services! This is clearly an "inside job" from someone on reception releasing a guest list, as females are never bothered. Trying to discuss this with the GM or his team is impossible, as he seems to arrive after we have left for the day and is gone by the time we return. Really not what I would expect from a hotelier. This also happened on more than one occasion and a few individuals tried to contact management.

The Gabs Sun had a great run, but there is now a far wider choice available in Gaborone. The Sun really need to "up its game" if it wants to keep guests at these superior rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sashaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Sashaviv
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Although not always pleasant, we, as operators need to be made aware. The fact that you were unable to meet with either myself or any other management is a serious concern. My e-mail address is: derick.vdnest@suninternational.com and my direct line is +267 361 6100.
Sincerely
Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service was brilliant from the time we drove in, checked in, got into our rooms, at the casino, in fact everywhere. Negatives - signage to the hotel on the main road is non existent. We missed the hotel twice. Needs a refurbishment everywhere. Once refurbished it could turn out to be spectacular.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from main road. Can be noisy with the traffic. Luckily we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at the Gaborone Sun again and it's still pretty decent, good food, good central location and nice common areas. The rooms need a refurb though, they are getting very tired. Staff are generally friendly and the reception seems to be getting more efficient.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the carpark facing rooms. Ask for pool facing or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel charming with a good clean room.
The gardens and pool area are well maintained and a pleasure to sit in.
We ate in both the a la carte and buffet restaurants our preference the former super food and little price difference.
The location was good for exploring the city, we were self driving.
All the staff were great and an example of Botswanan hospitality.
We would return here after thoroughly enjoying our stay.
We visited the casino one night and enjoyed the experience.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Annepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gaborone
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#12 of 17 in Gaborone
46 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#7 of 17 in Gaborone
52 reviews
6.5 mi away
Room 50 Two
Room 50 Two
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $169 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing