We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor management”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is in dire need of modernisation, but one could look past that if other factors fell in place. The hotel is central and that is its main attraction.

Cleanliness - there is a no-care attitude to detail. On check in, some furniture in my room was moved skew. I also picked up a coin on the carpet from the previous guest, so the room was definitely not vacuumed. What else was not done?

Staff - friendly, but in need of training. Especially the breakfast staff lack a certain refinement on how to handle guests.

My biggest problem with this hotel is that it is over-run by prostitutes at night. Especially the bar and restaurant areas. My male colleagues even had knocks on their doors by ladies offering services! This is clearly an "inside job" from someone on reception releasing a guest list, as females are never bothered. Trying to discuss this with the GM or his team is impossible, as he seems to arrive after we have left for the day and is gone by the time we return. Really not what I would expect from a hotelier. This also happened on more than one occasion and a few individuals tried to contact management.

The Gabs Sun had a great run, but there is now a far wider choice available in Gaborone. The Sun really need to "up its game" if it wants to keep guests at these superior rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sashaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sashaviv
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Although not always pleasant, we, as operators need to be made aware. The fact that you were unable to meet with either myself or any other management is a serious concern. My e-mail address is: derick.vdnest@suninternational.com and my direct line is +267 361 6100.
Sincerely
Derick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    146
    99
    27
    8
See reviews for
12
28
21
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service was brilliant from the time we drove in, checked in, got into our rooms, at the casino, in fact everywhere. Negatives - signage to the hotel on the main road is non existent. We missed the hotel twice. Needs a refurbishment everywhere. Once refurbished it could turn out to be spectacular.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from main road. Can be noisy with the traffic. Luckily we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
273 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at the Gaborone Sun again and it's still pretty decent, good food, good central location and nice common areas. The rooms need a refurb though, they are getting very tired. Staff are generally friendly and the reception seems to be getting more efficient.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the carpark facing rooms. Ask for pool facing or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel charming with a good clean room.
The gardens and pool area are well maintained and a pleasure to sit in.
We ate in both the a la carte and buffet restaurants our preference the former super food and little price difference.
The location was good for exploring the city, we were self driving.
All the staff were great and an example of Botswanan hospitality.
We would return here after thoroughly enjoying our stay.
We visited the casino one night and enjoyed the experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Quick checking on arrival. Room was clean, neat and had all the necessities. Wifi was free but extremely slow. Excellent restaurants on the hotels premises. Full English breakfast was great. No problems when checking. Overall was good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis-seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

well here are where things take a down turn. but first lets discuss some good "things" with this hotel. Staff very nice and friendly all of them, well most of them, tell you later. Colonial style hotel, boy can you ever tell the colonial design, can be very nice to review as you dont see many of these any more. Ok, now for the not so good stuff! head to my room after checking in, only to find the chamber maids having a littel "get together" in my room, sitting on the bed, TV on, chairs etc, they scatter when I knock on the door. then we have just the poor layout of the room, but it is an old hotel, the mold in the washroom over the shower, not impressed, and a very small shower, again, old hotel, then they put me in the furthest room in the hotel, should have asked for a shuttle service! And then the prostitutes in the casino and the parking lot, in room coffee pot that did not work

Room Tip: dont know if there are any good rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good_time_Ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to write the review on our property. Although it is not what we want to hear, it is what we need to hear. Receiving objective comments from our guests, whether good or not so good, will assist us in making the changes needed to ensure that all future and returning guests will have the best experience we can possibly offer.

Sincerely

Derick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Gaborone can be all things to all men and the Gaborone sun boasts, " A Million Thrills one destination" - a slight but forgivable exaggeration.
From the moment you arrive in the hotels compound you know that you are going to enjoy your stay.
The drop off point at the front entrance is undercover protecting you from the extreme elements and the waiting valets immediately take care of your luggage and it is no longer your responsibility, it is safely and efficiently delivered to your room.
The hotel itself greets you with a very welcoming air conditioned foyer and your booking is efficiently handled by a professional team of receptionists.
The accommodation is both spacious and comfortable.
The grounds are well maintained and very pleasant to stroll around, what is very interesting is that within the grounds is a branch of Barclays Bank!!!!
What is stated on the hotel's web site is no exaggeration, "What it says on the outside of the tin is exactly what is inside the tin".
There is a small gymnasium, two squash courts and flood lit tennis courts, along with a decent sized swimming pool which is serviced by an efficiently run bar serving a range of drinks snacks and meals
The hotel also has two other restaurants both of which are well worth sampling if you are wanting to dine in a more conducive atmosphere.
What I do like about this hotel is that it has a casino and they charge you an entrance fee to go and loose your money, which is a sure way to keep me out of that particular venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Property: AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing