We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refresh but still very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The buffet selection of food (breakfast and dinner) is quite adequate with plenty of choice to cater for all tastes. Their selection at the poolside and restaurant is also very good - although my steak was rather tough.
The hotel does need a refresh though as it feels dated and faded in places.
Staff are very friedly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesKat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is not only a hotel but act as center of entertaining in Gaborone. It has couple of good restaurants, a casino and a golf course.
Rooms are little bit out dated but its still comfortable and staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: You get free Wi-Fi in your room but you might have hard time connecting when everyone else is using...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Gaborone Sun does not deserve half its four stars and VERY expensive for what you get.
The good:
- The lunch served at the poolside bar was very good and I can recommend the curry
The bad:
- When I arrived at the airport there was no-one to pick me up and when I enquired about it, the staff seemed indifferent.
- The décor is very old and dilapidated
- The place smelled of stale cigarette smoke
- The sliding door of my room leading to the garden was permanently locked
- The air-conditioner filter has not been serviced in ages and the room was therefore very dusty
- The breakfast was terrible and the coffee old
If you can, I recommend you find a better hotel in Gaborone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on two different occasions, each time for one week. Both rooms were comfortable but a bit outdated. The AC worked efficiently but it was noisy. The bathrooms were old fashioned but perfectly adequate. Housekeeping was good although once or twice they did not come to turn down the bed at night. Staff in general was pleasant and helpful.Problems were taken care of quickly and efficiently. Service around the swimming pool could have been a bit better. I always had to go and find someone to serve me there rather than have them come and ask if i wanted anything. The grounds are beautiful, especially the "hidden garden" at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was really excellent. The departure times for the airport shuttle were a little inconvenient and I ended up taking a taxi both times.

Room Tip: I had been warned that rooms facing the swimming pool were noisy but I found that by 11 pm there was...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel has nice comfy places to sit and have a drink/bar food. Most of the staff are lovely, and the selection of food at breakfast and at the evening buffet is very good. The swimming pool is a bit of a dead loss (unless you like people watching you swim!) as it is overlooked by the bar. The rooms are fine and big, but not great if you need to work, as there's no central light (.. and some of the lamps didn't work when I was there). One really nice touch - complementary ironing (2 items) was offered on arrival! I'd probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to overlook the swimming pool (instead of the car park).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EIAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived very early but the staff at reception just smiled and said it was OK - there is a room ready for us. We could choose between bath and shower. All staff were very friendly, the room nice and the breakfast excellent. View either the car park or the swimming pool. We enjoyed the stay a lot. Near the university of Botswana and a game park also very near to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

i belive the business traveler will find a hotel that is ok for short stay. complementary pick up and drop at airport is good. nice people in checkin area. room is nice with good flat screen tv. but my room was not clean upon arrival, no water running for several hours. the staff in resturant of hotel where a bit rude in the fin dining area. very nice relaxing garden and poolarea and poolbar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#12 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $169 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing