We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been staying at Gaborone Sun for most of my trips and really enjoyed my stay then. Now the service has gone down below my expectations except at the reception. The rooms are not well cleaned, bath is too small. The menu options are limited (same meal every day).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location, quality of sleep, nice hotel - plus points. Attention to detail is what is lacking - broken lamps, telephone cord not plugged in - small things that can easily be fixed if they focus on it. The breakfast and the Mahogany restaurant - very enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Must-see-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When you check in a “Sun” property you very much know what to expect and this one does not disappoint you for sure. The rooms are spacious, good view if you are lucky to get a pool side view and a nice bar. The menu options are limited but still good. The service and attitude of staff is very good; could be a bit slow at times but customer is helped at all times and that too with a smile.

Room Tip: take a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthDhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Gabsun is a nice hotel which is very close to business district. The rooms are small but cosy. Golf course is added advantage for corporate travellers. Rooms nearby the restaurant/swimming pool have to facelot of disturbence particularly on weekend evenings. Even wifi connevctivity was an issue in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnilBholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Upon our arrival at the hotel, there was a rather unfriendly looking receptionist behind the counter. There was also nobody available to assist us with our luggage. This was however our only negative experience of this hotel. In general, most staff members appeared to be genuinely friendly and professional.
We were allocated a room in the Mophane section, and found it to be neat and clean and pleasing to the eye, with the décor of a very high standard.
Their restaurants provide the finest dining experience. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the Mahogany Restaurant. The food quality combined with the very good service received makes this one of our favourite dining venues world wide. With Botswana being recognized as one of the best beef producers in Africa, the steaks served there really live up to the standard. We also attended the buffet breakfast and dinner at the Savuti restaurant, where we also experienced the food and service to be of very high standard.
My wife and I also spent some time at the pool terrace, where we found the staff friendly and attentive to our needs as guests.
Like all other Sun International Hotels, their casino was professionally run by friendly and very efficient staff.
We would most certainly visit the hotel again and recommend it to associates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had not been to Gab's for years as I never had a reason to visit till the CHAN game between Botswana and Zambia, stayed at this Hotel and it was a pleasant stay, off course the Hotel has seen better days but still it was comfortable and fit for the purpose. The staff were very friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast the usual Sun International fill up. The casino adds cream on the cake as with the new stringent Botswana alcohol Laws it's the only place in Gabs that is open late.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days while working.

Enjoyed my stay -- my room (close to reception on 2nd floor) was large and clean (a bit dark), bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet except for a crazy flock of birds every dusk. The breakfast buffet was absolutely over-the-top in terms of selection. Ate at the terrace pub most nights -- unspectacular but decent food. Nice to have the gym, although only one treadmill was in working order when I stayed.

Location is remote from city amenities if you don't have a car, but that's like most hotels in Gabs.

Biggest complaint was the expensive and poor WiFi, but that sounds typical of Gaborone too, rather than specific to this hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finny442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
208 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 17 in Gaborone
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Room 50 Two
Room 50 Two
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gaborone
21 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gaborone
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $165 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing