We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Not bad considering Africa, should be better considering Botswana!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierfrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel features a casino, hairdresser and two restaurants. The rooms are spacious but the interior is average if you compare it to other hotels in western cities. We had a great lunch at the restaurant next to the pool.

You will also find a shopping mall nearby. The more formal restaurant has limited seating and booking is sometimes required. I did not enjoy the traditional dish with the kudu game meat that much. The amosphere in this restaurant is great and they have live music from time to time.

The buffet breakfast is very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Sun Hotel is a pleasant place to stay in Gaborone and offers nice opportunities for relaxation and recreation. The hotel is nicely laid out though its best rooms are in the annex wing where executive rooms and suites are offered. Next door is the golf course that can be accessed by a 5 minute walk to the 1st tee. Within the hotel is a conference center, casino, and buffet. A pool, pool bar and outside dining are offered. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly from the reception to the housekeeping personnel. Restaurant dining is OK, but limited. This hotel is frequented by visitors, locals, dignitaries, and long-time guests. Most of the staff have been with the hotel for many years and it shows. Attention is a prime reason for the great stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed twice here in transit to Maun.

The hotel shuttle from the airport is very poor. They wait for several flights (GBE airport is VERY quiet) before transferring you to the hotel. The first time we waited 45 minutes, then gave up and took a taxi. The second time no one was there so we took a taxi.

The rooms need to be modernized. The TV is old, and the furniture feels worn. Our second stay there was a party on the lawns which we were told would end at 10.00 pm. This it did, but then the staff clearing was noisy till 1am.

Service is very slow. We ate in the fine dining, buffet breakfast, and by the pool. By the pool it was quicker to go to the bar and make your own order. The staff just seemed to be floating, but not really doing anything. Food was good.

I am not sure I would go back to this hotel, as there are other cheaper choices in Gabs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Gabarone is beautiful. The city is bustling, with new buildings rising like mushrooms all over. Traffic is becoming a nightmare because of the expansion, I think, but the expansion is needed to put new hotels in place.
The staff at the Gaborone Sun are friendly, English and quick to respond to any problems. I did have a power failure in my room when I touched a standing lamp, but the electrician was there in minutes to solve the issue.
The airconditioning is poor. I don't understand how a Sun International hotel can let things go like that, but I was uncomfortable at night, even with the aircon running at full blast. Opening a window was not an option.
At more than $200 a night, I'm sure better options are available. Breakfast was not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinusdeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is comfortable although looking a little dated and in need of some modernising. The rooms are large and comfortable, but the airconditioner is one of the very old, VERY noisy types so could not be left on. I couldn't open my window either, as the bar was opposite and was a bit noisy. Luckily it was not too hot!

The price was fair for the type of hotel (on a corporate rate, anyway).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Every time I'm in Gaborone for business I stay at the Gaborone Sun - I feel very much at home there. I love the rooms - very clean and comfortable. My only criticism is the size of the desk, I wish they were larger for working. Great hospitality, good restaurant onsite (I always enjoy the buffet breakfast spread), and I love the outdoor eating area and courtyard. I usually avoid the casino (the crowd can be a bit questionable) but overall I've been very pleased with my stays and I'll continue to go to this hotel during future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_momentum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.6 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#9 of 16 in Gaborone
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#12 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $169 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing