We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly good place to stay”
Review of Mokolodi House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mokolodi House
Ranked #3 of 70 Gaborone B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just finished a two night stay at Mokolodi House and it was almost faultless. Wonderful building set in an incredible panoramic location with great dawns and sunsets. Staff are great and very welcoming with plenty of kindness. The room was good and well maintained wit a lovely terrace to sit out on and admire the view. And I agree with those people who say that the photos do not do it justice - think of it more as a homestead than a B&B. It is about 10ks from Gabs, but it is a quick road into town so less of an issue...

Wifi worked brilliantly. No issues there for me. And it's free.

On the slight downside, there was no shower in my room (Hippo Room), but that's about it. For the money an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButchandSundanceLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Mokolodi House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

All the hotels in Gaborone were full this week, so my PA booked me at the Molokodi House for three nights. I was busy, so I arrived late and departed early every day.
Staff is excellent, coffee is good! My bed was very good, in a comfortable (not luxurious) setting, large room. This is more a very very big house than an hotel (it's not an hotel really). They arranged a taxi when needed, were there when I arrived at 10pm the first night, called me by my first name right away - so i felt a bit like visiting relatives. Don't mind the wildlife, because you will have birds scratching the roof at 6am.
On the negatives - I can't really be on a business trip without excellent Internet access, let alone mobile phone coverage. I had none the first evening (yes between 10pm and midnight, it counts). All fine in the morning - nothing to do with Molokodi House, but they are in the wild so it sometimes goes down. Good internet connection (speedy) when it works. No room service (where do you get your white shirt pressed for the next important meeting?). Continental breakfast only (fine with me, but be warned no saussages). Finally it's a 25min drive from city centre, costing you about BWP150 each way (GBP15), so it adds up.
Overall "average to good". Probably much better if you are on a break, visiting the Reserve (same name) nearby. They say they can organise mini safaris for you too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on a recent business trip to Gaborone - made the choice on the basis of other Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. An incredibly peaceful place that makes one feel at home. Great staff - and a totally relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast on the deck in a cool morning breeze, the sound of the many birds, the two dogs at your feet: I cannot wait to get back there without having to travel into the city each morning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cees45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeroen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The house and property are truly beautiful! It gave us the chance to get some very needed rest. The rooms and facilities are spacious and clean. There's an honor bar, small pool, several living rooms, huge bathtub, and magnificent view. I'd live there if I could! The staff were warm and friendly too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been lodging at Mokolodi House since 2010 on many occasions and often for may days.

For me this is the best place to stay in Gaborone.

Very friendly and hospitable hosts
Tranquile and secure setting
Gorgeous architecture
Close to Mokolodi Nature Reserve and Restaurant (see separate review)

I can only recommend it (or shouldn't I, so that it remains a secret:-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place needs more advertisement.It is completely breathe taking,spacious and truly elegant.It is very peaceful and pleasant for a weekend gateway or a vacation spot for the single,married young or old who are looking for something different,unique and intimate.I love the rooms especially the decor.The style of the decor is very homey and welcoming.The reception from the staff is excellent i felt welcomed and taken care of during my stay there.You have the whole house to yourselves,you can do your own cooking and even have a braai. The breakfast for me was excellent and different, very healthy considering i love my junk food.The mokolodi reserve restaurant is a walking distance from the house.The place is very secure.The grounds are magnificent as well as the surrounding vegetation.Truly a majestic place because you can sleep for days and you would not want to be woken up.The place is a short drive from the city were you would want to get your take-away and cinemas but when you get to the house you will not want to leave!!!!There is a bar, pool, free wi-fi and games room completely at your disposal.The books at the library are inspirational and i found a book that really i feel is going to change my life. The owners personality complements the house.I plan to make frequent visits to this place for a peace of mind.Thank you Mokolodi house for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The room i slept in was called Kubu.Very intimate and peaceful and romantic i regret going there alo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank One M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.2 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
396 reviews
677.9 mi away
StayWell Hotels
StayWell Hotels
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
25 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
2.1 mi away
The Capital Guesthouse
The Capital Guesthouse
#1 of 70 in Gaborone
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berry Bliss Guest House
Berry Bliss Guest House
#14 of 70 in Gaborone
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokolodi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokolodi House

Address: Plot 758 | Mokolodi 2, Gaborone, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Gaborone
Price Range: $104 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mokolodi House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokolodi House offers both business and leisure travelers to Botswana an opportunity to experience real Botswana Bush while still staying close to the city centre Gaborone for convenience. Nestled on 5 hectares among the Mokolodi hills, the House caters to travelers seeking luxury accommodation with a difference: tranquil, opulent, African bush! With the malaria-free Mokolodi Nature Reserve on its door step, guests can indulge in a variety of activities including game drives, rhino tracking, cheetah visits, horse riding and bush braais. Free high speed internet available. Breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mokolodi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing