We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular location”

Mokolodi Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Gaborone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, German
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A spectacular location”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's the location that makes it work. I've lost count of the number of times that rhinos turn up while you're eating, they're often within reach. Even without wildlife eating outdoors here on a warm evening is wonderful. The food's good, but certainly not cheap. The sort of place you take visitors to Botswana

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardHarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    90
    24
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Execeptional customer service . Waiters warm and attentive .. Good for family outing specially on weekends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WildOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go for the food and the view”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very few places in Gaborone offer the charm of the restaurant in Mokolodi. Being based on the edge of a game reserve works beautifully in it's favour as the views are of the bush and hills in the distance with a small watering hole up close where one hopes a buck or rhino might decide to wander down to join in with sundowners.

Waiting staff are friendly and efficient, the food is a good quality and reasonably priced. My mother, a Gaborone resident, insists they have the best fish and chips in town. Whilst I can't say I've sampled too much seafood in Gabs - the fish and chips offered by Mokolodi was indeed delicious.

The portion sizes are generous, including the starter portions which could easily serve two as a starter or one as a main.

The ONLY word of warning is... the price of liquor. Wine is very pricey here!! I would quite simply not buy a bottle. As is just about any other alcoholic drink, if I remember correctly the cost of a single gin and tonic was P29. Eeek. I hasten to add that this is a typical problem in Botswana generally due to the very high taxes for alcohol.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food didn't taste very good,but the waiter was very kind and she always always had a smile on her face and a happy tone! The rest of my family loved the food, but I ordered the penne carbonara and was very creamy and it had way to much cheese! But the reptile park was very fascinating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Champpuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Peter the owner is lovely, the staff are fantastic and the food is wonderful. I recommend the oxtail or the pork knuckle for those with big appetites ad the portion is huge. For fish lovers the trout is nice and so are the prawns. I love that you can also ask for your preference- brown rice rather than white rice, steamed veg rather than creamed veg. Ambiance fantastic. So beautiful to see animals from the reserve just casual drift by sometimes

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokolodi Restaurant also viewed

Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 
Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 
Gaborone, South-East District
Gaborone, South-East District
 

Been to Mokolodi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing