We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant and would love to go back”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Geneally great place. Fabulous well spaced rooms. I liked the bathroom opening up into the room. Fantastic golf course with Great walkway which should be updated with signage as to distance from hotel and directions in case one gets caught up for time. The service could improve and be better. On one day, the soap and bath towels were not replenished. Also for the sun facing rooms, the creeps need to be better at reflecting the sun's rays. All in all, would go back, as it's tranquil and we received the most helpful service when we needed a quick checked from the manager. Good bar and some fab cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azikag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Azikag,

Thanks for your great comments, we appreciate them!
The bathroom opening up into the room indeed gives a very spacious feel to the room. I have passed on your comments regarding replenishment of bathroom amenities and towels to our Rooms Division Manager. I am especially pleased you enjoyed our Cocktail menu, we pride ourselves being the only establishment in Botswana that serves Pinky Vodka, Snowleopard Vodka and our bartenders make some very exotic drinks with other Super Premium brands as well! Thanks again!

Bram Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    74
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
19
4
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place to enjoy your holiday. Few places on earth offer such tranquility, yet so much is happening around. The rooms are first class and have all essential services available even for the most sophisticated traveller.
The WiFi was slow or unavailable, but I guess there will be improvement on that.
A real nice hotel to stay while you visit Botswana.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruzemvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Ruzemvya,

Thank you so much for your response. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your words describe an oasis of tranquility and that is exactly what we are aiming for. I will share your comments regarding the WIFI with our IT professionals, so we can tackle that issue immediately.

We are also proud to announce that for the second consecutive year Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort has scooped the "Botswana's Leading Hotel" Award at the World Travel Awards.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here one night for a business conference. The facility, common areas, and guest rooms were very clean and up to date. I did not use the pool, but wanted to. I had a view of the pool from my room, and it looked very inviting. The staff was pleasant and provided good service. I would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Kim C,

Thank you for your kind comments. We always appreciate any feedback from our guests and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your remarks to our entire team here at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great room, very clean, good amenities though when we stayed the water pressure was low due to city council upgrades. Staff in the hotel even waited for me to return to clean the room because I forgot my do not disturb sign on. Overall a great hotel with a great view over the golf course. The resturant was well stocked with an impressive range of wine and the food taste was good with an excellent range of choices. The service was slow, real slow. It's Botswana most people would say, there is no rush here. Overall a great stay and you adapt to where you are.

Room Tip: Get a groud floor room, it's great to walk out onto the grass and pool area or just sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Maputo,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the hotel rooms and the quality and variety of wines and food on the Drotsky's menu. As you might have noticed we have one page of the menu with Specialities on the menu, which we are changing weekly to keep a good variety.

I am sorry to hear that the service on the day was very slow. I will revisit this with my team this afternoon when I will host our monthly meeting, in which we will also conduct some training especially in customer service.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

my second time in a row to stay in this Hotel, a very FAB PAD in the middle of desert, product and amenities par excellence to international level and standard , but this time around service was indifferent with management rude and unhelpful, that being the case i would not least expect anything better from their lower level staff.

to give you an example, how can room service send you hot food without cuttlery and condiments especially so the kitchen is a good ten minutes walk away?

why would the hotel agree to your requests and the next the managemnt decides to be indeffenrent?

the upside was Simon, The IT guru, he was FANTASTIC, he sorted wifi setting on my laptop. so i was back to business as usual , in a hotel room which was exactly like any other anywhere else in the world connected to my office and staff back home.

i would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who is NOT as demanding NOR fussy about service and customer care.

perfect place to Golf or get Holed up in a FAB boutique hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustafaHassanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear MustafaHasanali,

Thank you for your review. We always strive to improve our service and your comments are a valuable tool to us. I apologize you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us and the rude management especially concerns me. If you wish to elaborate further regarding your remarks, please don't hesitate to contact me on bhendriks@phakalane.co.bw.

I have spoken to my roomservice team regarding the lapse in basic service and we are working on an improvement plan. Thanks again for pointing out the flaws.

Let me pass on your nice comments to Simon, who is indeed very helpful and customer focused. Let me know when you are visiting next time and we can have a coffee together and discuss any comments.

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a gem in Gaborone. I loved staying in this hotel. The staff is friendly, very professional and extremely helpful. The rooms are big and very modern. The rooms are clean and has a flatscreen television to keep you entertained. I will stay here again any day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear RenaChristo,

We are very excited that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I personally like to thank you for you kind remarks. I have passed on your comments to our staff and have posted your review on the notice board of our staff canteen.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is my first stay at the Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel. It's nicely appointed - not outstanding - however, it is good by Botswana standards. The hotel is comfortable, clean, with lovely views from the rooms (if you are on the side facing the golf course; other side looks over the parking lot) and it's possible to go for long walks or runs in a safe environment. I enjoyed the sushi for lunch in their restaurant. Breakfast is a bit chaotic and you have to request the toast which takes forever, but if you don't have a schedule to keep early in the morning, it is fine. My husband is a frequent traveler to Botswana and cannot figure out why they don't put a couple of toasters out by the buffet for guests to make their own toast as every time he goes for breakfast he has the same experience.

The showers are very poorly thought out. The shower head faces the door and so when you turn on the tap, the water shoots out into the bathroom. I ended up taking a bath because the shower was flooding the floor while I was trying to figure out which direction was hot and which cold (not marked on the tap). I was in a rush and didn't want to wait for extra towels to be delivered if I used all of them to soak up the water on the floor.

I found the staff to be quite helpful.

A drawback is that there is no ATM machine on the premises. I arrived without any pula because I just assumed I could get some at the hotel or nearby but the closest place is around 2 km away.

Overall, I can recommend the place and would/will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Danette D,

Thank you for chosing Phakalane as your destination during your recent vist from Namibia.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the sushi for lunch. I have taken your breakfast comments into consideration and we are in the process of upgrading our buffet selection. Both the new Executive Chef and I have worked with Hilton in the past and we have updated our breakfast buffet to international standards.

I 100% agree with the "toast issue" at breakfast and we have invested in a new commercial rotary toaster, which will be here next week and will illiminate your early morning frustrations regarding toast.

Regarding the showers, unfortunately there is not much I can do about that at the moment.

I have passed on your recommendation of the ATM to the owners. Until we sort this out, please ask the hotel driver to take you to the nearest ATM's at Mowane Shopping Centre, app 3 minutes drive, which he will be happy to do free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon!

With best regards,

Bram Hendriks
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
6.2 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
7.3 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
372 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
180 reviews
7.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
6.9 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort

Property: Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort
Address: Plot 54791, Golf Drive Phakalane, Gaborone 1000, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort is a 4 star resort located in the heart of Gaborone's premier Golf Estate, which encompasses spacious accommodation of a Hotel as well as luxurious self serviced apartments with extraordinary panoramic views of its international 18 hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HRS, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing