We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous chilled place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaborone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mokolodi Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous chilled place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were very fortunate to find this place online. We had initially booked two nights but loved it there so much that we ended up staying 5 nights.

Mokolodi is about 13kms south of Gaborone. It has a quiet, relaxed, welcoming vibe and the facilities are great, including a braai area and a lovely pool. There are also animals (two friendly dogs, two lovely little cats, chickens wandering about the place, a pot bellied pig) around the place which we loved and spent much time with the dogs keeping us company when having a braai - they fancied steak. There are various high quality accommodation options available such as twins, dorm type chalets, tents, private chalets and a rondavel. We stayed in the rondavel which was wonderful. It was cool, spacious, very well appointed and clean, with en suite facilities. The grounds and common areas are also very well maintained and great care is taken by the gardener to make the place look lovely.

The staff, i.e. Pinky and colleagues and the manager Hendrik were friendly, welcoming, efficient and helpful. While Mokolodi refers to itself as a backpackers it feels high end, while being affordable and of great value (our accommodation worked out at about 40 GBP per night for us both).

Highly recommended place to stay, would love to return some day.

On a related note, the backpackers was a very short distance (1.5km) from the Mokolodi Game reserve where a number of interesting activities are available. We did an escorted game drive for 2hrs at dusk with a lovely guy called Leonard. We had great fun and the activity was excellent value at 140 pula for each person. By the way, there is also a great restaurant on the reserve and the food is divine, although cocktail availability was limited.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
18
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here during my overland trip across Africa. A great hostel with very friendly staff. Hendrik, the owner, has a very fastidious eye for cleanliness and takes great pride in keeping the place to the highest standard. The buses run quite often just 5 minutes walk from the hostel and take you to the centre of Gaborone just 10 minutes drive away. They don't serve food for guests here, but a restaurant at the nature reserve just 5 minutes drive up the road has a fantastic range of dishes which I'd recommend visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here fro 3 nights back in April and had a really nice time. Then yesterday, I found myself a little stuck in Gabs, so called these guys around 3pm on Saturday afternoon. The had a bed for me, and could pick me up from the airport for a sensible fee, which arrived spot on time, no problem. I arrived at 8.30pm, was shown my nice, clean, comfortable room, and I went and made myself a nice free cup of tea in their spotless kitchen, had a little dip in their cooling pool and slept safe and sound in my bed. Then this morning, I paid my P185 and they arranged me another safe, reasonable, prompt lift to the border. I would not book a 7 days holiday here, but would, and probably will very happily go here again and again for a night or 2. Great stuff - keep up the good work - thanks for all your help Kelly x

Room Tip: Any - I requested a dorm and got it to myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T419KG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Owner was friendly and helpful. Great communal kitchen (how often can you say that?) with clean bathroom facilities. The camping area, isn't quite a camping area, but considering we just needed somewhere to pitch a tent, it suited us fine. Great location is you wanting to go into Mokolodi Game Reserve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank necam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved this little hostel of impressively clean, tastefully-decorated huts and facilities (thank you so much for the very clean, nice bathrooms, too!) . The animals were a nice touch, and the staff were great! For the price, a terrific deal, though you'll need to either hitchhike your way between the town centre and there, or factor in some taxi money for that. There's a nature reserve not far from Mokolodi Backpackers, which is a nice plus.

Room Tip: Further from the shared kitchen area is quieter at night, though ppl are generally courteous and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The venue is about a 5 minute drive from Gaberone, a bit hard to find with no signage available, and at the end of the a dust street, again with no sign out front (perhaps for security?). The venue is almost typical of an African "kraal" or community of huts, with the different pricing groups separated into enclaved sections.

We paid for the private chalet and everything to do with the accommodation was in order. It was tastefully decorated and clean, with private bathroom and kitchen stocked with some bare essentials and suitable utilities. Adapters were included in the rooms and daily service ensured the rooms were neat.

Apart from the trick of finding the place, the hassle was more about the administrative confusion - we did arrive late, but over the two days it was really confusing to find someone in charge to make payment. My other slight gripe is that the communal feel of a backpacker was a short of the top offerings. There seem to be parts of the property that are off limit and we ended up watching movies on our phones in our bedrooms, because there was nothing obvious to do.

Overall though, keeping in mind that you're in a third world country, I have no qualms recommending Mokolodi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erichero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
329 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins at Mokolodi and were very impressed with the whole experience. Although the property is about 10km out of Gaborone, we thought the location was excellent. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful and only a short walk from the Mokolodi nature reserve. We found a number of walking/running trails in the bush around the hotel and went for some good hikes and runs during our stay.

Our room was a beautiful African style rondavel complete with ensuite bathroom and a kitchenette. The room was very airy and had nice furniture and fittings, was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. There was no TV but the AC unit worked really well. Internet is generally available however we arrived the day after a wind storm which knocked out the comms tower. Hopefully it’ll be up and running soon.

The hotel grounds are really nice – mature trees and colorful gardens all centered around an inviting pool in the center of the courtyard. A menagerie of domestic animals roam around the grounds – dogs, cats, pig, and various birds – all friendly and quiet. This was a big bonus for us. The place appeared to be very secure, surrounded by a wall, electric fence and remote controlled gate, although I don’t really think it was all necessary. The hosts were very friendly and helped us out with all our questions.

They advertize camping on the grounds, but I think we would’ve been disappointed if we had planned on camping. The camping area seemed fairly cramped and confined, not really designed for campers. However it may be better than the alternatives in Gaborone.

Overall, we could find very little to fault the place and would definitely recommend it to other travelers. If we were passing this way again, we would definitely stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
7.7 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
8.0 mi away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
8.9 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
#9 of 16 in Gaborone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.9 mi away
Oasis Motel
Oasis Motel
#25 of 58 in Gaborone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.9 mi away
Brackendene Lodge
Brackendene Lodge
#14 of 76 in Gaborone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokolodi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokolodi Backpackers

Property: Mokolodi Backpackers
Address: Plot 86 | Mokolodi II, Gaborone 0000, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers’ accommodation consists of 2 private Chalets which sleeps up to 2 persons, 3 mixed Dorms that sleeps up to 4 people, 1 Executive Unit with a double bed and aircon, 2 Twin Chalets that sleep up to 2 people, Our Tent that sleeps up to 3 people and a Campsite. Three separate kitchens and bathrooms and showers with plenty of hot water. Surrounding activities include: Game drives in Mokolodi Game Reserve(1 km), bird watching, mountain biking and much more. Take pleasure in the hospitality of the Botswana people, infinite blue skies and sunsets to soothe the soul. Come as a stranger and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mokolodi Backpackers Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing