We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Luanda”
Review of Hotel Alvalade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alvalade
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Reviewed May 2, 2007

As I travel extensively in Africa, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel considering that it is not internationally branded. Check-in was swift, efficient and welcoming with English being no problem at all. My standard double room was very pleasantly decorated in a modern imperial style with all the mod cons of stocked minibar, IDD phone and Sat TV (with certain channels in English from DSTV in South Africa). The king size bed was exceptionally comfortable with clean sheets and towels every day. There was a sensibly sized desk for working at in the evenings with WiFi in the room (although the internet connection was very slow).
The room was very clean and remained so all during my stay. The bathroom was well appointed with loads of hot water (be careful because it comes hard, fast and VERY hot) and the amenities usually expected in an international standard hotel. This was also cleaned properly every morning.
Turn-down service every evening with comp chocs. Room service meals were very well prepared and presented and did not take overly long to arrive (approx 15 - 20 mins). Very friendly waiting staff!
Restaurant breakfasts in the hotel very a pleasant experience and were a good start to the day. I didn't otherwise eat in the restaurants although local residents tell me that it is quite a popular place to eat in Luanda.
Check-out was a little tedious as there was quite a queue of us and this did take longer than I would have liked (about 40 mins by the time that I was finished). Check your bill thoroughly as there were 2 Room Service breakfasts from another room on my bill.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay although it DOES come with a price. For a week's stay, I was charged at USD320/night incl tax and breakfast.
Would I stay there again? DEFINITELY! - considering the competition in the city which really does not come anywhere near this standard (although there are Internationally branded hotels now under construction).

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Broaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 137 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2007

Absolutely loved Angola. We chose the Alvalade as it was the one of the new hotels and was available for a 3 week visit. The rate we paid for December was $265 per night which is extremely expensive, but we were warned that we had to pay for the best hotel as less well known ones did not have back up electricity generators for the frequent power cuts, also cheaper hotels do not have air conditioning units which are essential as it's not advised to sleep with windows open due to malaria risks.
It has all essential amenities, 24hr reception, security on front doors, hairdresser, computers to use etc.
The swimming pool was clean at a glance however not once in our 3 week stay were the filters on, it semed as if chemicals were used to keep the water clean, however a large amount of scum has formed around the walls of the pool. I informed reception of this 3 times however nothing was done about it.
We were informed on the 31st December at 6pm that the room rates for 2007 were increasing to $320 per night, of which a complaint was made to the manager that we wouldnt be paying this amount as we were not informed of this on booking the hotel, the manager dealt with this and we paid for the remaining 6 nights at the previous rate.
Rooms were cleaned well, and service of staff was good in restaurant a part from one lady who found it hard to smile. Advise on eating the breakfast however the $50 for dinner is expensive for what was served, there is a nice small restaurant next door to the hotel down some stairs that is much cheaper and better food!
Generally a good stay, make sure you keep checking your room bill as it has ben known talking to other guests staying at the hotel that telephone calls may get added on to your bill.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank annoyed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Esteban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, other at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pennywise1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Almd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 43 in Luanda
206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 43 in Luanda
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 43 in Luanda
313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 43 in Luanda
83 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Styles IU Luanda Talatona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alvalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alvalade

Address: Av. Comandante Gika, Luanda, Angola
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range: $292 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alvalade 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A COMPELLING DESTINATION FOR VISITORS TO LUANDA Hotel Alvalade is an excellent choice for visitors to Luanda, whether for business or leisure. The combination of modern architecture, ease of access, great hospitality and welcoming atmosphere is sure to impress guests. A mere 5 minutes from the “4 de Fevreiro” international airport, this Hotel contains 188 rooms and 14 Junior Suites with Wireless internet, a restaurant, two bars, a Conference Centre and many services to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Comfortable, large and well equipped, here you may easily plan meetings, welcome clients or simply relax after a long work day in the city. Choose a room with Luanda Island views and experience the magnificent Angolan sunset. A truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alvalade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvalade Hotel Hotel Luanda
Alvalade Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing