We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alvalade
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$537
$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
$341
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$400
$353
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
$286
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$317
$308
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
8
36
68
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
36
68
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barrooms are cleaninternational airportroom servicebusiness tripprocedureafricacapitalimprovement
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 139 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel a couple of months back on business, and coming back ( on our business partner's recommendation!) I am sad to say the hotel is just as bad. It took 2 of us 45 minutes to check in, and we were treated (as last time) that it was the first time they have ever done it. It even took 5 minutes to work out how to get the credit card machine to work. Be prepared for a long wait to check in!! The rooms themselves are good, food average - I hope to stay somewhere else next time

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We work hard every day in order to please all our customers. However, we are conscious that we are not flawless and that is why we highly appreciate our guest’s feedback, which definitely help us to improve the standards of our service.
We apologize for the negative experience you have had at the check-in. Sometimes, the usual high occupancy rates of Hotel Alvalade might open space to some difficulties and consequently not deliver the proper quality service that we really wish to provide.
Thank you once again for your time and hopefully you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely ,
Sara Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Location
Located about10-15 minutes drive from the airport depending on time of day or traffic- it is fairly close. At the actual location there is some banks, office and small shops including pharmacy and supermarket. The area is fairly safe with strong security presence during the day but not sure I would venture out at night as same with most African cities especially a white female.
Room
Room is quite spacious and grand looking African decor- alot of wooden cabinets, yellow lamps etc. It is a fairly spacious and comfortable offering a large double king size bed with enough pillows. There was a luggage rack, a safe and large wardrobes. The TV was flat screen samsung and worked well offering a fair few channels including international US and UK such as BBC world service. The room also has a kettle with plenty of teas but only one kind of coffee. In addition there is a small round table and a arm chair and a small balcony for smokers offering not the nicest of views. The room has a old style air con unit on one side but worked ok. In terms of lighting there is some side reading lights and in addition many lamps. The main issue with the room is lack of plugs- only one and for kettle you have to place it on the floor to use.
The bathroom is also fairly spacious and offers a bath and shower combination- however no plug supplied so only can be used as a shower- the key issue is the hot water - it takes a good 5-7 minutes before a decent heat of water arrives. There is also a bidet and a good amount of branded amenities.
Facilities
At the time of stay there was no use of pool, deck or gym until late November. There is a lobby bar and restaurant. The buffet for each meal is quite extortionate at $75 each time. Food wise is good quality though but not at that price- throughout the course of the week stay only a couple of times was the fish deboned- other time there are many bones and one occasion cut my mouth up. Think at this price they could make more effort. However aside from this the food tasted fairly good, fresh with good variation and texture- just very expensive.
The bar also has quite expensive drinks which can be bought at 1/10 of the price down the road at the local shop such as beers. There is WIFI available but at a charge but three devices can be connected at one time. However it is quite slow and the iphone kept dropping the connection.
Staff
Staff at front desk are ok but not beyond that and this is same in the restaurant- it may be a cultural thing but the level of seriousness and lack of smiles came across as a little cold.
Overall Luanda is no tourist destination and the prices are very high leading to poor level of value for money. There is no reason to be here unless your on business- the hotel was ok but probably would try somewhere else maybe by the water front unless you need to be near the airport.

Room Tip: For those looking to save money -Go out of the hotel, take a left at first road then right and you will find a small supermarket to get your beers, as less than $2 each.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments. It is very important to be aware of our guest’s feedback.
Regarding your comments of the hot water, we would really appreciate if you could send us the room number and dates of your stay, then we can take action. We would like to inform that we have the swimming pool closed, as we are refurbishing this floor in order to provide more comfort to our guests. Regarding your food and beverage comments, it is true that the prices reflect the high cost of living that exists in Luanda. We really work hard to provide good moments to our guests.
Once again, I really appreciate the time you have taken in giving us your comments and we hope to have you, once again, as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Diogo Marques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is conveniently close to the airport, but ideal for downtown. The rooms are large, and comfortable, but dark and somewhat damp. The hotel is in need of an ugrade - it seems stuck in the 1970's. A bad drain smell occupies every corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our location and accommodation.
It is a fact that Hotel Alvalade is in need of an upgrade but since the beginning of August of this year, the hotel as entered its renovation process. We have started with the swimming pool area and the swimming pool bar will be reopened. Afterwards, we will begin the bedrooms renovation, in which, we will improve the lightening ambience. After the remodeling, the bedrooms will look modern and lighter in colors.
Thus, we are looking forward to welcome you again in your future visits and hopefully you will be satisfied with the improvements.

Yours sincerely,

Sara Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed for a week at the hotel in July 13 and overall it was OK but needs a bit of TLC.The staff are generally good but it did take 30 mins to check out.

It appears that the owners prefer to spend their attention on the other 2 hotels it owns.

If you are doing business in the town it is probably not the best located hotel taking 30-40 mins to get into town because of the traffic problems.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Alvalade, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments. It is very important to be aware of our guest’s feedback. We apologize for taking too long on your check-out, we try to be as swift as possible however it is difficult due to the high occupancy of our hotel. Regarding your comments on the lack of attention of the owners to this unit, we would like to inform you that in the beginning of August of this year, the hotel as entered its renovation process. We have started with the swimming pool area and the swimming pool bar will be reopened. Afterwards, we will begin the bedrooms renovation, in which, we will improve the lightening ambience. After the remodeling, the bedrooms will look modern and lighter in colors. Once again, I really appreciate the time you have taken in giving us your comments and we hope to have you, once again, as our guest in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Diogo Marques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

In Angola it's all business, the country does not have tourism, unfortunately. Then this hotel does not have an Internet connection working since I started to come to Angola, 3 years ago.

So you are isolated from your country, your family, your things and you do not have Internet. How about that?

Service is lazy but it's not a feature reserved to Alvalade hotel - it's spread around the country's culture.

It's old-fashioned. Some people like, for me it's a bad taste.

Very straight to the point... business hotel, business city, business destination, without Internet?

Outrageous. Choose Baia hotel instead.

Room Tip: Notice that I put "poor" to the bedrooms due the lack of Internet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schegerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews