We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Shocker - AVOID !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tropico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Luanda, Angola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Shocker - AVOID !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The rooms do not have the functionality advertised, they do not have the facilities or the layout advertised. The rooms are not properly cleaned. The bathrooms are straight out of the 70's. The staff are amazingly unhelpful. And this place is not cheap ! Explore ALL other options before booking this Hotel. I learned the hard way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastbowler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    87
    54
    20
    6
See reviews for
1
1
12
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Tropico was chosen by my company as the place to be housed while in transit through Luanda.
Normally the choice of hotel would be higher end, comfortable, well located 5 star. So, I can only assume that this hotel is the Best of a Bad Bunch in Luanda. The communal areas are acceptable and clean, the pool area is a bit of an oasis in the middle of a building site and the restaurant food is probably just above average, although always very salty (MSG perhaps). As another reviewer pointed out the service in the restaurant is painfully slow, especially when you wait alone at the table with nothing but the noise of the air conditioning to break your train of thought. The rooms are probably below average and in need of a decent interior designer and softer mattresses. My back is still trying in vain to recover. The street noise reduces the higher up your room is, i was on floor 8 on this occasion (I have stayed on lower floors on previous visits). Have no idea how much the rooms are per night but they are probably valued higher than they should be considering that Luanda, as strange as it may seem, is one of the most expensive cities in the world (top 5).

Room Tip: Don't point out that they have missed items off you bill... while they sort it out you may miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

A hotel with a good and very central location, with decent sized rooms, a good breakfast, reasonably clean and ok in maintenance. It has also a small swimming pool and a fitness center.

It is expensive as most things in Luanda.

My room had view over the concrete space between two buildings. Not the best view but heard rooms facing the street can be noisy. The cleaning ladies can be a bit boring always trying to enter the room, but in general, service has been nice and fairly paced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joontns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for work. The hotel and facilities are good, however the rooms are strictly average and 'grubby'. Food in restaurant was good however the service was extremely slooooow!! The street outside is very busy and I was kept awake by traffic noise as the windows do not stop any outside noise whatsoever. I was booked into here by my company - I would not stay here again if gIven the choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77SAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed in 2 hotels (Tropico & Baia) during the same visit to Luanda, to summarize the only advantage I see in Tropico is the location of the hotel other than that I would HIGHLY recommend stayin in Hotel Baia belonging to the same hotel chain as Tropico but offers the following:
- Modernized, Cleaner and more spacious Rooms
- The hotel offers more services with a lower rate when compared to Tropico
- Much more reliable internet connection with higher speeds
- The staff were more friendly and helpful
To summarize I would highly recommend stayin in Hotel Baia which is a 4* hotel offering almost 5* services than to stay in Tropico which is highly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hossam_Elgeneidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Will keep this simple:

Over priced, not as clean as it could / should be.

Rooms are nisey and AC does not work all that well. The pool is OK but is mostly in the shade due to its positioning and the water is always freezing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel is expensive, but the standards are not up to the mark. The room is ok, but the bath deserves improvement. The bath tub gets choked regularly and thus leaking into the floor below. food is average in the restaurant. The deserts are good, cooked normally by Portuguese cook. The bar is expensive and have to watch the prices carefully. The bar is average. The TV channels are not worth mentioning.

Room Tip: doesnt matter the bath tubs will choke anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
7.5 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico

Property: Hotel Tropico
Address: Rua da Missao 103, Luanda, Angola
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tropico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luanda, Hotel Tropico is a prime example of contemporary Africa. It is largely recognized by its quality services by anyone who visits the city. With 280 totally equipped rooms, Health Club, Spa, Swimming Pool, Restaurants, Bar, Hair dresser, Stores, totally equipped Meeting and Conference Rooms with the most advanced technology, it is a choice accommodation for business or leisure travel. Visit us, and discover a large and pleasant space, where you will surely want to return. Enjoy Luanda's charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing