We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tropico
Nearby Hotels
$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$325
$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$537
$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
$341
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    $222
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    $317
    $308
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $244
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (211)
    Filter reviews
    211 results
    Traveler rating
    28
    98
    57
    21
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    28
    98
    57
    21
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbusiness hotelexcellent staybusiness tripcross fitgreat view of the seatraining facilitiesshow cookinghotel is centrally locatedpool areahuge varietylunch buffetlong staycouple of yearsexcellent gymreception staffcomfortable roomsnice hotel
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    101 - 106 of 211 reviews
    Reviewed March 19, 2012

    Stayed here for work. The hotel and facilities are good, however the rooms are strictly average and 'grubby'. Food in restaurant was good however the service was extremely slooooow!! The street outside is very busy and I was kept awake by traffic noise as the windows do not stop any outside noise whatsoever. I was booked into here by my company - I would not stay here again if gIven the choice.

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank 77SAJ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 25, 2012

    I stayed in 2 hotels (Tropico & Baia) during the same visit to Luanda, to summarize the only advantage I see in Tropico is the location of the hotel other than that I would HIGHLY recommend stayin in Hotel Baia belonging to the same hotel chain as Tropico but offers the following:
    - Modernized, Cleaner and more spacious Rooms
    - The hotel offers more services with a lower rate when compared to Tropico
    - Much more reliable internet connection with higher speeds
    - The staff were more friendly and helpful
    To summarize I would highly recommend stayin in Hotel Baia which is a 4* hotel offering almost 5* services than to stay in Tropico which is highly overpriced.

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hossam E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 6, 2012

    Will keep this simple:

    Over priced, not as clean as it could / should be.

    Rooms are nisey and AC does not work all that well. The pool is OK but is mostly in the shade due to its positioning and the water is always freezing.

    • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Goviegovie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 25, 2011

    The hotel is expensive, but the standards are not up to the mark. The room is ok, but the bath deserves improvement. The bath tub gets choked regularly and thus leaking into the floor below. food is average in the restaurant. The deserts are good, cooked normally by Portuguese cook. The bar is expensive and have to watch the prices carefully. The bar is average. The TV channels are not worth mentioning.

    Room Tip: doesnt matter the bath tubs will choke anyway.
    • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Sunny04_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 17, 2011

    I've been here recently and it's been a nice trip, but hotel tropico was the only bad thing. Stinky rooms and corridors, unfriendly staff, and awful food. The carpet in my room had stains, and the services were unconsistent - they refilled my complimentary bar randomly. The hotel is outdated and you feel that you go on a trip back in time once you go into the lobby. I can't recall anything good to mention seriously. BOTTOMLINE: stay somewhere else. It's not worth a single penny for a night. You wouldn't pay $20/night for this hotel in your hometown in Europe or America or in some other places with developed infrastructure.

    Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as Luanda is noisy. Pick any room as it wouldn't make any difference.
    • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank YousefOmar
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews