We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the city”
Review of Ilha do Mussulo

Ilha do Mussulo
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Luanda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
168 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Escape from the city”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I lived in Luanda for 3 years (2008-11) and was always trying to get out of the city. A friend had a place on Mussulo and we looked forward to our weekend breaks on the beach. There are boats going back and forth to Mussulo all day, I would recommend a more expensive one for reliability (you tell them when you embark when you want to go back again in the afternoon, and they will come and fetch you). Also suitable for small children. Take lots of liquids, sunscreen, and remember the electricity is unreliable and likely to go off at some point during the day. Apart from the small hiccups that come with any country having just been through over 30 years of civil war, I can recommend Mussulo to everyone.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    47
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Joao da Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great beach. Awesome place to spend an afternoon. It has bar/restaurant service, with a large variety of choices in the menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank zmoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
“Mark Smith”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

lovely beach and restaurants its like being in Mauritius although restaurant is expensive

Helpful?
Thank mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1985.....”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I visited Luanda in 1985 for a short busines trip. The country was very poor because of the civil war. But the city was beautiful despite of no shops, services, etc. I climbed to the fortress and then walked to Ilha do Mussulo. I think there were no bar, shops just some craftsmen and fishermen. And few lovely (black) women wearing little bikini. It was a huge contrast between them and the rest of the country that time. I never forget it. That time it was not allowed to travel more than 20km from the city without a special permission, there were many crippled persons - victims of landmines.....Let's hope this time is over forever...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JIRI1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice boat trip with good beach”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This island is full of private houses with small public areas. If we have a friend with an house invite yourself during a weekend

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank franc a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilha do Mussulo also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Ilha do Mussulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing