We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice view, that's it”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel has great panoramic views! Apart from this, nothing stands out...
The service is poor... it took me 30 min to check-in... before 8h00 construction works start, don't plan to sleep past that time... internet at the bar worked on 50% of the times I tried to use it... the gym has A/C, so its gym and sauna altogether...
The breakfast is ok, the rooms are also ok (mine was recently renovated).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDHP, General Manager at Hotel Presidente Luanda, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference on choosing Hotel Presidente Luanda member for your recent stay in Luanda and for your important feedback about our service and facilities.

After analyzing your review about your stay, I have to present my personal apologies for all the unexpected issues that you have mentioned specially due to the great written feedback received lately about the Hotel quality and service of the Staff.

On the time of your stay we addressed all the items mentioned, the internet service did have some inconsistency during one of the days due to the local provider upgrading on the system, unfortunately we were not able to anticipate this situation, as for the air conditioning unfortunately we had a malfunction of the machines and are being substituted for new ones at the moment.

Please be informed that I have taken additional notice on all your comments and will work with our team in order to assure that all needed measures can be taken for the future.

The Hotel recognition is mainly maid from our guests and although we are proud of all the honors received please be sure that the main reason of all our daily efforts is providing in a consistent manner the highest level of services, our team is highly committed on providing the greatest experience to all guests staying at our Hotel, that’s our culture that’s our daily goal.

I do hope we can have the chance to welcome you back and confirm that the points refereed have all been taken care of.

Looking forward welcoming you back,

Yours faithfully, Gonçalo Duarte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    43
    20
    5
See reviews for
7
1
16
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was part of Mozambican Roller Hoquei 28 persons delegation at 41 World Competition. We have choice Hotel President Hotel and we have appreciated the good service available and quality and clean accommodations.

The view is the best for Luanda landscape as the island of Luanda and the Docks. A beautiful marginal with the best garden for more than 1 km extension.

This Hotel has been renovated and a new bar , lounge and restaurant all new withe and modern design at 8th floor. What a view...

I recommend strongly to every one for this Hotel and place very secure and clean.

Room Tip: 23 floor rooms with 3 very fast lifts. Any top rooms are the best from 15th to 23rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is my second time in this hotel and all what I can say is waw, what a trasformation.
The restaurant and the bar anre renewed and it is breath taking.
There is now a new gym good enough for workout.
The food is much better.
The only think is that the rooms are to be renewed as well adn I hope that this is in the plan of the managers.
the only glitch during my stay is that it took me to call the reception 3 times to have someone to fix my TV set.
I definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjeridiAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

For the last five years, on almost every business trip to Luanda I stay at the Presidente hotel.
Our agent is based within the Presidente office building, and the location is convenient especially considering Luanda traffic.
I am pleased to see the work in progress over the last year, the new restaurant and bar area is beautiful (big bay windows, view on Luanda bay & the port), the cafeteria will open soon, they were just doing the final touches while I was there last week.
The new gym is a huge improvement and is spacious and features all the usual equipment.
The staff is friendly and helpful, can't wait to see the final result of the renovations!
Btw there is WiFi (free and reliable, relatively fast as well) in the bar area, but in the rooms for now it is by cable connection.

Room Tip: They are renovating the rooms floor by floor, you can try your luck to ask for a renovated room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel has recently gone through a renovation and the commun areas are ok. The hotel´s restaurant and bar look modern and fresh.
The room is spaceous and confortable. The rooms facing Luanda´s bay also have a nice view.
The problem was the bathroom!! The renovation work is very very poor. They only painted the tiles and it looks awfull and dirty. The sink, the bathtub, etc... were very old and dated.
The main problem was when I realized that they where actually dirty!! None of them had been clean and they all had traces of previous guests.. It was disgusting. The floor also hadn´t been clean in the bathroom, as it had hairs and dust.
The main problem with this hotel is the carelessness of the cleaning teams, speacilly in what concerns to the bathrooms.They clearly do the minimum and pretend to clean, to see if you don´t notice and don´t complain!
Despite this, the room is confortable and the hotel has a good location. However, if you stay here, pay attention to the cleaning before you use the bathroom...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent about 3 weeks and still 2 more to go in the hotel, I enjoyed a lot being there due to the following facilities which I could not see elsewhere in Luanda hotels:
1. New furniture inside the room and all over the hotel,
2. Calm atmosphere where you can relax and perform your business,
3. Wonderful location where you can see the ocean from different angel,
4. Wonderful bar, Gem and business center,
5. Nice hotel location in the city center but outside the areas where traffic is wasting lots of hours daily,
6. Delicious food around the clock with good room service,

Room Tip: Recommended to have sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymahalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've stayed there for 7 days in August 2013.
Before my business trip to Luanda I was researching a lot of hotels, but the Presidente was the best one accordingly the price and the quality.
It's located in the centre of the city on the first line of the bay. Also, it's very close to the airport (near 15 minutes without traffic).
Rooms are big enough with every day cleaning.
What was the most important issue is that they have a big lounge zone on the 8 floor, where you can negotiate whenever you want. The restaurant is also good, but expensive. Dinner is minimum 150$ per 2 person.
The stuff is friendly and helpful. I really appreciate the support and goodwill of the General Operations Manager Mr. Gonsalo Duarte. He is really professional and intelligible person.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and will come there soon again.

Olga (Ukraine)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
75 reviews
8.4 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles IU Luanda Viana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Property: Hotel Presidente Luanda
Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing