We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS... Do I need to say more?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS... Do I need to say more?”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in September. Bedbugs on day 1. Breakfast is good. Service is average but cost for the room is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Couple or restaurants around the corner providing some decent food. The food at the restaurant is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    43
    20
    5
See reviews for
7
1
16
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Pros:
1. The renovated rooms (be sure you get one) have decent decor and are a good size.
2. The prices are reasonable by Angolan standards (extraordinarily high by anywhere else's).
3. The food is pretty good, with the same qualifications about price.
4. The rooms have free wired Internet, and there is free wi-fi and a couple of PCs in the 6th floor lounge. Internet speeds are good enough for Skype.

Cons:
1. Many of the staff do their job but are unsmiling.
2. An Internet reservation doesn't seem to mean anything. If you've made one, just hope they aren't full when you arrive.
3. The renovations -- which will obviously continue for some time to come -- are very noisy in places. On the other hand, the noise doesn't begin until 8:30 a.m. or so and ends in the late afternoon, so if you are out of the hotel during the day the noise won't bother you.

In sum: a decent choice if you don't want to spend the absolute fortune you'll pay in many Luanda hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Because of ongoing alterations to the hotel, there are often loud noises in the daytime and evening so try to find out where when you're staying there and ask for a room away from the noise.
Also there are no exercise facilities so don't take your gym gear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyTucker1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had not been to Luanda since 2002 and I was surprised with all the construction going on and the traffic jams that got so much worse.
I stayed again at the Hotel Presidente and was pleasantly surprised with the renovated lobby area, rooms and the lifts which are now modern and fast.
The restaurant area has not changed and the décor is a bit dated.
The food , as in my last stay, was very good and the staff very friendly troughout the hotel.
The Internet is free, both in the rooms and in the bar area. The speed is reasonable.
I stayed on the 25th floor and the views to the bay of Luanda are great.
Pity I was not able to do my jogging on the promenade along the bay as the access was restricted due to the construction to upgrade the “Marginal” into a modern and large boulevard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Worst reception staff I have ever dealt with.. room was 2 star at best... upside was the bar and restaraunt staff were great guys.
Lots of reports about the smell in the rooms, its just the air-con on 24/7. Stayed on the 26th floor and it was like looking down at Hades..! My first time in Angola since 1975 and what a change.

Room Tip: See the manager on arrival... the staff are a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Great hotel pity it not have a pool.Food is great esp the buffet.Beware the front of the hotel is getting a facelift by putting an glass front and the noise during the day if they near your room is unbearable.Staff seemed friendly enough havent found them to be rude as others have said.Very expensive as you are around $90 for the buffet but this is angola where bread is around $2.Not in the best of areas as a lot of street people hang around the hotel outside and security dont do anything that i see to move them on

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfd200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Presidente has been renovated a bit. The reception area is looking tres moderne, but the rooms are still 1970s looking. The dinning area and bar are a bit retro as well. The place is expensive for what you get, but this is Luanda we are talking about. The real downer is how rude and unhelpful the staff are. I consistently have problems checking in. I was yelled at by the restaurant manager for walking into the dining area 10 minutes early for their $80 buffet. The service in the bar area is non-existent. I had to yell into the kitchen area to find someone to get me a beer. On check-out I ended up getting into a heated arguement with reception as to whether my CC had a pin. Finally he wrote out a paper CC receipt. On return home I was phoned by my CC company to say that unauthorized charges had been made. Thanks Presidente! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onamulunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
282 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Skyna Hotel Luanda
#6 of 39 in Luanda
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles IU Luanda Viana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Property: Hotel Presidente Luanda
Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing