We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place to eat in Luanda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cais De Quatro

Cais De Quatro
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Luanda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Luanda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The view from Cais de Quatro is pretty amazing, and its a great place watching the sunset after work with a drink. The interior is beautifully decorated and the atmosphere is good. The service was quite slow, but nothing unusual for Angola.
The food was the best tasting I've had in Angola, and there is an amazing selection compared to anywhere else I've eaten. I had risotto which was well cooked, and the deserts come with amazing ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellyrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    183
    65
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view to Luanda's bay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food is great, the lobster is normally served cooked nearly to perfection, succulent & Naturally tasty, fresh. The Apex nevertheless is still the view, which is just stunning. The stuff struggles to cop underpressure at times, Without spoiling the overall experience. You will be going back for more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, null, Angola
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“it's got the view, but lives on the name acquired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The food and, mainly, the view (at night) are, in fact, above "Average", but i just couldn't mark it as "Very Good"... bring some money (above average) and try it once, if you come around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Recaredo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location is absolutely nice and give a great view of Luanda. I suggest a visit to the restaurant by night.
The quality of the food is not exceptional and average price per person (starter and main dish) is 80-90 US dollars.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank camelTrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent food, decent wine, beautiful ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Outdoor dining room, looking across the bay at the skyline of downtown Luanda. Simply spectacular view. In some other places in Africa, food of this quality would be 5 star. In Luanda, it is ok, pretty run of the mill. It was decent enough. I went with a mineiro beef dish (I suppose seafood would have been more appropriate). It was well cooked, a little on the salty side - which left me drinking more beers than I intended. Reservations are apparently needed - I made reservations. But service was incredibly slow. My dinner was a 3 hour affair. But the view of the city made up for whatever shortcomings the kitchen had. Definitely worth a visit at least once. As a tourist or business visitor to Luanda, seeing the city from the island can completely change your impression of the town for the better. Luanda was once and has the potential to return to be one of the great cities of Africa. A dinner, lunch or afternoon glass of wine or beer here will confirm that for you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zachary_F_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cais De Quatro also viewed

Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 
Luanda, Luanda Province
Luanda, Luanda Province
 

Been to Cais De Quatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing