We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in centre of Luanda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Certificate of Excellence
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good hotel in centre of Luanda”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well sited in city centre.
Used heavily by the various oil companies.
Glitzy foyer and good desk service.

Restaurant & bar facilities are very good

Rooms are quirky. Spotlessly clean but bathroom is open via a glass partition to the rest of the room.This is wierd. Shower s open to rst of bathroom and shoer head only waist height. Water pressure very poor. Difficult to take shower. Room itself very comfortable with wide wide screen HD TV. Pay internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    47
    7
    11
See reviews for
1
11
8
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sana is such a refreshing change of the usual musty hotels in Luanda. It's modern but rather expensive though...at least it's clean and representative of the number of stars it asserts which is more than one can say of nearby hotels

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank funkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Its really an EPIC hotel. Situated right at the heart of Luanda, this 5 Star property is luxury at its best.

Yes its expensive, but if you compare the other hotels in Luanda and the services they offer, this is very much affordable

They also serve an amazing range of dishes for their dinner buffet....yummmy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sojanjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excelent choice to stay in Luanda. The recently opened spa is great, the gym is very good and the rooms are new. Like everything else that appeals to expats in Luanda the hotel is overpriced, the food in the hotel is OK but very, very expensive (50 US for a small Caesar Salad served in the room).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xandao550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes this hotel is expensive, but as Luanda is the most expensive city in the world....you have to expect that.
This was my first trip to Angola, and I was advised to stay here, as you hear a lot of horror stories about this Luanda.
The room was very clean and modern, and quite spacious too. The bathroom was very clean, and I experienced no problems with hot water.
I was on my own in the evenings, so I played it safe and stayed in the hotel, making use of the restaurant there. The buffet had a great choice of food, which varied each day. Be warned though, it is expensive! A 2l bottle of water was around $10, so that gives you some idea of what to expect to pay for the meal in total!!
The reception staff were very efficient, and I had no problems checking out or with payments.
Definitely staying here again in the future,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Simply the best Hotel in Luanda.
Food, service and location are extraordinary. Unfortunately they charge the parking per hour even if you are a guest . Not a good measure because it limits the time one want to be at the Hotel.
Employees from the restaurant were friendly and well trained. The Receptionist, the Portuguese gentleman was not so friendly. Arrogant one!
I had a great time in there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kool2bbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice new clean hotel, clean rooms with a reasonable room rate but poor services and overpriced restaurants, way over the already expensive city for cold meals and badly cooked pasta. Hotel Services are poorly managed, I sent shirts for pressing on an "express service" and next day nobody could find them, calling the front desk was no use and trying to speak to a responsible person was almost impossible, it seems everyone hides behind the desk and nobody can make a decision. At the end I was late for my meeting. If you plan on visiting this hotel, do not use the laundry service, bring enough clothes for your trip or ask for an iron to press them yourself; do not use the restaurants or you will be treated with an exorbitant bill for a meal you would pay $15 anywhere else outside Angola, have a driver take you to the good restaurants on the beach. If you like a good glass of wine before going to bed you are in the wrong place, wine selection in the hotel bar is poor, and service takes 20 minutes for a simple drink. Overall a 5 star hotel with a 3 star service.

Room Tip: I have been three times in this hotel, all rooms have a very good unlimited view and are super quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
75 reviews
7.5 mi away
Talatona Convention Hotel
1.6 mi away
Luna Hotel Zombo
Luna Hotel Zombo
#11 of 39 in Luanda
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel

Property: EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
Address: Rua da Missao, Luanda, Angola
Phone Number:
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel offers 219 rooms and 19 suites. For business or extended stays, the hotel offers 50 SANA Residence one-bedroom and two-bedroom serviced apartments. Food and beverage facilities include 5 restaurants and 4 bars. An extended Wellness Club & Spa offers an array of facilities, including outdoor/ indoor swimming pools, Turkish bath, sauna, Jacuzzi, Vichy shower, spa treatments and massage service. The hotel meeting and conference centre has nine meeting rooms and boardrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing