We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and location for doing business in Angola”
Review of Skyna Hotel Luanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skyna Hotel Luanda
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best value and location for doing business in Angola”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Centric, relatively new hotel, located nearby most government offices and oil and gas transnational companies in Luanda. The rooms are clean, well furnished and have all necessities. The food is above average, diverse and according to the local standards, not too expensive. Only recommendation is not to get a room nearby the event’s section located at the second floor as it might get noisy. Staff is helpful although not particularly proactive. I have been twice there and will get back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzasCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    58
    63
    12
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is highly priced and the maintenance of the hotel is poor. But, sometimes in Luanda you should be happy just to have a room. The rooms where clean and tidy.

Breakfast was good. The gym is just bare minimum. The hotel rooms are noise and you get woken up by the morning traffic and hooting.

This hotel is still taking advantage of the lack of competition to charge $399 US with minimal facilities.

Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

I would recommend using this hotel only for short stays on business trips. Not a holiday hotel as there is no pool and outdoor area

Room Tip: noisy rooms from outside. could do with more insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjaymoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luanda hotels

Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The problem here is maintenance and service, both of which are lacking. But it's a problem all over Luanda, and in fact, much of Africa.
I showered in a pool of water the whole week after I gave up on them fixing the drain (I asked three times). I didn't move to another room after I saw what my colleague had togo through (she had to switch rooms twice in two days).
Another con: the noise. I was on the 12th floor, heard the rooms next door, heard the ruckus from the street. For the astronomical rates of the room, one would expect double glazing on the windows. Bring ear plugs!

Food was good, yet very expensive - 72$ per lunch/dinner. Not many alternatives in a walking distance, and in Luanda it's better to walk (but not at night!) because traffic is inhumane.

Room - first time I went to the bathroom it had a "sanitized" banner. But the toilet had a urine stain. Other than that it felt clean. Very simple, but rather clean.

Wifi worked fined- that was the best thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ng400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Skyna hotel knows that it is one of the few hotels offering international business travelers short-term stays. The service is average, the food is average. With impending competition (several luxury hotels are being built as we speak), I imagine this will change. Until then, this hotel can get away with offering average-level services. Request a room on the top floors. This month, the lower floors smell like mildew. I expect they will have to fix this soon, as I cannot imagine travelers being OK with the mildew smells. If given a choice, I would not return. Free internet services is a plus. There is a fair fitness center. Waitstaff do try to please.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syl2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sola Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel opened in 2009. No fancy stuff - just plain hotel with adequate interior and service as one would expect. Good room comfort; the AC was civilised / not noisy and the bed was 'just right'. I liked the spacious desk where all my papers could be spread out.

At the outset the price seems high - 395 USD / night - but that is what you these days need to pay in Luanda to get decent accommodation and technical facilities that work and are not worn out. However, at that price level I would expect replenishment of the two water bottles that were in the room at arrival - but no, not even when paying a small fortune for a seven nights stay. This little detail contributes to a creeping feeling that this after all is an overpriced establishment, especially when the only real alternative was to get a couple of water bottles in the lobby bar at nearly 10 USD. Also it was a disappointment to find that the hotel had no outdoor space; a small rooftop swimming pool area would have been expected at this site and price.

The breakfast buffet was good. For lunch the restaurant has no a la carte - just a set menu. Was unhappy with one go at the lunch. The evening buffet is good value compared to the rip-off expat hangout places along the Ilha de Luanda.

The reception staff was efficient and very helpful. Free access to printer in the business centre was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank q-lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

It is nice, yes. But compared with what you would get most places for $358/ night it is mind boggling. They have free internet, breakfast included. Those are the perks. Otherwise it is just a way to take advantage of the business crowd that come here and dont really have another choice. I asked for an Iron and they said they dont provide that; but that they would send someone to my room at $7 per shirt to iron. They charge $71 dollars a plate for dinner last night. Even in the most expensive places in the world I have not been charged anywhere near this. Especially Considering that this hotel is downtown and surrounded by the poor in every direction. I look out my window and see nothing but laundry lines and bars on windows.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siamac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
0.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 39 in Luanda
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico
Hotel Tropico
#2 of 39 in Luanda
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 39 in Luanda
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente Luanda
1.2 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 39 in Luanda
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alvalade
Hotel Alvalade
#17 of 39 in Luanda
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyna Hotel Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyna Hotel Luanda

Property: Skyna Hotel Luanda
Address: Avenida de Portugal N0 29 | Ingombotas, Luanda, Angola
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyna Hotel Luanda 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skyna Hotel Luanda is a modern hotel present in the Angolan Capital since 2009. We now also focus on internationalization and Portugal is the first country that we are present. We are the first Angolan chain of hotels to venture abroad and we want to create an exchange between the know-how and best practices of Portuguese hospitality and the warmth and joy of the Angolan people. The Skyna Hotel Luanda has three bars (one for smokers, one for supporting conferences, serving light meals), and a buffet restaurant. It has 220 double rooms, 11 suites with 100m2 each and a penthouse apartment, 4 apartments T1 and two apartments T2, with room service 24 hours a day. The rooms are equipped with electronic locks, a private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, safe deposit, telephone, television and mini bar. The reception is available 24 hours a day with currency exchange. It also has rent-a-car, own laundry, tobacconist, travel agency with support for local services, and free garage parking. Ideal for meetings and press conferences, the hotel has several multipurpose rooms and a business center. For relaxation, the Skyna Hotel Luanda offers to its customers a health club with massage, aesthetics, beauty and hairdressing services as well as a fully equipped gym with panoramic views over the city of Luanda. Visitors and hotel guests enjoy free Internet via WIFI throughout the hotel. A great space for fun and work. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyna Hotel Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing