We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location of Kwanza Lodge that needs to be improved”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwanza Tarpon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Luanda
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Kwanza Lodge has a great location that is right on the Kwanza river, 70 km south of Luanda. My cabin was only a few meters from the river and the view is great from the small veranda over the river. The sunrise is right in front of these cabins.
However, this Lodge needs to be improved. My cabin was not clean properly, the bathroom is old and the shower really bad with old paper wall covering it and very old taps. The only closet of the room is in the bathroom that in my case was actually broken and there were some bugs inside.
The breakfast and dining area aren't that clean and the bathroom was very dirty and with a bad smell.
There is a swimming pool with water but not cleaned.
Bottom line, the location is great but unfortunately this lodge is in deterioration process that needs improvement asap and the cost is very high for the quality you get.

Room Tip: Have a room in front of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had a 3-night layover in Luanda, and decided to spend two of those nights at Kwanza Lodge. The owner, Rico, can arrange a pick-up and drop-off from Luanda, which is tremendously useful. Apparently, if you stay 3 nights the transit is free of charge.
The cabins are very cozy, clean and fantastic value for money (US$ 175 pr night, all food included), and the breakfast, lunch and dinner were superb. Much better food than at the $ 1,000 pr night Hotel Talatona I'm in while writing this :-)
Rico and his wife & crew at Kwanza Lodge were very friendly, and can organise trips upriver in various sized boats, deep-sea fishing and trips to the nearby Kissama National Park.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, select a cabin in-line with the dining area, they all face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandmaninDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I stayed here for one night as part of a corporate retreat.

It was delightful. The lodge is right on the Kwanza River on a spit of land which is also lapped by the Atlantic. There are good quality wooden cabins with twin or queen sized beds with en suite shower and toilet and a veranda over looking the Kwanza River. There is electricity 24 hours a day and hot water. Several rooms have a sitting room in between the two twin rooms where you can hold small meetings. They are also building a conference center.

The food is buffet style with good, wholesome food (meat and fish) with lots of fresh vegetables.

They have several high quality fishing boats and you can do sunset cruises.

Service is very friendly and relaxed.

It's a very popular place for lunch for Angolans and expat Chinese (plus w. Western expat for overnight fishing safaris) over the weekend so make sure you book in advance. During the Tarpon season (September to May) the place gets very busy (local and South Africans fishers) and it is essential to book months in advance.

Given the high cost of accomodation in Luanda, tourists are also choosing to base themselves here. You can arrange to be picked up from the airport and they can also arrange visas. Costs are a reasonable $150 a night including meals but excluding drinks. Fishing is extra.

The lodge is 70 km south of Luanda on the way to Barro do Kwanza or Cabo Ledo. Take the first right before the Kwanza Bridge and turn onto a non asphalt road and follow it to the river.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmeggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CGN_JPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista Rio ou Vista mar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank cyril b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luanda hotels
37 mi away
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
EPIC SANA Luanda Hotel
#1 of 43 in Luanda
302 reviews
0 mi away
Inn Luanda
Inn Luanda
#14 of 47 in Luanda
18 reviews
29.1 mi away
Hotel Florenca
Hotel Florenca
#31 of 43 in Luanda
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Luanda
Hotel Baia Luanda
#3 of 43 in Luanda
119 reviews
35 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
Luna Hotel Zombo
Luna Hotel Zombo
#13 of 43 in Luanda
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwanza Tarpon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwanza Tarpon Lodge

Address: Kwanza River, Luanda, Angola
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Luanda
Also Known As:
Kwanza Tarpon Hotel Luanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing