We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours
from $245.00
More Info
from $175.00
More Info
from $420.00
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
70
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
7
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chobe river botswana border always on time day trip safari vehicle other companies bird life amazing experience webster lodge giraffes transfer activities company buffalo guide wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We had a very bad experience with the Safari Jeeps provided by DK Tours in August this year. The jeep that was give to us was a poorly maintained vehilce and the seating was not comfortable being old. We were in the park for about 30 minutes (about 10 kms.) near a water viewing area and the van would not start. The driver cell phone had no signal and the Radio was not working. My children and I had to help the driver push the jeep and I had to jump start the Jeep. The driver wanted to continue with this vehicle, but we refused and returned back to the gate. The driver said it would take us some time so I was considering cancelling anr returning to Victoria Falls which was 2-1/2Hrs drivethus avoid waisting a full day. At the gate the driver got another Jeep which had only six seats and the middle seat was uncomfortable. The van again was old and in poor shape. Since our previous driver was also the guide he accompanied us into the park and had to sit between my wife and I as it would be impossible for us to communicate if he sat in the Drivers cabin. This made our seating even more uncomfortable. Even in this Jeep the radio was not working and the Driver/ Guide were not very good at knowing where they would be able to spot any of the Big Five. Fortunately we met at th picnic spot a person who was doing wild life documentary for BBC and he told us where they were Lions and Buffalos. We then encouraged our driver to take us there. They were hesitant as it was a bit far and wanted to get us back to the gate by 4.00 pm.
The return journey was dreadful as the driver was driving very recklessly and making it a very bumpy ride. Besides the roads not being very good, he would not stop at the pot holes. Even this vehicle had a starting problem, however we were lucky that the vehicle did not stall.
Our visit to Hwange Park would have been a waste of time if we had not met the BBC person who guided us to where we were able to see some Lions and other animals.

I would strongly discourage using DK Tours for your Safari tour as the Safari Tour operator they selecter put our lives at risk. Proof of us pushing the vehicle can be provided with pictures we took.

On a positive note the Driver who drove us from Victoria Falls to Hwange and back was plesane and a very good driver. He was patient and very attentive driver.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank 576kevind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK Tours and Sa... V, Manager at DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thank you Kevin for your review, its really regrettable that we did not meet your expectations on this safari. Its also unfortunate that we had a vehicle breakdown in the park and had to rush you to the lions sightings with the replacement vehicle. The driver had to rush to the lions sightings in a bid to strike the balance between showing you the lions and being on time for the parks gate.
Our animals in Hwange National park are not chipped like in some private game reserves somewhere - so to see them you either just bump into them or you get information about their whereabouts from other visitors to the park. This is what we did with the BBC people and I do not see anything wrong with that.
Kindly also note that the roads in the park are what we call "dirty roads" - not tarred and you may not expect a smooth ride more especially if you are rushing.
Thanks again for this review, I am sure it will keep us on our tours and perfect our act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We saw so many hippos and Cape Buffalo plus other animals on the river cruise. Saw everything but a Rhino between the cruise and land safari. Great day.
Webster also arranged our transfers form the airport to the Lodge.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK Tours and Sa... V, Manager at DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Good to be hearing from you and thank you fr reviewing our services. Looking forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Decided on the extended day trip into Botswana (Chobe)
5 am pick up from the A'zembezi River Lodge supplied with a breakfast pack for the journey to the Zimbabwe/Botswana border at Kazungula.
Picked up by KB for the landed based safari 0700 - 1230. KB made sure we obtained the best view of the animals in Chobe - including elephant, lions, hippo, giraffe etc
Lunch at the Chobe Safari Lodge then onto the boat for the Chobe river 3 hour cruise with George. Plenty of Hippo's, Elephant (150 plus) in the river, crocs etc.
Great day and the extended day enabled plenty of time to find the animals.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Stephen_PR2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK Tours and Sa... V, Manager at DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you telling the world about our extended day trip in the Chobe National Park. We hope to see you on your next visit to Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

We booked a combo of 4 activities and got a really good price. For whitewater rafting the team even organized some wetsuits for us. The groups of guests were always 4 people which was very nice and private. We met other groups with a size of 8-12 which wouldn't be the same.
I highly recommend DK in Vic Falls!!! Thanks a lot for the amazing time

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK Tours and Sa... V, Manager at DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you soooo much, we love to work with small groups so we get to know our guests personally
thank you again and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

If you are looking to experience a safari but don't have the time or funds for a 3-5 day adventure while in southern Africa, then look no further - the Chobe Day Trip is your answer. Chobe is the second largest game park in Africa and it will not disappoint. We booked our trip through SATS (Southern Africa Touring Services) who set up us on a day trip from Victoria Falls. The trip is about an hour from Victoria Falls where you then cross the border into Botswana (immigration documents required). Bird watchers will love the 3-hour boat tour that we were booked on in the morning. We experienced a lovely Botswanan buffet lunch at Chobe Marina Lodge in Kasane and then continued on a land tour in an open-air jeep. We were astounded by the number and variety of wildlife that we were able to see in just one day - hippos, water buffalo, elephants, baboons, giraffes, zebras, and elephants galore; we even got to see a family of lions. Our guide, Du, was friendly, informative, skillful, and made us feel comfortable and safe. We will never forget this day, and we highly recommend it to anyone hoping to experience nature and wildlife in Southern Africa.

We were told that the best time to visit Chobe is in the winter months (May, June, July, August) as the animals are in search of water and therefore roam the park more frequently.

NOTE: If traveling with children under 18, Botswana Immigration REQUIRES that you have a notarized copy of your children's birth certificates in addition to their passports. They will not allow you to cross into Botswana without these documents, and you will miss an unforgettable adventure in Africa. Luckily, we found this out ahead of our journey to Chobe from SATS, and were able to produce copies which we had notarized through our travel company in Vic Falls.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK Tours and Sa... V, Manager at DK Tours & Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. Yes please make sure you have your certified birth certificates for for all your children below 18 when travelling to Botswana or South Africa otherwise you will miss out on this great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews