We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun dinner experience”

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun dinner experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Boma offers a buffet dinner that includes African foods and entertainment. It was lots of fun and certainly worth the cost. The food was very good and the music and dancers were great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and see you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    561
    254
    77
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Ultimately Disappointing”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The experience my wife and I had at this restaurant is reminiscent of our experience at the Carnivore in Nairobi. It is an awkward combination of food and entertainment that doesn't quite pull it off. Ultimately we felt it was a kitschy combination that left us disappointed.

The restaurant is large, however, they do attempt and succeed at filling the place with as many people as possible (keep in mind that we did attend on a Saturday night). Seating is scattered about the "boma". Given the seating arrangements coupled with the large number of people resulted in a service experience that was sub-par. There was definitely a feeling that staff were going through the motions in an 'assembly-line' type manner.

The food was average. Not particularly bad, but nothing that left us feeling wowed.

The Boma attempts to provide a top notch food and entertainment experience and ends up disappointing on both accounts.

We would neither return nor recommend to friends/family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi there in Canada. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the experience. We have so much great feedback from people all over the world that visit The Boma, it's tough to see your comments as anything other than a personal opinion.

But we do appreciate all feedback, so thanks so much for your time.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A taste of African Life”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went to the Boma with our tour group on the last night of our tour of Southern Africa. The food was good, the service was good and the dancing and audience participation was excellent. A memorable end to our trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Jim. Thanks for the kind words! It seems like you really enjoyed the Boma experience with us.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definately Worth the experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We really enjoyed the experience of the Boma although it obviously was very touristy with close to 200 diners. The entertainment was definitely fun and it was worth the experience trying the huge variety of African dishes they served. The food was actually very good considering the size of the operation, If you are going to Victoria Falls and don't mind eating with the crowds make sure you spend one night there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripmaster2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi there. Thanks for the review. We are so happy that this turned out to be such as great experience for you. Thanks for recommending us!

See you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A wide array of African game offerings, drummers, dancing, fortune tellers. Very touristy, but very fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicoletteMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Nicolette,

I'm glad you had such a good time with us at The Boma. It is indeed 'so much fun!'

Thanks and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing