We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

When you arrive you get an African dress robe put on and then just inside is a dance troop which you can join if you are game enough.

Inside awaits a feast of meats, salads and sweets including a full lamb (or similar) on the roast.

Entertainment is the traditional dancing and then some drum banging where everyone gets a drum to practice.

Price is US$40. All in all a great night if not slightly overpriced for Zimbabwe

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for posting a positive review that overall states you experienced a great night at The Boma. I hope you might reconsider your view on the price which we have tried to trim to as fair as possible. Not only can you eat as much as you like but our costs go up compared with routine restaurants because we pay every entertainer on a professional basis...and there are several elements. So you're not just paying for a meal, but a show...like African theatre while you eat . This makes us very unique in Victoria Falls area. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. Gm@ saflodge.co,zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    508
    227
    64
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Entertainment & Food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Dance with the local natives, learn to play a drum with the entire crowd & get your face painted all while you enjoy an African feast!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks Chris. Short,. Sharp. You leave no-one in any doubts that you entered into the full spirit of the night and enjoyed the experience. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Fun Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is not only an ethnic restaurant but also a unique cultural experience. We were warmly greeted and "properly dressed and painted" for the evening. We were also encouraged to join in and dance to the beat of the drums. Because we were there in the low season and mid-week, we did not experience the large crowds and were treated very well. The food is "interesting" but there is a wide variety and plenty to choose from. (where else can you eat crocodile tail, warthog and antelope). The entertainment continued throughout the evening. Overall it was a very fun evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BridesMom2AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you in California for a stirring review that adds to our reputation as the most unique and
popular restaurant in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a most enjoyable evening with great food and great entertainment. Be prepared to have fun from start to finish. Audience participation is encouraged and well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank newie-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for the strong five star review and great core advice - have fun, be in the right mood to participate. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. Gm@ saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Huge dissapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Firstly they forgot to pick us up at the hotel, then when we arrived the food line was huge you stood in line for nearly an hour for very average food. This was the biggest disappointment of our tour way way over rated

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderers37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Wanderers
We are abject that, in so many years of operation as THE acclaimed restaurant in Victoria Falls, you have given us only our third one star review out of 243 that are 4 and 5 star in the majority. The Boma continues to grow in popularity, especially for groups and, you are right, on busy nights there can be a long wait in the line. We have fixed this by building a second cookhouse on the opposite side in order to alleviate such discomfort. Our sincere apologies you hit one of those BIG nights.

We must plead not guilt to your pick-up problem. We are a restaurant and guests who come from other hotels arrange their own transfers with local tour operators with nothing to do with The Boma. If you have any particular insights I would enjoy receiving them so we can evaluate further solutions. However, it was not a good night for you - we accept that and we're sorry. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing