We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price. too crowd.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Not worth the price. too crowd.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We were there on October 7th. the show is nice. Dont come hungry. it cost us 55 US dollar per person. the food line is too long it took 20 min to get the meat. the place was smelly fr

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Greetings Inbarashi (also incognito as to which country you come from?)
We are truly bleak, and a little surprised, that our award-winning Boma Restaurant displeased you so much. As you will see from the review immediately prior to yours there are also those who enthusiastically embrace our endeavors to produce a snapshop of African music, dance, song and food in an interactive, fun and festive family evening. In this regard The Boma is unique in Victoria Falls.

Obviously the mood did not take you and you were rushed, whereas most visitors have lots of time while on holiday to relax, join in and savor the evening as it unfolds. Your comments say that the price was not worth it for the food. However, it's not just the eat-as-much-as-you-like exotic food, fresh fruits and salads that make up the price as every bit of entertainment adds to the cost of the night - the drumming troupe, the singers/dancers, are all village people who are delighted to perform for guests and earn money for their families; thus this is all part of our corporate social responsibility. We respect your views and realise that some just need a quiet spot to eat more affordably and quickly and leave without the festivities....but those who are in party mood just love the experience, as may be seen by the majority of reviews.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    508
    227
    64
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
1 review
“Again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

A superb fusion of wonderful african while enjoying an all you can eat buffet. It's not just a meal, it's an experience. The drumming show is a cherry on the top. Stay and join in the fun. I would do this over and over! Great job guys.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taurai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic review Taurai. You joined in the spirit of the evening and found it to be a rousing and superb snapshot of Africa. Yes, the drumming certainly gets everyone going and your 5 star review is greatly appreciated.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing BOMA”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was highly overated. The number of people cerainly shows up the limitations of the venue. The staff were not able to keep up with demand and the cultural show was a non event. Far from a highlight. OUr group was underwhelmed

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello to you in Adelaide
Following hot on the heels of a rave 5 Star review your 2 Star rating really concerns us. I'm sorry you came on what was obviously a very busy night, but time is usually what people have plenty of when on holiday in our resort town and our busy nights are also usually the most festive.

We appreciate and respect the fact that The Boma is not everyone's fancy, but we do try to provide a happy atmosphere and a snapshot of several aspects of Africa - the food, dancing, drumming, singing, etc.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could define what you mean by the cultural show being a "non event" as for most this is a big favourite. From our perspective we have lifted all the performers out of village life and have trained them to entertain without losing their traditional values. Indeed one group, the AmaZulu, have even toured overseas with great success and this is all very much in keeping with our community spirit and corporate social responsibility.

However, I have happily noted that you have awarded a maximum 5 Star rating to your visit to the actual Falls - our Wonder of the World. You saw them far from their zenith...if you come in March, April, May or June you would be totally overwhelmed!

I'm sorry you weren't in the mood for our Boma night but fully respect your views.

PS: I am rooting for the Aussies in the finals of the World Cup cricket T20.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE BOMA is the BOM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved the food, the atmosphere, the entertainment and the price was very reasonable. The lighting is a little bit dark though, but once we started beating those djembe drums, we forgot about everything else :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smomoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings Smomoza Midrand
Your 5 star review is deeply appreciated and I think says it all for those who set out to enjoy the festive spirit - you "loved" the food, atmosphere, entertainment" and even the price! The drumming obviously put you in a even better mood!

The price is important to us that people find it reasonable. It's not just the food, staff and all the normal expenses but we are the only restaurant to have invested so heavily in a variety of entertainment to try to exude a few of the flavours of Africa and its culture. The one group, AmaZulu, is home-grown and trained by us and their lives have been greatly uplifted and enriched. Indeed they have even been on a successful overseas tour.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what it is cracked up to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

They gave us a poor table. We asked to be moved up because there were lots of better tables. They said they were not available but they were never taken and so we could hardly see the show. The food was interesting, mostly wild meat. The salads were good but all the meat was very tough and very over cooked. They open at 7 pm and you need to be there at 7 to avoid lines, and take part in various per dinner activities. Hopefully you may get better food? Insist that they put fresh meat on the grill and wait for it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hello Vancouver
Thank you for your review of The Boma. It seems your evening got off to a bad start with a poor table...our Boma manager is such a friendly and accommodating person that there must have been some miscommunication or good reason. Suffice to say that we sincerely apologise that your requirements were not taken care of in our usual manner.

I think you answered your own criticism of tough, over-cooked meat – our guests are encouraged to select their own fresh meat from the trays and have it prepared right in front of them to their precise requirements.

The Boma will always be a conundrum for us. Some think it too touristy and too loud, or don’t like the exotic meats. Happily for us the majority really love the experience and that’s why The Boma is #1 of 13 restaurants on Trip Advisor. Indeed an example is the review of a Londonder posted the day before yours. Nevertheless we appreciate your frank opinion and hope that there were many other aspects of Victoria Falls that you really enjoyed.

With warm greetings
Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing