We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BOMA is the BOM”

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved the food, the atmosphere, the entertainment and the price was very reasonable. The lighting is a little bit dark though, but once we started beating those djembe drums, we forgot about everything else :)

Thank Smomoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Greetings Smomoza Midrand
Your 5 star review is deeply appreciated and I think says it all for those who set out to enjoy the festive spirit - you "loved" the food, atmosphere, entertainment" and even the price! The drumming obviously put you in a even better mood!

The price is important to us that people find it reasonable. It's not just the food, staff and all the normal expenses but we are the only restaurant to have invested so heavily in a variety of entertainment to try to exude a few of the flavours of Africa and its culture. The one group, AmaZulu, is home-grown and trained by us and their lives have been greatly uplifted and enriched. Indeed they have even been on a successful overseas tour.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,493 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

They gave us a poor table. We asked to be moved up because there were lots of better tables. They said they were not available but they were never taken and so we could hardly see the show. The food was interesting, mostly wild meat. The salads were good but all the meat was very tough and very over cooked. They open at 7 pm and you need to be there at 7 to avoid lines, and take part in various per dinner activities. Hopefully you may get better food? Insist that they put fresh meat on the grill and wait for it!

Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hello Vancouver
Thank you for your review of The Boma. It seems your evening got off to a bad start with a poor table...our Boma manager is such a friendly and accommodating person that there must have been some miscommunication or good reason. Suffice to say that we sincerely apologise that your requirements were not taken care of in our usual manner.

I think you answered your own criticism of tough, over-cooked meat – our guests are encouraged to select their own fresh meat from the trays and have it prepared right in front of them to their precise requirements.

The Boma will always be a conundrum for us. Some think it too touristy and too loud, or don’t like the exotic meats. Happily for us the majority really love the experience and that’s why The Boma is #1 of 13 restaurants on Trip Advisor. Indeed an example is the review of a Londonder posted the day before yours. Nevertheless we appreciate your frank opinion and hope that there were many other aspects of Victoria Falls that you really enjoyed.

With warm greetings
Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After reading the reviews for the Boma I made sure to get a seat at the #1 rated restaurant at the falls. With my mother being born in Zimbabwe I’m no stranger to the African style of proceedings however Boma still managed to blow my breath away.

Simply put, Boma is a must see for anyone wanting to be exposed to the full African way of life.
Boasting the most exotic menu I have ever seen, up for grabs are various game meats including Impala, Eland, Kudu, as well as Crocodile, Guinea Foul, and the most delicious, Warthog.

After eating, the music and dancing gets in full swing with a very interactive drumming session, each diner receiving their own drum!

Diner participation along with the enthusiastic Boma entertainment staff make for a meal like no other you’ve had before.

If you're looking for a quiet, civilised meal this won't be for you however if you’re adventurous, and willing to embrace African culture to its fullest, Boma is the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B9X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hello London

Thank you for your very enthusiastic review of The Boma which I have shared with all the staff there. So many people rate The Boma as a “must do” at Victoria Falls and, like you, they appreciate the atmosphere and the food best of all. Thank you so much for your 5 star rating.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was listed as one of the highlights of our trip but I think we would rather have dined at the restaurant at our hotel.
The food was average at best, as another traveller commented to me the next day, it was like lining up at boarding school.
The drums certainly saved the night for us also but if you only have limited time in Victoria Falls I am sure there are nicer places to eat.
We certainly wouldn't bother again, sorry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QueenslandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Good day to you in sunny Queensland

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Boma. We are, of course, desolate that the mood of the whole place did not capture your spirit or imagination, though there is a measure of comfort from your 4 Star rating for ambiance.

We do fully understand your viewpoint because we do get periodic reviews that rate The Boma as too touristy and not to their liking. However, of the 154 reviews so far 117 of them rate The Boma excellent or very good, so we are managing to please the majority.

This is why almost every visitor to Victoria Falls puts The Boma on their “must do” list. Of course you have to be in a festive mood, for that’s all we set out to do – to provide the flavours of Africa in food you can choose for yourself as part of the adventure and fun and then a snapshot of traditional culture – the drums, the singing, dancing, face painting, etc.

All the entertainers at The Boma have been literally brought out of villages and trained up to hopefully delight our guests. This is all part of our strong Corporate Social Responsibility policy that has reaped handsome dividends – the local people have jobs they really love to feed their families. And some of their success is astonishing. The drumming troupe AmaZulu has been on a very successful overseas tour, for instance.

You say that “there are nicer places to eat” and if your are after an excellent meal in idyllic and quiet surroundings then your praise of The Palm Restaurant at Ilala is fully deserved – it is superb. But if you want an evening of rousing festive fun then The Boma as a theme restaurant that entertains is unchallenged in Victoria Falls.

It’s a pity you did not know about our Makuwa-Kuwa award-winning a la carte restaurant just 300 metres away from The Boma as this has a great view overlooking a pristine wilderness and a prolific waterhole. This would have suited your mood so much better. Next time........please consider that option.

With warm regards....and hopes the Aussies will lift the World Cup T20 cricket

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is not just another ethnic restaurant but a rather unique cultural experience. We partook in the BOMA dinner on our first night in Victoria Falls as part of a 3 day Gate2 tour. On arrival we were wrapped in colorful African materials. The meal included a variety of game meats and traditional Zimbabwean dishes and is accompanied by entertainment throughout the meal from traditional dancers-some group members joined the dancing, the Sangoma (story teller) and a local witchdoctor who is available for fortune telling-most of us gave this a try and were told that we love to travel hahaha, how telling, based on the rest of his fortune telling he was slightly believable thou. We also got our faces painted-I got a cute Giraffe. Everyone was given a drum that was fun also. We took part in a hand washing ceremony before sampling traditional beer and snacks, as a prelude to dinner. The food was fairly good, most people loved the warthog. I tried the crocodile and two brave group members had the mopane worms. I loved the soup-I think it was a type of squash soup. The Impala was tasty as well as the Zambezi bream-a fish. I didn’t quite like the peanut butter rice. Why would one want to mix peanut butter with rice? We thought overall is was a lovely experience and a nice way to end our first night in Zimbabwe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hello Kim in Boston
You would know all about good food and themes as Boston is one of my favourite cities, especially for the seafood. Thank you for your rating of The Boma as a "lovely experience" as this showed you entered into the spirit of the evening, designed to be fun. Some say it is too touristy, but we do try to provide rousing entertainment that actually reflects genuine traditional culture - the drums, the dancing, singing, the food.

Well done to some of your group for trying the mopani worms...their certificates are "touristy" of course, but what a great talking point they provide and they are genuine delights of the local culture. Everyone seems to love the warthog and many try the crocodile...but the mopani worms are only for the brave and adventurous!

Thank you for your generous comments and for recommending us. It means a lot to us.

Warm regards from Africa
Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing