We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boma”

The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Described as an unforgettable African experience infused with Zimbabwean cuisine, spirited performances and traditional storytelling, The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show has firmly established itself as a Victoria Falls highlight.Partially open to the skies, The Boma specialises in a superb selection of Zimbabwean dishes. A four-course meal combines a choice of starters with a barbecue buffet. The adventurous are enticed with local delicacies such as mopani worms and potjiekos (hunter's game stew), whilst those wishing to enjoy beef, pork, fish and chicken or a variety of vegetarian meals are welcome to do so.The sights and sounds of the evening are accentuated by a feast of nightly entertainment, incorporating traditional dancers, who captivate guests with their vibrant songs and dance. The acclaimed Zambezi Drumbeat provides a wonderful interactive drumming experience.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were able to try a wide variety of local game meats roasted over an open flame - all good. I recommend the warthog ... and guinea fowl is tough. Expensive if not part of your package. Drinks not included. Enjoyed the drumming and dancing - did not like the hawking of extras such as face painting, specialty drinks, fortune telling. Those items made it feel somewhat like a tourist trap, but we just declined and they moved on.

Thank 396SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Susan
Delighted you stayed on-property a stone’s throw from your exclusive Club accommodation and that the entertainment was to your liking. Most restaurants in town are pretty formal and traditional and so we have deliberately tried to create a rousing and fun-filled evening that showcases local traditions, cultures and music. Those extra elements are not meant to intrude; rather to heighten the interaction between locals and guests and whip up a spirit of harmony and goodwill in a festive atmosphere.

Regards from a hot and sunny Victoria Falls

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,539 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. This restaurant was on the premises of the lodge, so very accessible. The Boma offered an outdoor dining experience with traditional garb, drumming and a buffet. The food was o.k., but not fantastic. It is reasonably priced, but I would have expected some form of non-alcoholic beverage to be included in the prepaid dining voucher price. There is an additional charge for all beverages. I enjoyed it, but some might find this place too touristy.

Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hello Kim

Thank you for taking the time to review your dinner at The Boma – Place of Eating. Yes, the “touristy” label is something we get from time to time and, of course, the correct balance is very difficult to achieve. However, I hope you will accept and appreciate our sincerity in trying to create a fun-filled evening that weaves in a variety of local experiences from the food, the drumming, the singing and dancing. Our objective is to offer a rousing and exciting night that leaves people in a happy and contented mood, even if they are not in an actual African village. Did you try the mopane worms, a local delicacy? Very touristy to get a certificate of notable achievement, of course, but we’re sure that this certificate is used as a talking point all round the world for years thereafter!

With warm regards

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice place to have a buffet but $40 per person is a bit expensive . The atmosphere is welcoming and staff are friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Sydney
I note from your kind review that you are a resident of Victoria Falls. Why don't you pop in for a chat sometime about The Boma and other facilities we have now...and have in store for the future! The Boma is a rousing African cultural experience really designed for our international guests so they may enjoy the festive atmosphere and let their hair down while imbued with traditional song, dance, music and food. We truly believe that the price is very fair, given that we have to invest in the various forms of nightly entertainment that add to the real costs of a party night where guests may eat as much as they like!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A fabulous evening out with fantastic service, great food & awesome entertainment! Just do not snooze......get up & get your food ASAP as it is demolished very fast by the large tour groups!!

1  Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Public Relations Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on the Boma and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us! Please do come back again!

Kind regards,

The Boma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were not very impressed by the food or service at The Boma. The restaurant has various food stations you move through to choose your selections. The lines are long and you spend most of the evening maneuvering this. My husband and I went, we're in different lines and consequently did not get to eat together. One of us was eating while another one was in line. It feels their approach here is about packing as many people in as possible rather than delivering a good experience. Would not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulieBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Public Relations Manager at The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with us and we sincerely apologise for this. We do try to keep the queuing times to a minimum at The Boma by having 2 stations for the main braai area, as well as pre-cooking some meats to save time for our guests. We hope that at the very least you enjoyed the food, and the show that goes along with it.

Thank you again for giving your feedback, this has been shared with the Boma team and your comments have been taken on board.

Kind regards,

The Boma Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Boma - Dinner & Drum Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing