We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant view of the bridge and gorge”
Review of The Lookout Cafe

The Lookout Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
Description: The Lookout Cafe is perched 120m above the turbulent rapids of the Zambezi River, overhanging a giant chasm of the Batoka Gorge, just downriver of the iconic Victoria Falls Bridge, which forms part of it's spectacular backdrop. The semi open-air cafe, apart from offering undoutbedly the best view in Victoria Falls, offers a menu of fresh, moden, colourful cuisine as well as a range of refreshing beverages and cocktails. Free shuttle service to / from Victoria Falls Town.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lookout Cafe is perched 120m above the turbulent rapids of the Zambezi River, overhanging a giant chasm of the Batoka Gorge, just downriver of the iconic Victoria Falls Bridge, which forms part of it's spectacular backdrop. The semi open-air cafe, apart from offering undoutbedly the best view in Victoria Falls, offers a menu of fresh, moden, colourful cuisine as well as a range of refreshing beverages and cocktails. Free shuttle service to / from Victoria Falls Town.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a must visit place to have the brilliant view of the bridge and gorge over good choice of drinks and food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cafe so much.

Kind regards
The Lookout cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place to have a few drinks and some freshly prepared food. I absolutely loved this place. The food was great and the views!
We made a lunch reservation beforehand and they had our table all ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Service was great!

Thank sarahtheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sarah

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the menu and the spectacular setting so much. Thank you for recommending us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First the good - we didnt have a booking, but they managed to squeeze us in for an early lunch. Service was friendly. The view was of course spectacular, best view of all the places to eat in town.
Now the bad - we didn’t get to enjoy any of it because as soon as our drinks arrived, so did the bees. The staff were absolutely indifferent, explaining it away as being due to “bee season”. Nope, with bees buzzing throughout the venue, a problem I have never known anywhere else in VF to have, the problem is due to more than “bee season”. With me being allergic to bees, and the effects of a sting unknown to my six month baby, we decided to leave. Nobody seemed to care, and we still paid for the food and drinks - surely not charging us for the hardly touched drinks would have been a reasonable thing to do. I guess they’re too popular to care.

Thank missmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Miss Mullen

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the unpleasant experience you had with bees at the Lookout Cafe. Your comments have been passed on to the manager who will speak to our staff regarding their nonchalant attitude towards the bees. We are pleased that you found the staff to be friendly otherwise and that you enjoyed the lovely views.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered simple toasted sandwiches and chips - the worst meal of our entire holiday. The sandwich had an extra piece of bread in the middle which was all soggy from the tomato (we pulled it out) and the chips were dry. Staff were very friendly though and the view is great

Thank viviendunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Lookout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vivien

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing meal at the Lookout Cafe. Your comments about the food have been passed on to the chef and we shall make sure that this does not happen again.

With kind regards
The Lookout Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked here after viewing the Falls and were able to dry off on the way. The situation of the cafe is great overlooking the bridge and gorge.The food too was very good and reasonably priced and the staff very friendly. We didn't want to leave.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jillamy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Cafe also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Lookout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;