We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wild Horizons”

Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wild Horizons Elephant Encounter - Walk With Giants affords guests the opportunity to unobtrusively interact with some of the biggest personalities in Africa, in a pristine wilderness environment overflowing with raw natural beauty. Guests spend time and connect with elephants in the most positive and natural way possible.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an emotional experience it is to visit this well run, professional interactive wildlife
Park.
The rangers are obviously passionate about their elephants, which look hugely happy and healthy! It was interesting to hear about each elephant’s unique personality from their caring handler. To be able to get that close to theses majestic, magnificent creatures in such a beautiful setting was truly a privilege.
The tour director gave a warm and friendly chat before the animals were guided to the viewing deck, where our group assembled to have personal “patting time” with the elephants. Feeding them was a privilege, and our delicious morning tea afterwards was a pleasant surprise.
If you want close up photos of elephants, then beautiful blinking eyelashes are just a nod away at Wild Horizons! Visitor safety is paramount: well done Wild Horizons!
A must do experience. Breathtaking indeed.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Susan

Thank you for your lovely and heartfelt review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful encounter with our very special elephant herd. We are passionate about conservation, and elephant conservation in particular. As you so correctly noted, our herd is very loved and well cared for and this can be seen in the elephants themselves. Your visit to our sanctuary will provide funds for us to continue with our work in elephant conservation. It is so lovely to read how much people have enjoyed and related to this experience. Thank you for your high recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"elephant ride"
in 60 reviews
"wild horizons"
in 75 reviews
"ridden elephants"
in 5 reviews
"elephant experience"
in 12 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 5 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful ride"
in 5 reviews
"the reserve"
in 13 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful animals"
in 6 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 15 reviews
"take photos"
in 6 reviews
"sylvester"
in 38 reviews
"trunk"
in 30 reviews
"safari"
in 98 reviews
"treats"
in 34 reviews
"janet"
in 16 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 478 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2018

We were advised to go on this tour as opposed to walking with lions for ethical reasons, and this did not disappoint. The rangers were clearly concerned for the animals, their love for their charges very evident. The elephants were very well taken care of, and while we understand that riding them is no longer done, it was a little disappointing. We enjoyed the feeding as much as the elephants! And getting up close to touch them was a real treat.

Thank S1m0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Simone

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for sharing your wonderful experience with future guests. As you certainly noticed, the elephants and elephant conservation are very close to our hearts and this is reflected in the way we run our elephant safari and interaction. At all times the elephants needs are paramount and as you noticed, the staff are very caring of their charges.

With warm regards
The Management and Staff
Wild Horizons Elephant Back Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Up close and personal in a very safe and secure setting, these animals are well treated and being looked after with care and thoughtfulness.

Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Stephen

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this amazing and unique experience so much. Wild Horizons are passionate about wildlife conservation and your support significantly assists in this regard. As you saw, the elephants are deeply cared for and it is lovely for our guests to see them in such a personal setting.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

One of the top three excursions we had the pleasure of enjoying our recent two week vacay to SA and Zimbabwe. This operation if first class all the way. Our small group of 8 were treated to walking out to meet the gentle giants in their habitat and then following them along their trails to a clearing where were learned how to feed them "trunk up" or "trunk down". A daunting task at first ... but within minutes the 8 of us where rushing to pick-up more ellie yum'yums to feed the crew. A unique experience capped off with a home-made breakfast served on the deck. Spectacular - a don't miss event !

Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the wonderful Elephant Experience. It certainly is one of the top activities to do while in Victoria Falls and goes a long way to supporting Wild Horizons' conservation efforts in the area. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This Elephant Experience was wonderful. The staff was so kind and knowledgeable. The elephants were charming and seemed truly happy. I loved feeding them. And the video and photos taken by the staff was a great souvenir. I would recommend this to anyone of any age. They are doing something very special here.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sftraveler677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. We loved reading about your very special experience are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us so much. It sounds as though you had such a wonderful and memorable time. Our staff will be so happy to read your review. We are glad that we had the opportunity to share our passion with you. Thank you recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Wild Horizons Elephant Encounter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing