We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Life Changing Experience - an absolute MUST when visiting Vic Falls

we visited in December. The experience is truly mind changing. It was so exceptionally well done... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Veronica O
,
Arusha, Tanzania
Join the Parade

This is an elephant rescue organization, and while we were able to get close and interact with the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Laura A
Read all 491 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Victoria Falls
from $195.00
More Info
from $170.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $1,380.00
More Info
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
417
54
10
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
54
10
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horizons ridden elephants elephant encounter gentle giants wonderful breakfast welcome drink the reserve an amazing experience conservation efforts once in a lifetime visit victoria falls sylvester handlers trunk ride treats safari
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 491 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2018

We were advised to go on this tour as opposed to walking with lions for ethical reasons, and this did not disappoint. The rangers were clearly concerned for the animals, their love for their charges very evident. The elephants were very well taken care of, and while we understand that riding them is no longer done, it was a little disappointing. We enjoyed the feeding as much as the elephants! And getting up close to touch them was a real treat.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank S1m0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Simone

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for sharing your wonderful experience with future guests. As you certainly noticed, the elephants and elephant conservation are very close to our hearts and this is reflected in the way we run our elephant safari and interaction. At all times the elephants needs are paramount and as you noticed, the staff are very caring of their charges.

With warm regards
The Management and Staff
Wild Horizons Elephant Back Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Up close and personal in a very safe and secure setting, these animals are well treated and being looked after with care and thoughtfulness.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank stephentI8490DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Stephen

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this amazing and unique experience so much. Wild Horizons are passionate about wildlife conservation and your support significantly assists in this regard. As you saw, the elephants are deeply cared for and it is lovely for our guests to see them in such a personal setting.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

One of the top three excursions we had the pleasure of enjoying our recent two week vacay to SA and Zimbabwe. This operation if first class all the way. Our small group of 8 were treated to walking out to meet the gentle giants in their habitat and then following them along their trails to a clearing where were learned how to feed them "trunk up" or "trunk down". A daunting task at first ... but within minutes the 8 of us where rushing to pick-up more ellie yum'yums to feed the crew. A unique experience capped off with a home-made breakfast served on the deck. Spectacular - a don't miss event !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the wonderful Elephant Experience. It certainly is one of the top activities to do while in Victoria Falls and goes a long way to supporting Wild Horizons' conservation efforts in the area. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This Elephant Experience was wonderful. The staff was so kind and knowledgeable. The elephants were charming and seemed truly happy. I loved feeding them. And the video and photos taken by the staff was a great souvenir. I would recommend this to anyone of any age. They are doing something very special here.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sftraveler677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. We loved reading about your very special experience are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us so much. It sounds as though you had such a wonderful and memorable time. Our staff will be so happy to read your review. We are glad that we had the opportunity to share our passion with you. Thank you recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Wild Horizons Elephant Encounter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

It was an excellent trip. I would recommend it to anyone who loves elephants. The staff really care about the looking after for their well-being.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank susanletheren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Susan

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your Elephant Encounter. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience so much and that you found it to be so informative. Wild Horizons work very hard to promote conservation in the area and we are grateful to you for assisting us in being able to continue with this work in wildlife preservation.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews